We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Las Palmas by the Sea(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vallartasol Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Suites(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,561)
Filter reviews
3,561 results
Traveller rating
2,642
683
160
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,642
683
160
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager javierone bedroom suitemirador restaurantpersonal butleradult poolbutler serviceitalian restaurantmain restaurantswim up barall inclusive packagekids clubthe hotel managerrooms face the oceanlarge balconyfull kitchenthe general managerocean view
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 3,561 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We just returned from our trip to Sunset Plaza. We have come every year to this hotel since it opened with the exception of a couple years. We do not have a timeshare as we like the idea of being able to go anywhere. However, each year we get drawn back to SS Plaza. The price is hard to beat. The staff are terrific. They are helpful and very friendly and care how your stay is going. They have now included a oven-fired pizza place that serves pizza and calzones. My son loved it, as well as the rest of us. The little deli is being moved so is temporarily closed. it's new locarion will be much better. We also ordered from the servers pool-side (special thanks to Jesus who always made sure our drinks were full!) so many options besides the two main restaurants.

My son had his first spa experience with a massage and facial. I think he is hooked, ha!

I am worried about the two towers they are going to be adding. I believe they start construction in a few months. One reason we lime this place so much is it is smaller, but has all the things we need. Adding more people to the mix will take this small-scale away. However, we will see!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LorRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you LorRand
To read your review make us feel proud of our job and Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa we work for.
I've shared this review with all the staff,and we are going to be very happy to see you again.
There is no reason to be worried about the construction our soul and spirit will prevail.
You will see.......
:)

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Great spot, small and easy to navigate, very friendly and attentive staff, very good food, no real beach to speak of. GM Javier was excellent, Suite was lovely, lots of activities for kids, close to airport (though upon leaving I wish we would have chosen a cab instead of shuttle) Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RobFOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear RobFOttawa

Thank you for the March break you had with us and for writing this review.
Thank you for recomend us, our commitment its you.

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This was our third trip to Sunset Plaza in the past 3 years, and needless to say we were not disappointed.

Prior to our arrival, Javiar (General Manager) helped in planning a special meal for my wife's 50th BD, and also facilitated in the purchase of a beautiful floral arrangement for this special occasion. My wife and I were very pleased with this special meal and the view was "to die for."

All Sunset Plaza staff members we had contact with were very friendly, professional, helpful and seemed genuinely nice. My wife and I had massages, and as expected...we were very pleased. And lastly...the food served was excellent in presentation and quality.

There is no doubt we will be returning to Sunset Plaza in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linsyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear linsky
Thank you for sharing this review to our readers about the wonderful experience you had with us-
Our goal is go beyond expectations to create magic moments.
Thank you for helping us for that

Sincerely

Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We go back again and again because you can't beat the service, made-to-order food, clean campus, and top-shelf liquor. The personalized service is like nothing we have ever experienced - - and both my husband and I travel every week for work.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Heidi
All of us at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, miss you, thank you for allowing us being par of you life.
You know that this is your second home and have a big family waiting for you to come back.

From all of us

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We were highly pleased by our fourth stay at Sunset Plaza. Personnel are congenial and efficient, the accommodations are up-to-date and all face the water, and the quality ot the food was high. Management continues to add and rearrange facilities to improve the experience,

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Anthony K
Good to know you had a great vacation with us, and we are very happy for it.
For you and all our guests only the best. You deserve it.

Sincerely

Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews