We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
209
200
56
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
200
56
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bag of ice ocean view happy hour love hotel infinity pool la ropa no elevator steep hill older hotel a million dollar view mexican hotel wi fi styrofoam cooler public areas breakfast included laropa beach few stairs
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I'd much rather stay at a true Mexican hotel than a huge resort, even though "Mexican charm" cuts both ways. Irma is in a great location, quiet and safe yet with easy walking access to the main part of Zihua, and while you do have to climb quite a few stairs to get back to the hotel from the beach, it's nice to have beach access right there. The hotel is attractive, clean and well kept, and the staff friendly and helpful. They have a decent hospitality room for early arrivals and late departures, The pools are very nice and the view from the infinity pool overlooking the bay is great. There was a hot tun on the upper deck but it was dirty and looked to be out of service, otherwise that may have been a nice spot especially in the evening. We booked an ocean view room with a patio, the view from the room was great and it was nice to be able to sit on the patio for an afternoon siesta or evening drinks, although it would have been nice to have two loungers rather than the one lounger, one chair, and one small table that each room had. The room was tiny but adequate. My wife really didn't like that there was a step up between the beds and the sink/bathroom area, she struggled with that during the night, a small night light would have been helpful. The air conditioning struggled during the heat of the afternoon and it was often warmer than we'd like it when turning in for the night. I'd have appreciated a small refrigerator in the room to keep a few bottles of water and some drinks in, and I was surprised that the hotel included only one small bottle of water per day with the room, not nearly enough for two people. Previous guests had left a foam cooler from Oxxo on the patio, so we moved it into the room and made a few treks to Oxxo for ice and water, as they were much less expensive than from the hotel. Our housekeeping service was excellent, except for one day when we were shorted towels and did not get a water, but I mentioned that to the front desk and it was quickly corrected. My two biggest complaints would be that the wireless internet did not work in the room, and hot water was not consistently available. I spoke to the front desk about it and they sent a maintenance guy who thought he needed to open a valve for us. He went and did so and that improved things, but at times we just didn't get any hot water. Considering the climate in Zihua that's not a real big deal, but I do prefer to shave after a hot shower so it was a bit of an irritant. Many guests complained about the wireless and nothing ever seemed to change, so we would all go hang out in the lobby to check email and messages from home a few times per day. The hotel made us sign an agreement at check in, one item of which was that we couldn't bring our own beverages to "public areas", with some pretty strong charges for violating that policy. The policy was vague as to if water was a beverage, and it didn't really matter much so I didn't bother to clarify that, but no one ever bothered us about having our water in the lobby while using the wifi. i considered our patio to not be a public area and so we saved some money by buying drinks at Oxxo and ModelORama for our evening relaxation. The restaurant/bar at the hotel were good but much more expensive than eating and drinking in town. In the end, I would certainly stay at Irma again, with all its Mexican charm.

Room Tip: I recommend an ocean view. There are no elevators.There can be noise around the pool but it closes at 9 PM.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Mark C:

On behalf of all the collaborators of the Hotel Irma, we want to thank you for the time dedicated to share your kind comments and feedback.
On the other hand, refers to the internet or wi-fi, we are working on it so they can enjoy a wider internet reception.
You have to be sure that all your comments are taken very seriously and we work hard to continue giving you the opportunity to serve you as you deserve and make your next stay exceed the previous one.
We wait for you soon.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Cannot say enough positives about this REAL Mexican Hotel - Excellent people from Reception to Waite staff to great food to cleanliness, just a happy bunch of workers doing a GREAT job for their customers. Pools and Restaurant have magnificent elevated view of Playa Madeira. Location is awesome as could easily get anywhere in Zihua (Beaches, Restaurants, Shops, etc.)...by foot. Will definitely be back, as Zihua is now my favorite Mexican city, as lots of character and always felt safe even at night. What a friendly town. Sorry Ixtapa, but you don't have the character of Zihua.
One small note, the rooms are only about 3 star, but ALWAYS very clean. All else is so great that I now consider this part of the character. Loved this place.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a view room, as views are spectacular. Regular rooms normally have no view at all, but are very clean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruising-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Cruising-Ron:

We are very pleased that the team of collaborators of the Hotel Irma has met your expectations and allowed you to enjoy our facilities and services, we will continue working and doing what we like most, which is ... to serve you as you deserve.

We wait for you soon.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Currently staying here in room number three. Staying for eight nights

Pros:

• nice infinity pool with view
• friendly staff
• clean rooms
• good quality breakfast with plenty of variety (cost of breakfast included with the room rate)

Cons:

• Poor Internet service. Sometimes it works for short bursts, but most of the time it does not.
• Antiquated system for keeping track of breakfasts (must wear a colored wristband, although this was not strictly enforced). Upon checking in the man at the front desk told us that we should wear it during our whole trip including when taking a shower. This is ridiculous and I don’t feel compelled to let the whole town know that I’m staying at a hotel Irma. Let us gringos blend in to the best of our abilities and not make us wear ridiculous bright yellow wristbands.
• Credit card information is hand written down for incidentals (This is a significant security risk in this day and age). I did not see any shredder or anything that gave me a sense of security in terms of my sensitive financial data.
• Prices for food and drinks are rather high. Example is that a cup of coffee is 30 pesos. Down the hill you can get a larger cup of coffee for only 18 pesos.
• They seem to have a towel shortage.

If the staff are able to resolve any of the aforementioned issues I will edit this review accordingly to reflect this. I am staying 4 more nights.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Mr. Henry S:

First of all, we want to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your appreciable time and your feedback and thus be able to offer you the service you deserve.

As regards the internet, we are already working on it to have a wider signal in the most strategic areas and avoid inconveniences.

On the other hand, we assure you that we will work hard with front desk personnel so that the information will be seen and effective based on what they call "incidents", please accept our apologies.

The bracelets, is a way to identify our distinguished guests and avoid inconvenience when we asked if they are guests or not.

We hope this does not impact and that it gives us the opportunity to continue serve you as you deserve.

Sincerely,

Yara Cadena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We stayed at Hotel Irma for a week from 3/1 to 3/8. From the people we met there, that was a short stay. A lot were staying 2 weeks plus.

We requested a room with a king and ocean front. We got the ocean front, but ended up with two double beds. We managed. Once we had our luggage to the 6th floor, we didn’t want to lug it around anymore. There are no mini-fridges or coffee makers in the room. The room was very basic. One bottle of water a day for two people. No dresser, no closet doors. The shower didn’t have a door or curtain which left water all over the floor. The safety latch was missing from the door.
The safe was a key instead of a code. That meant we had to carry the key around with us.
I would give the hotel a higher rating had they had these items. The view is what this hotel has going for them.

To those that are early birds like us, Zihuatanejo is not an early rising town. You couldn’t get coffee in the hotel until 7:30am. Most restaurants didn’t open for breakfast until 8:00am or later. We did find one by the pier that opened at 7:00am.

For those with walking problems, this hotel is all stairs. There are no elevators on the property. In addition to all stairs, Irma is located on a steep hill. It wasn’t a problem for us. We are in decent shape. There are taxis just out the front if you need to get somewhere. If they weren’t out front, the reception desk could call you one and they’d be there in a minute.

The crowd at this hotel is much older. I would say the average age is 55+. That was fine for us as we aren't looking for a party. We are on vacation to relax.

There was construction at the hotel directly next door. Our room was right near this. It was very loud. It was also annoying when you were trying to relax at the pool. On the weekend we thought the noise would stop. It didn't, they worked the weekends. We quickly found our way to the beach.

There was the random couple with the kids. We knew this wasn't an adults only hotel. Once the kids arrived we went elsewhere. Though it was nice that this hotel doesn't cater to kids. If you had kids I would think they would be pretty bored here if there wasn't a pool. There certainly aren't toys or a play areas.

The restaurant at Irma had surprisingly good food. The pablano stuffed chicken was very good.

Once we ventured out to Playa Madera or Playa la Ropa we didn’t hang around the hotel much after that. We found good food and drinks out and about.

The service staff was friendly. Typically slow around the pool. Or sometimes not at. This is Mexico. On cue they seem to disappear when happy hour arrives or when you need a drink.
The front desk staff is typical of Mexico as well, I’m not sure they knew what they were doing. My husband speaks Spanish very well and would catch them staying things under their breath. They would mumble something and he would ask them to say it again and of course they wouldn’t.

There seemed to be a lot of open space on the deck when we looked below. Like they could use more loungers and tables. It just seemed like a lot wasted open space.

Paseo del Pescador (Fisherman's Walk) runs in front of the hotel. The gate from the hotel is open from 7:00am to 5:00pm. We walked this a lot and even felt safe at night.

If you are concerned about safety because of the travel warnings don’t. We felt totally safe in Zihuatanejo. We walked around at night with no problems. We also stayed where the tourists were and didn’t look for trouble.

This was our first time staying in actual Zihuatanejo. We have stayed in Ixtapa in the past.
The resort area of Ixtapa is completely different than Zihuatanejo. Any other beach vacation verses Mexico.

We forgot how hot it was there. We followed the shade around the umbrella at the pool. If you’re on the beach you run for the ocean or the shade.

Would we go back? Doubtful just as a couple. Maybe with a group of friends.

We forgot how dirty Zihuatanejo was. There was lots of garbage everywhere. I don’t remember that much in PDC.

Plus I prefer the turquoise waters of the Caribbean over dark waters of the Pacific.
And there are more conveniences in PDC like markets and shops.
That doesn’t make the trip bad, just personal preference.

We had a nice vacation as a couple. The hotel didn’t make or break our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mello1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your evaluation and time in feedback in our areas of opportunity detected during your stay, this information will be transmitted to all areas involved especially the Food and Beverage area to reinforce the breakfast schedule established from 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 p.m.
As for the rooms with king size bed and low floor, of course we can offer you, as long as our occupation allows us.
Please be assured that we will take the necessary measures regarding the service of waiters to expedite the service in the pool and reception area so that this does not happen again and offer you the service you deserve.
We regret the fact that you have found Zihuatanejo with garbage, although that is out of our control, the town work hard to make it a clean and safe place.
I hope you give us the opportunity to return to serve you and make your next stay exceed the previous one.

Cordially,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We stayed at Irma last year and were so pleased we had to go back this year. It really is like home. Staff so friendly, great breakfasts, beautiful location, clean and comfortable rooms. While we did not get a massage, several other guests raved about the massage lady's ability.
However, be prepared for a lot of stair climbing, especially if your are unlucky enough to get one of the rooms on the 4-6 floors!

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs, especially for health/age reasons, be sure to guarantee a lower room
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_shurla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia n, Gerente at Hotel Irma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Mr. Jhon_shurla:

We are delighted that the Hotel Irma has fulfilled its expectations and allowed you to once again enjoy a pleasant stay, your comments we will share with our collaborators to remain committed to see us favored with your return meny years more to serve you as you deserve one and many more in this his house.

Sincerely,

Yara Cadena
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews