We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$137
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$537
US$287
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Costa Sur Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Pescador(Puerto Vallarta)
US$107
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Palmas by the Sea(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$111
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
US$407
US$353
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,576)
Filter reviews
3,576 results
Traveller rating
2,655
684
161
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,655
684
161
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager javierone bedroom suitemirador restaurantadult poolpersonal butlerbutler serviceitalian restaurantmain restaurantswim up barkids cluball inclusive packagethe hotel managerrooms face the oceanlarge balconyfull kitchenthe general managerocean view
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 3,576 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We had a wonderful time at Sunset this winter. The resort has truly exceptional service, the best we have ever had in Mexico (and we go every year to a different resort). It starts from the manager, Javier, but extends all the way to each member of his staff. The size of the resort was perfect, as we had kids aged 3 to 16 in our group. The vicinity from the pool to the restaurant was perfect as the kids could play in the pool while we sat and finished our lunch. The food was great as well, though we did miss the fact that there was no buffet except on special nights. This is only due to the fact that we had 8 kids under 10 with us (group of 20) . All of the rooms face the ocean, which is beautiful. The patios are great as well. And the resort is steps to PV. Close to everything. All in all, this resort was awesome. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank k423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you k423 for the wonderful time you spent with us.
Everything we do at Sunset Plaza, is because we would like to see you worries free, doing your best to please you and see you happy

We hope to see you again, and thank you for have the time to write this review.

See you soon again.

Sinverely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This was our second time at Sunset Plaza, we stayed for 15 days. Had amazing service the entire time. Great location to the down town. Johni, Juan & Javier were always around if we needed anything. Small resort, it's perfect. Food was always good, the new pizza restaurant had lots of choices. The size of the suites was great, like an apartment, large balcony with tables, chairs, loungers. Check it out!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Glenn
Thank you for your second time with us, that means a lot.
We hope to see you again, we are very sure that you and our new guests will find new things going on here for good.
Let's keep in touch.

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

It was our first trip to Mexico and this resort did an amazing job at making our stay a pleasant experience for us! Everyone at the resort were very friendly! We plan to visit this resort with our family for our next getaway soon! Beautiful resort and beautiful city!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wildlocochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear wildlocochica
So happy that your first time in Mexico was unforgettable and more because you gave us the opportunity to host you for the first time on our beautiful resort.
Rest assured that on your secon visit will be another wonderfull surprise.

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This was our 3rd stay at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa and it will NOT be our last. The service is excellent here. the rooms are clean modern and spacy (all have oceans view). The food is very good and fresh. This resort is smaller than others and that's what is so appealing about it. You get personalized service and actually get to know the staff. I love it and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Dan
For us, to have you here is a celebration.
So happy that you made of Sunset Plaza your second home.
As every time you are here, we like to surprise you with new things around here.
Until the next time

Truly yours

Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Great food and service, great value for the money. Room service was also included at no cost, and the rooms were immaculate cleaned. Location was also great and close to great shopping malls and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank W955ABnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear W955ABnicholas
The value to have great guests like you makes the difference in this your hotel.
Thank you for the time you spent with us.

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews