We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Posada Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Santa Fe
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two weekend nights, and we congratulated ourselves for choosing Posada Santa Fe on Guanajuato' s Jardin Union. This is the center of the city's outdoor street life, and we enjoyed the music, street entertainers, and friendly crowds. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. Easy walking distance to many of gto's attractions. Our room overlooked the Jardin and we were a bit concerned about noise, especially the musicians entertaining customers at the open air restaurants. Not to worry - the room had solid wood doors to close out the window making for peaceful sleeping. One small critique: the bathroom was the smallest we've seen, which is saying a lot given our extensive travels in Japan. It was adequate, but just barely. All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo h, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and take note of your comments about the bathroom. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at the same hotel a few years ago and decided to book it again, because of its convenient location and discounted price. We had a nice suite this time, facing away from the plaza, but the hotel does not have many amenities and while the rooms are nice, the washrooms do need updating. However, the staff is helpful and friendly and we would stay again at this hotel. We were disappointed with the breakfast at the hotel, there are many better food options around!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo h, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and take note of your comments. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Hotel is old but that is the façade that it needs to keep being in Guanajuato's main Plaza. If you do not plan to stay at the hotel for that long of a period this is a good choice. If you are looking for some good night sleep I wouldn't recommend the hotel; being in front of the main Plaza the music and street noise do not stop until late at night.

Room Tip: If you choose rooms with a balcony be ready to listen to the street noise all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PauloDelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo h, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and take note of your comments about the facade and the outside noise. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, not enough time. Wished I had stayed and extra 2 nights. Hotel was amazing and close to everything. Garden area was nice to hang out, which is next to hotel. Staff was very friendly. And the street walking tour with musicians was nearby hotel, and that was incredible. Will definitely come back to this hotel. Loved the ambience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nohuizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo h, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and take note of your comments. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Very quaint hotel that is full of character, and is in a perfect location for walking tourists. Our room was right over the plaza, so it was pretty noisy that night (but we were told by friends that the town was busier than usual that night). We left the terrace doors open anyway, and enjoyed the mariachi bands and general crowd sounds for a few hours while sleeping lightly. Around 3 am the party was STILL going on out in the plaza, so we finally shut the terrace doors, and slept very soundly after that (although a very light sleeper might still be disturbed by sounds from the plaza, even with the doors shut.) Ate breakfast at the restaurant on the sidewalk the next morning and the food was very good, with good service. And the front desk was very nice and accommodating (and at least one person spoke English). Will definitely stay there again if we ever get another chance to visit Guanajuato.

Room Tip: Fantastic view from the small balcony/terrace overlooking the plaza (but noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidinClanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo h, Public Relations Manager at Posada Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and take note of your comments. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
523 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.2 km away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#12 of 55 in Guanajuato
548 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 55 in Guanajuato
109 reviews
0 km away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Santa Fe

Address: Calle Jardin de La Union 12, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $117 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1862, our Guanajuato Hotel keeps in its facilities a captivating colonial and historical appearance, a signature element of the best Hotels in Guanajuato. Posada Santa Fe is home of a big artwork collection by local artists and a lobby that stands out for its lofty beamed ceilings, fine chandeliers, antique furniture and spectacular paintings garnishing the walls. Stay in one of the 43 guest rooms of our Hotel in Guanajuato, all of them homely and comfortable for an easy rest in this magical colonial city.For added convenience, Posada Santa Fe Hotel features some other elements that distinguish us as the top choice among Guanajuato Hotels. A Tourist Ministry certified Restaurant with national and international dishes, a place that boasts a great view to the Jardin de la Union, a Parisian- style cafe terrace, functional rooms for both social and corporate events, parking lot and an endless list of amenities and services for a 4-star stay in the most traditional Guanajuato Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Santa Fe Guanajuato
Posada Santa Fe Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing