We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Blas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aticama Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 San Blas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The lodging is relatively nice and well located. The property manager was very responsive and attentive. The price was definitely reasonable. All in all it would have been a decent choice if wasn't for the parrots.

I do not know what most people idea of a vacation start of the day is, but mine is not to be awaken by the incessant and loud squawking from the parrots enclosure located right next to the rooms at 5:40 am. Really? A parrot enclosure next to the rooms?!? Mind you this was not the gentle chirping of birds in the morning. This was a loud and grating noise.that could have awaken the dead.

Needlessly to say we will never go back

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the parrots.enclosure. Like 5 to 6 miles away :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a lovely, secure place to stay with Ken and Sheila. They always asked for our preferences for breakfast. Since we're from Seattle area we are "coffee snobs" and recognize that; however we did need to ask Sheila to make the coffee stronger. She was a good sport. The coffee was great, it came from a nearby plantation. The band is CaPulin, buy some if you can. We bought some from Ken and Sheila but you can also get it in Aticama.
It was so nice to come out in the am to the patio to have our coffee and beakfast, very warm and relaxing. We could keep the window open at all times and hear the waves. The beach is just amazing. You can walk for miles and miles.
Ken gave us good suggestions for food in Aticama. We walked in on the beach but felt like we didn't want to walk back after dark. We had hoped to get a taxi, but none came by. The young man at Marios Pizza, Axel gave us chairs to relax and we tried everyone's cell phones but could get no reception. Ken had said he would pick us up, just to call. We learned the lesson that before you get dropped off, set a time to get picked up. Anyway Axel went to get his uncle who had a taxi business to Tecal and he took us back to the B&B. WHEW!!! Be sure to have pizza at Axel's place, right across from the plaza. Ken knew we were interested in birding so he took us up to a hill town called La Bajada where we continued to hike up the hills. We saw some birds and coffee plants growing in a shade environment. He waited for us.

We had a fridge and microwave. It would have been great to have a small coffee pot. We loved the patio furniture and hammocks. The plants in the garden are beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeabeckHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Aticama B&B in Nov. 2011. Ken and Sheila were outstanding hosts and Ken went way above and beyond, running us into San Blas (twice!) and offering to drive us into the mountains to a favorite destination. This is not Puerto Vallarta; that's the whole point. I loved the pozole at Lucy's, a soda typical of the humble restaurants in Aticama; it had great, simple fare and very friendly locals (BYOB). Bring a flashlight for the 20 minute trip in the dark. The room IS basic but very clean and I thought perfectly comfortable and our refrigerator kept our beer cold. The pictures on the website fairly represent the property. The beach is family-friendly and we enjoyed some modest body surfing. Ken even had a couple of body boards he let us use. The area is a birder's paradise and we enjoyed the La Tovara boat trip (get the first tour in the morning).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esoteric_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

First the good stuff: Kind, friendly host is helpful. Property is right on secluded, beautiful Matanchen Beach. Breakfasts are varied & substantial. Parking is secure.

However... if you are staying here you should know you are a solid 8 miles from San Blas & will have to drive in every day or catch a bus. As for the room... let's just say it is clean. Not much more to say. It is very basic & small and you may have trouble showering or sleeping. Not sure if the other reviewers stayed at the same place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gitano_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

My husband and I recently spent three days at Aticama Bed and Breakfast near San Blas. We are recently retired and thoroughly enjoyed the laid back life style of this area. We traveled by bus from the airport in Puerto Vallarta--it dropped us off and picked us up again right in front of the property. We enjoyed walking the lovely beach for miles. The garden was beautiful and we spent a considerable amount of time just relaxing, reading, chatting, etc. in the hammocks and lounge chairs. The sound of the ocean waves lull you to sleep at night along with the refreshing breeze. The sheets and bath towels were luxurious. Huge beach towels were provided. Wonderful breakfasts were served outside on the patio. One morning we had to leave at 6:00 for a birding expedition and Ken very graciously fixed us breakfast at the unimaginable hour of 5:30 a.m. We told him he could just leave some fruit out but he insisted on nourishing us properly. We did go in to San Blas one evening however we much preferred to walk to the nearby traditional Mexican town of Aticama. There were several good places to eat--Ken & Sheila will help you out with recommendations. During the day local vendors sell ice cream, bakery goods, etc. on the beach right in the front of the inn. If you are looking for action and nightlife this is not the place for you but we felt we could have easily spent a week there. Ken and Sheila are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank G0nzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Blas hotels
10.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda Flamingos
Hotel Hacienda Flamingos
#1 of 10 in San Blas
71 reviews
10 km away
Hotel Posada del Rey
Hotel Posada del Rey
#5 of 10 in San Blas
35 reviews
10 km away
Marina San Blas
Marina San Blas
#6 of 10 in San Blas
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Fiesta Portola
Fiesta Portola
#6 of 9 in San Blas
15 reviews
9.9 km away
Bungalows Haramara
Bungalows Haramara
#4 of 9 in San Blas
4 reviews
10 km away
Hotelito Rustico
Hotelito Rustico
#3 of 9 in San Blas
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aticama Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aticama Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ricon de Matanchen # 37 | Aticama, San Blas 63740, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Blas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Blas
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aticama Bed & Breakfast is located on the beach of the Pacific Ocean. Each room over looks the beach & ocean and has large double showers, queen beds, a microwave & refrigerator, and wireless internet. We provide seclusion for sun bathing in this tropical paradise. We are also located on the bus lines to all of Mexico just outside our front gate. There is secure parking and the friendliest hosts you will ever find. Each morning you sit down to a hearty breakfast of your choosing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing