We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$276
US$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Irma(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$389
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$272
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$375
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
62
84
24
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
84
24
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset baron la ropa beachlinda vista suiteair conditioningceiling fanoldest hotelprivate section of the beachlounge chairsbeach palapasthe hotel's restaurantfiltered waterbeautiful beachrestaurants within walking distanceview of the baymexican holidayguacamoleworked great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We have stayed many times at Catalina and were there in Nov 2017. The staff are gracious and any questions or requests are quickly addressed. We booked a Playa Suite room that is close to the beach, has AC and was recently remodeled. Will return again. We appreciate the classic charm of the Catalina, along with the availability of a range of rooms and rates; we have stayed in several different room types and were always satisfied with rooms and service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NW1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This hotel is a crumbling ruin. Upon check-in, we were given a room with no AC, no telephone, no wifi. For shame! After two days of complaints, being told that there were no vacancies, we were moved to an acceptable room with proper air and wifi. It was large and clean, however beds were rigid and pillows were prison issue. Towels are grey and threadbare, bathroom faucets are crusty. Many stairs, over 200, from top to bottom. I am in good shape and could have passed out. Everything in disrepair, pool area has broken chaise lounges, and there is a dump yard for broken furniture behind the pool. On the plus side, La Ropa beach is great, and the hotel employees are kind and hard working. Most of the guests are returnees on a nostalgia tour. Couldn't pay me to come back.

Room Tip: I asked for the best and was willing to pay for it. My initial room was basic and stifling.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Despite its advanced age, this hotel, set in a garden that cascades down to a perfect beach, is still a pleasant place to spend a week. My husband and I lolled on our private terrace, splashed about in the beautiful pool, spent happy hours under a shady palapa on the beach, and ate in the hotel's restaurant. We saw iguanas, chachalacas, squirrels, geckos foraging in the hotel garden which is a tropical jungle. The scratchy hotel towels and block like pillows were the only downside. The restaurant is a bit pricey for what you get, but the pleasure in watching a tropical downpour as the sun set made up for the food. It is not bad, just boring. The service was fine and friendly. The hotel could use a little spiffing up but not to the level of its chichi neighbors, which look like gringo style ripoffs.

Room Tip: All have ocean views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank chazdews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Haven't stayed in the hotel, but have visited 2 times for the Sunset Happy Hour at the bar. Drinks are 2 for 1, nothing spectacular. What you come for here though is the Sunset View! Amazing place to watch the sun go down in Zihuatanejo! This is on Playa la Ropa beach so it is a hilly walk, or a short cab ride from downtown. Worth every step or the cab ride!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeAlwaysWAnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel's saving grace is the stunning location directly on La Ropa beach and the excellent staff. Breakfast was good. Other than that, the hotel public areas and in particular the rooms need refurbishment, although clean there is an overall grubby feel due to outdated facilities and shoddy workmanship. Towels although clearly laundered, were greyish white, frayed and in some cases had holes in them, I do not think this is acceptable at any establishment. The pool area was of particular disappointment, this area was small, unclean and every sunbed was broken. Fortunately, the hotel's private section of the beach and sunbeds are lovely, head there! Also worth a mention is the amount of steps, approx. 200 from reception down to beach. Most accommodation is about half way down. Very disappointed that reception refused us a late check out, later I asked housekeeping how busy they were and was told 12 rooms leaving, 3 checking in that day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AuntieAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews