We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Guanajuato Style”
Review of El Zopilote Mojado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Zopilote Mojado
Reviewed 14 December 2008

A small charming hostal tucked in a quiet residential street (unless school is in session) just steps from the city centre. The staff are extremely helpful, our room was warm & comfortable, and the location excellent. Truly a trremendous value!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank escapethegrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed in the blue room for 4 nights and were totally satisfied. Even though it is only a 5 minute walk to the Jardin, it was very quiet. We agree with all the other reviewers. There are lots of stairs to get to the house, but the exercise was welcome. The only drawback is that the place (because of it's size) is not manned 24 hours. We arrived by bus from Mexico city and were a little early. Carlos, the manager, gave us his cell number but he was driving and could not answer when we arrived. Not a problem as the beer and snacks in the Jardin was a good way to start our stay in Guanajuato (only a short walk away). The woman in the store across the street stored our luggage for us while we waited.

Carlos speaks excellent English and is very helpful. He is eager to make EZM better and welcomes guest comments.

We took advantage of the sitting area outside the room, or the rooftop area on most days. The views from the roof are great.

My only complaint is that we like lots of coffee in the morning and there is no free coffee. But you can go to the restaurant and get great coffee for 15 pesos. Also, there is a great sweet shop across from the Teatro Cervantes, down the steps from the hotel and take a left turn. There is wonderful coffee and heavenly cheesecake for an afternoon treat.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avid_gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights and the location is excellent, a block away from the center (Teatro Juarez) and yet still in a very quiet area. You will have to go thru quite some steps (stairs) to get to it but it was okay for us. If you have problems climbing stairs then it might not be a good location for you.

The rooms are nicely decorated and they are separated by an area where you can sit and relax or read. We stayed at the Azul room. It was clean and roomy, including the bathroom. They also have a restaurant in the same building where you can have some snacks and also breakfast for $60 pesos. Carlos who helped us checked in was very accommodating. He was also very helpful with all our questions regarding buses, taxis etc and interesting places to see. Overall we enjoyed out stay at this accommodation in Guanajuato.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

The only problem was that we couldn't stay longer. There were 5 of us traveling together so we booked all 3 rooms. The service was wonderful and friendly. They even arranged for a ride to the airport at 4:30 a.m. for 2 of us and then came back to get the rest later on. It was comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated. And the view from the terrace was breathtaking. There's absolutely no reason to stay at a fancy, expensive hotel if you have the option of El Zopilote Mojado. Plus, the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AndyOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

El Zopilote Mojado (EZM) is located in Plaza Mexiamora, a small tranquil plaza where locals and travelers alike gather to relax and meet their friends. There is an elementary school in the plaza and one morning I came upon the school children practicing marching. It was wonderful to see the little slices of life that unfolded here. One of the things I will miss most about my days in Guanajuato is sitting in the plaza at the end of the day watching little boys play soccer, watching life go by.

I just came back from a six night stay in EZM. It is clean and very well kept. It is five minutes from the Jardin Union and next to Plaza Barratillo, a great place to get tacos at night. In fact, everything is within a 15 minute walk. Since Guanajuato is a city full of steps, expect to climb a few to get to this hostel. I loved walking around this city of steps, i definitely did not have to worry about what I ate since I worked it all off.

I stayed in the Blue Room above the Cafe. The Blue Room is the only one in that location with its own private bathroom. Details like big fluffy towels, robes, complimentary soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion were not overlooked. Definitely a nice touch! Drinking water was also provided daily. EZM met and exceeded my expectations. I would most definitely stay here again. Maybe next year for the Cervantino.

Another perk I had was the pleasure of meeting the new manager, Roberto. He just moved back to Mexico four months ago to be near family after living in the United States for over 20 years. I have no doubt he will be an asset to EZM. Raul, Roberto and the staff of EZM were part of what made my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kinije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.5 km away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
1.1 km away
El Hogar de Carmelita
El Hogar de Carmelita
#3 of 67 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa de Dante Hostel
Casa de Dante Hostel
#1 of 67 in Guanajuato
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hostal del Truco
Hostal del Truco
#15 of 67 in Guanajuato
13 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 82 in Guanajuato
571 reviews
0.7 km away
Al Son de los Santos
Al Son de los Santos
#11 of 82 in Guanajuato
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Zopilote Mojado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Zopilote Mojado

Address: Calle Plaza de Mexiamora # 51 | Centro, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Guanajuato
Price Range: $100 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Zopilote Mojado Hostal and Cafe is located on beautiful and tranquil Mexiamora Plaza in Guanajuato's historic center. We have 7 guestrooms, 2 apartments and a guesthouse available in our 3 buildings located on and around the plaza. All of our properties have well appointed common areas and terraces with panoramic views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Zopilote Mojado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing