We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special birthday dinner”
Review of El Sacromonte

El Sacromonte
Ranked #41 of 1,398 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Two of us celebrated our birthdays at El Sacromente. What a memorable meal! I enjoyed the salad "Dolores del Rio," then "Queen Elizabeth's Crown as an entree. The crown consisted of huge shrimp, standing on the fat end with the tail in the air. Somehow the shrimp were interlocked to form an impressive "crown." This sat on a bed of julienned vegetables, covered with a rich, delicious lobster sauce. For dessert our table enjoyed lime tarts, chocolate lava cakes and heavenly flans. The only problem was the service. We had a very old waiter whom we decided was deaf. He totally messed up our orders, esp for dessert; but we finally sorted things out. We were having such a good time that we didn't mind the flubs, instead laughing at them. While a bit pricier than many restaurants, we all agreed that we received good value for our money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank margaretann266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dep4mkt, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Sacromonte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello, we appreciate your comments on El Sacromonte. You are very important to us, feel free to talk about your experience. We hope to frequently serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We tried the empanadas from the house. Loved them! Worth to try it.

Salads are big, heavy and delicious! Definitely they serve big portions.

The service is good. However, I felt they were pressuring us to order more than what we actually wanted.

Thank Titamxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dep4mkt, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Sacromonte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hello, we appreciate your comments on El Sacromonte. You are very important to us, we are always trying to improve our service in order to give you the best on a daily basis. We hope to frequently serve you. Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Very good food and very helpful service, the chiles enogada are one of my favorites, if you like Mexican food you have to try this lovely place.

Thank Lechuga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dep4mkt, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Sacromonte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hello, we appreciate your comments on El Sacromonte. You are very important to us, feel free to talk about your experience. We hope to frequently serve you. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We came for a team dinner and it is hard to put in words the stunning array of flavors and textures as we went through the courses. The mango ceviche, the soups and the mole. Let's not forget the corn ice cream for dessert. Very memorable and highly recommended!

Thank Ross-Newkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Looking for the best Chile en Nogada (a typical Mexican dish) served throughout September to celebrate Mexico's independence. I remembered Sacormonte restaurant. I even helped decorate it almost 3 decades ago. We did not go wrong!!

The best Chile en Nogada and it is ...Thank God.... served all year round, with real castillan nut cream sauce and the old fashioned ground beef blend with pinenuts and raisins and dry cristalized fuit.

The rosepetal quesadillas are a must and the green mango and fresh fish ceviche is a tangy delight.

Don Francisco a seasoned waiter was outstanding in his service and his suggestions were well recieved. Sacromonte's wine list is varied and I loved the Mexican Wine Traspatio, well priced and great value for the quality.

Decoration is beautiful and very Old Mexico, with that Spaniard quality and bullfight memorabilia. The live piano playing takes you back to a nostalgic era in which proper silverware, real cuisine and top service were a must if you wanted to run a high end well eestablished restaurant.

Congratulations to Sacromonte!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Descoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sacromonte also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to El Sacromonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing