We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nickel and dime.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This is my 32nd year going to this resort. Amenities are good but it really bugs me that I have to pay for wifi. 10 dollars a day is rediculous. They promised that after they paid off the original investment, it would be free. That was years ago. This is my last year going to vdp. Nickel and dime you should be their logo!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

Colorful rooms and nice pool and hot tubs. Not much of a view from our room but we were hardly ever in it. Beach pretty small and crowded but spent most of the time by the pool. Had the all-inclusive package. Restaurants were good and really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Location right downtown, not too far from the malecon but not walkable.

Room Tip: If you don’t do the all-inclusive there is a small but functional kitchen (no oven) where you could...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVEPPV, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Theresa,

Thank you for providing us the opportunity of hosting you at Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our team has done a great job taking care of every detail during your stay. Your comments inspire us to keep making our guests´ satisfaction possible.

It will be an honor for Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta to have you back and offer you our sincere hospitality on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Benhur Berdejo
General Manager
Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Well, our check-in was the worst part of this stay. After being up since 3 a.m. to catch our flight and be on time, we had a horrible experience at the airport. We were looking for our taxi/shuttle to bring us to Villa del Palmar. We were given THREE sales pitches to attend a presentation. At this point, we were very frustrated.

Finally got to the resort, check-in was fine, except that they had a representative standing directly behind us the entire time who was going to give us an orientation. She did fine and her information was helpful (map of the facility, amenities, etc.), but then she brought out yet another presentation pitch to attend their "free breakfast." Mind you, we were still in our winter clothes from Chicago, had not eaten anything since breakfast at 6 a.m., and just wanted to get to our room!! It was now 4 p.m.

After this ordeal, the rest of the stay was AWESOME!! After giving our NO, we were not interested in timeshare, we enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are comfy and relaxing. Enjoyed the kitchen, stove, dishes, microwave, coffee pot, and blender. The events were very entertaining. We attended the Pirate-themed NYE party. There was a fiesta night and a Broadway show. The grocery store was very handy for snacks and other odds-and-ends. Had some gelato at the store too. The resort is very clean and beautiful. The two-for-one always came as a surprise. I ordered one mimosa, and received two!! We spent lots of time at the Sports Bar. I would definitely stay here again. Puerto Vallarta has changed lots since we were there years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVEPPV, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for providing us the opportunity of hosting you at Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our team has done a great job taking care of every detail during your stay. Your comments inspire us to keep making our guests´ satisfaction possible.

It will be an honor for Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta to have you back and offer you our sincere hospitality on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Benhur Berdejo
General Manager
Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The staff from the front desk under Claudia Gonzales & Iris they are excellent when we check-in. We come here its our home away from home. The treat us like family. Also the activity staff Monserrat Duenas and Angie our excellent too. We love all the servers at the restaurant where we have breakfast in the morning Edgrado, Juan , Carlos, and Ricardco. Many more excellent.!! The manager is always so welcoming us and treating us like family too. The Gadleys Steve& Connie The Captain!

Room Tip: Rooms are taking care of very well. Poolside, oceanview and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerVEPPV, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Steven,

Thank you for your amazing words, for your time and dedication to write your experience, we strive to exceed your expectations and making sure that you feel better than home.

We will pass on your words of praise to those that were involved in helping to insure that all were happy with this vacation and let them know that their efforts are very appreciated.

We look forward to being of service to you and yours in the future when you come home once again.


Kind regards,

Benhur Berdejo
General Manager
Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We really don't like to pay for wi fi at all, let alone 10$ a day PER DEVICE. Rip off. Most retaurants and now Walmarts in Mexico provide for free.
Handy location, although thought the food was mediocre and very expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank casaecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 km away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa...
#67 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
145 reviews
0.9 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,167 reviews
6 km away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#32 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,570 reviews
4.5 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,964 reviews
3.1 km away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48335, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $116 - $984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the soft sands of Banderas Bay is Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta, an enchanting family resort that combines charming Mexican tradition with upscale sophistication and modernity. The magical resort, situated close to the center of downtown Puerto Vallarta, offers a unique vacation experience that will have you falling in love with the stunning beachfront destination. Boasting two freeform pools, three delicious culinary options and a state-of-the-art spa, Villa del Palmar is everything you need for a fun-filled vacation and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing