We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,519)
Filter reviews
3,519 results
Traveller rating
2,277
818
262
94
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,277
818
262
94
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubcarnival buffethealing handsentertainment teamswim up barkids clubcoco cafeexplorers clubbarefoot grillfrench restaurantdress codepreferred buildingocean viewturn down serviceunlimited vacation clubkids poolbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 3,519 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

After a short 20 minutes transfer from the airport we arrived to a refreshing cold towel, glass of fizz and breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean.
Check in was smooth and someone was on hand to show us to our room.
We had a limited sea view room on the second floor which was well above my expectation. It was sort of open plan style (you could close of the bathroom) with 2 beds, jacuzzi bath, shower, double sinks, furnished balcony and a restocked mini bar daily.
The in room safe was free and there was plenty of storage space.
The hotel had 4 speciality restaurants (Asian, Italian, Mexican & Seafood/Steak) which could be used as many times as you liked and a buffet restaurant. There is also a French restaurant at the next door Secrets hotel which required a reservation made with concierge.
By far my favourite was the Asian and Italian both offered a great menu choice with at least four courses (more if you wanted), service was great in all restaurants and a choice of wine, not just a standard house wine!! There is a dress code for dinner so be sure to pack accordingly.
The hotel grounds were immaculate, clean, plenty of beds and an efficient waiter service around the pool (Especially Jorge) rarely had an empty glass.
The beach is right in front of the hotel and again has plenty of loungers on it.
Half way through our stay we had a call from Jose in reception advising that due to a maintenance problem with our room would we mind moving? We were offered a full sea view room on the 15th (top) floor and due to the inconvenience he wanted to compensate us and offered us two Swedish massages in the spa at the adjacent Secrets hotel. A no brainer for us and we happily moved, a bellboy was sent down to collect our luggage and as promised handed us a voucher for the spa (Thanks Jose)
The spa itself was beautiful, steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy pools, jacuzzi etc. The massage itself was exceptional, relaxing, chilled, everything you would want it to be. Highly recommended.
I can't think of anything not to like about this hotel, the staff, cleanliness,restaurants and food & rooms everything was spot on for me.
Lastly almost forgot one of my favourite places Coco cafe or the coffee shop open 24/7 if I remember. Serving all sorts of coffee, tea, choice of cakes and sandwiches. Delicious!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jonnie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Rooms was quit nice. The bathtub Could not fill proberly, bed was so so, but decor was nice, good tv selection, good internet connection. Great view from the room, but a bit noicy during the night, from drunks.
The buffet restaurant was not the Best, the food was mediocre, and the decor was not very cozy. The alacarte restaurants was all very nice, i prefered the french, my wife and niece prefered the italian.
Pool and beach was also nice, but the overall feeling was not that of a personalised and welcoming hotel. And it Would be Great if the welcome to the hotel, was not a ploy to squize extra dollars out of an already all inklusive holiday, with offerings like room upgrade, spa treatment discounts etc. All At an additional cost. And the drinks was not up to par, with every second cocktail not blended enough.
It was a solid 4star experience, but Would I stay there again?probably not.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

A great vacation at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

We just got back from a weeks stay at the Now Amber Hotel. The hotel is extremely well kept, beautiful, clean and the staff are very professional and attentive.

We stayed at the hotel a majority of our stay in Puerto Vallarta, as the kids really enjoyed the pools and beach. After a couple days of getting comfortable, it felt like home.

There are lots of food options at the hotel including the Carnival buffet, An Italian, Asian-inspired, Mexican, and a Steakhouse. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant. (Beef carpacio was the best part). All in all, the food was good, but nothing mind blowing. We usually didnt have any trouble getting seats.

There was lots of activities at the resort that we used more so near the end of the week. Activites included: rifle shooting, volleyball, aerobics, yoga, kayaking, paddleboarding. There is a good kids club for the kids to particpate in many different types of activities daily. We got to participate in a baby turtle release during our stay as well. Great experience. The nightly shows were fun. My favorite was the Beatles show. Their “Entertainment team” does a good job creating fun.

As i mentioned earlier, the staff was great. The bartenders and servers were quick and remembered our names. The ladies at the coffee shop were very kind. The front desk staff helped me break down big bills in pesos down to smaller amounts for tipping. The cleaning crew did a nice job with our rooms daily.

Fernando the drink server at the pool was amazing. Edgar at the lobby bar was a cool guy to chat with. Dolce at the front desk was accomodating.

I definitely recommend this to families. If you want adults only, the partner hotel next door called Secrets is a good option too. You can go to any of the restaurants and shows between the two hotels.

All in all, we had a great time at the Now Amber.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RanchuBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Four females and a week in Mexico--Fantastic. The staff were exceptional. Jose and Alan were our waiters in the restaurants and we were constantly made to feel special and welcomed. Claudia was part of the Entertainment staff and truly became like one of my daughters. Fun, energetic and approachable.

Room Tip: request a room facing the beach, amazing morning and evening sunrise and sunsets
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We are on day 3 of our 7 night stay and we’ve had quite a few issues.

- our phone doesn’t work. We’ve asked them to look at it 4 times and no one has come up

- they want to clean our room at odd times. The last time we saw someone she said she would come back while we were at dinner and never showed.

- we ordered room service for lunch that never showed up

- they refuse to give us another room key. This makes it very difficult with a small child! We ask different people at the front desk and everyone says that they have run out.

It’s a gorgeous hotel, awesome property, friendly staff and great food... but the above definitely puts a damper on the trip!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews