We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
US$84
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Meson de los Poetas(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Zuniga B&B(Guanajuato)
US$75
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Meson Cuevano(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa De Pita(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Villa Sueno Azul(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
26
49
25
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
49
25
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2007

First - a statement: when we travel abroad and our goal is to tour a place - we usually look for a nice, clean room with an ensuite bathroom. We take into consideration that we will actually use the room only for sleeping after a busy day. We prefer to spend our money in good food, museums, theatre tickets etc. For this purposes Meson del Rosario is O.K. We stayed there for 2 nights, got a room in the upper floor which was decently sized and clean. We had a window so there was no problem with light though no view. Yes the towels were thin but smelled o.k. The front desk stuff were very nice and helpful though fortunately - we speak Spanish. We did notice that they have problems with English. The beds were hard however but did not bother us. We paid around 49 USD per nights. We booked the hotel basing on the recommendation in the Lonely Planet which rated it as a "Mid Range" Hotel I am not sure that this is the right category. More like "Upgraded Budget". Nevertheless - O.K. for the money and purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank artman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Meson del Rosario is smack dab in the middle of the action in Guanajuato, adjoining a major thoroughfare. The Lonely Plant describes the hotel as having a "medieval feel" and this was true in both the best and worse sense of the word. We had a back corner room that didn't let in any light at all. It was a decent price (around $58), but the room was so small, with two small double beds crammed in, that you hardly had room to move. It had a musty smell as well. I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt in so far as we may have had bad luck to get one of their smaller rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jazzpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

Okay hotel for a young, unpretentious 20'something couple or a group of young friends. Quiet, clean enough, but the beds are rock-hard. Still, I would go back for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Licenciada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

After staying at La Casa de los Espiritus Alegres (beautiful Bed & Breakfast in the Marfil area of town, THE BEST PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT) our first 2 nights in Guanajuato we looked for something closer to "el Centro Historico" when we stumbled upon Meson del Rosario. The lobby looked nice and kind of charming. Then we saw their prices and decided it was a great deal (a little bit less than $50 per night/double occupancy- we paid for the first night ahead of time). When we entered the room it seemed spacious and apparently clean. The first thing my husband and I noticed was the strong smoke smell combined with something else we couldn't quite point out. They have a very small tv (13 inch) on top of a very tall closet and they had no remote control available. Then the bathroom had only 2 bath towels no washcloths, no handtowels and no mat. Only one roll of toilet paper. My husband went to wash his hands and smelled the towels and told me not to even touch the towels because they smelled fithy (even though they looked clean) He said the odor impregnated on the towels was so disgusting (they smelled like body fluid). The sheets were so thin (like gauze). We were so uncomfortable that that same night we went looking for another place. We found a room at Hotel Luna (right in the heart of Jardin Union, great hotel, wonderful service AND CLEAN!!!) but was not going to be available till 1pm t he next day. We ended up staying the night but we couldn't get out fast enough of that place the next morning. I guess that if you don't care about little details like these, you could like this place. In appearance we did, but our experience ruined part of an otherwise perfect trip. I strongly recommend you spend a little bit more money and stay somewhere else. It will be worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GretaBlueHdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2004

I have stayed here twice while studying Spanish at the Instituto Miguel Cervantes(highly recommended and inexpensive if study a language). This hotel is definitely central to all that is Guanajuato. Behind it is the childhood home of Diego Rivera, now a museum and must see. The architecture very old and wonderful, the rooms VERY nice for the price.
I payed 35 dollars a night both times, and for two people it is 45 dollars. MAKE SURE TO GET A ROOM AWAY FROM THE UNDERGROUND STREET, as these are very noisy. If this is too expensive or there is no vacancy, or the only rooms are streetside, the Hostel Canta Rana is very charming and even less expensive. It has an incredible view from the rooftop! It is not in the center of all the activity, but only a few blocks away.

10  Thank SpiritHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews