We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aura del Mar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$276
US$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$389
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$162
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific(Ixtapa)
US$321
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
US$473
US$410
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Irma(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
438
117
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
117
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadera beachjacuzzi on the balconymaster suitehotel restaurantlounge chairswalk into townno elevatorwedding plannerbeautiful hotelloved this hotelsitting areaview of the baysmall hoteldowntown zihuatanejogreat poolcevichealways felt safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We went with a group of 9 of which 7 of us stayed in the villa.
The pros: fantastic location, great waitstaff, stunning views, lovely restaurant on site. You have access to the beach or the pool with a water slide. Amazing massages right outside the door, on the beach for a BARGAIN price ($20 with tip). We had a cooking lesson one day with Martine which was very cool. Another night we had a chef come in from town to cook us the most amazing meal. There was a bit of confusion as we had included breakfast coupons yet we ended up paying for the breakfasts. Not sure why breakfast wouldn't be included for all at the price we were paying. Had that been clear, we would have gone into the town some days for a bit of variety. It was a fantastic stay though, loads of fun. We had been debating whether to cancel due to the state warnings saying don't go to Guerrero but we felt very safe and had a fabulous time in Zihua. Did not disappoint

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I don’t even know how to begin saying how wonderful this place is. This trip was our second to this wonderful hotel and it will not be our last. I want to start off by saying this is a traditional charming Mexican hotel. It is not fancy. You will not find modern décor or amenities. You can’t drink the water. There is no elevator and there are lots of stairs. There is no room service, and most of the time no pool service either. So if those things are things you are looking for – look elsewhere. However if you are looking for a small charming hotel, where you are greeted as family when you return. This is your place. The staff here is amazing, from the time you book until the time you check out they are always looking to make your stay the best. You are greeted with a shot of tequila or a corona when you arrive along with smiles and you are taken to your room. The rooms are decorated with Mexican style and tile details. They have a real coffeemaker (no Keurig here) in each room so you can enjoy coffee every morning on your balcony and enjoy the view. There is a refrigerator for drinks and snacks. And they give you two bottles of water each day. The hotel is built into the hillside (hence all the steps) but the bonus is that almost all of the rooms have amazing views. We don’t mind the stairs at all and got a room high up – amazing view! The patios feature chairs and loungers and there is a hammock that can be hung up also. Some patios have hot tubs. The common areas are very lush with lots of greenery. The pool is somewhat small, but it was never crowded. The chairs are nice and there is plenty of shade if that is your thing also. There is also a waterslide at the pool. There are loungers on the beach which is nice. There is a restaurant down on the beach and we had breakfast included in our rate, but that was the only meal we ate there. The location of this hotel is perfect and there are so many wonderful restaurants within walking distance that you can enjoy. You can walk the beach to a small boardwalk to town, or down the hill and through the side streets. There are taxis nearby too. There is a small store across the street that has all of the things you might need to stock up your little fridge for your stay. I can’t say enough good things about this hotel – top notch in my opinion! Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WeAlwaysWAnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This hotel was hands down our favorite place to stay while in ZIhuatenajo and I can't wait to bring my family back. Such a warm friendly atmosphere. Big comfy beds, quiet pool with slide that our kids never wanted to leave. Easy access to beach where many amenities including paddle boards and kayaks were available to use. YES, there are stairs. We were in the very top floor and it was a walk, but we will do it again and again as the hotel was more than worth it!

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank Ambre907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised by Aura. Our first impression, Carlos was perfect. He treated us with a cool towel soaked in essential oils and a Victoria.

Our room was beautiful. The furnishings were all charming and original. The bed was comfortable. The outdoor jacuzzi was a great way to relax with a cup of coffee in the morning.

Our first night we couldn’t wait to get into the ocean but we were amazed by the locals gathered to watch baby turtles hatch and swim out to sea. It was so magical.

The bistro was so delicious and the staff went out of their way to acclimate us.

We are dying to come back. Thank you for all your hospitality!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

My daughter wanted a small beach wedding and because my family had been going to Zihuatanjo for nearly 40 some odd years, I thought Zihuatanjo would be a very beautiful destination. She decided to have her wedding at the Aura Del Mar which I had never been to or seen. We went full speed ahead and booked her wedding and reception there. Janet Nava was her wedding coordinator and kept in constant contact with her for the last few months. Wow! Come the day of the wedding, everything was not only perfect but Janet and The Aura del Mar went above and beyond our expectations!! Janet was as cool as a cucumber and add little extra surprises and touches that we had not thought of!! Rose petals and sparklers at the event as well as a huge villa in which to get ready just to name a few. The quote she gave us was right on track with no hidden costs! All of our questions were answered promptly and cheerfully! Janet was simply wonderful!!
As for the hotel itself, it is very authentic Mexican in decor and style and although it is not on La Ropa beach( Madera beach) it was very lovely! The whole experience was a tribute to their great care and sevice!! THANKS FOR A JOYFUL VACATION AND WEDDING!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews