We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$103
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quinta Las Acacias(Guanajuato)
US$99
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$72
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Zuniga B&B(Guanajuato)
US$75
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Sueno Azul(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa De Pita(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa de Dante Hostel(Guanajuato)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
100
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorditasart workshopwall hangingsthe owner managercathedral bellsother guestshigh ceilingsbreakfast roomb and bfresh squeezed juicerooftop terraceevery morningperfect locationplace to staypan dulcebring earplugscobblestone streets
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Had a magnificent stay at Alma del Sol. Hugo is the best host you could hope for, the rooms and inn are beautiful, and breakfast was delicious! Would absolutely recommend Alma del Sol to anyone going to Guanajuato!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaylasA7369LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

My husband is always researching off-the-beaten-path nooks of the globe and Guanajuato, Mexico is still relatively non-globalized, charming, and true to its colonial city vernacular. People are amazingly friendly and hospitable. In contrast to some of the other cities in the country, it's VERY safe and it's a great place to roam, let the body and eyes rest from daily life at home, and eat delicious Mexican food. We liked Guanajuato much better than its close neighboring city, San Miguel de Allende because GTO is much less touristed and commercial. Someone we met likened the difference between the 2 cities to Albuquerque (being Guanajuato) and Santa Fe (being San Miguel). Good comparison. We stayed the entire 6-night vacation at Hotel Alms del Sol (not to be confused with Casa del Sol) which was absolutely fantastic. It's owner/manager, Hugo, is the BEST HOST. He gave us daily itinerary suggestions, looked out for our well being with kindness and the concern of a mother:), and could not have been more helpful. He's an artist as well as a smart entrepreneur, owning and renting out another property in GTO as well (Hotel de Color). At both sites, guests are treated to Hugo's delicious, home-cooked PHENOMENAL breakfasts each morning. Apparently he also makes the world's best margaritas but unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity for a tasting. Must return SOON for those, and to get to know the city better. Hugo has a talented and tasteful artistic eye which he's used to design this gem of a B&B. Details are refined, simple, and lovely. GTO and Hugo's place are the perfect antidotes to our hectic home schedules. I think the ideal trip would be to combine GTO with a few days at the beach in either Puerto Vallarta or Manzanillo. But can't rave enough about Hotel Alma del Sol on its own terms. Go, go, go!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but if you can, request the room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Owner at Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Ay Ay Ay! muchas gracias. I am so glad you loved Guanajuato better! Next time Margaritas for breakfast! or before diner.
Thank you for your warm review, made me blush, cannot wait to see you again, I will plan a visit for sure. Abrazos.

Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at Alma del Sol in January 2017 for 5 nights. The room was comfortable, the staff were excellent and the breakfasts were fantastic. We loved meeting and talking with the other guests over our long breakfasts. Hugo Anaya, the owner, is such a nice man and was so helpful in planning our days and with restaurant suggestions. Loved waking up to the cathedral bells in the morning, great location, you can walk almost everywhere.The format of this review page asks for comments on accessibility. It is important to say that because the B&B has stairs to the second floor rooms and third floor roof deck and breakfast room it must be regarded as "not accessible" to persons with certain disabilities. It is also important to add that the Historico Centro area of Guanajuato is very old with narrow streets, sidewalks, cobblestone streets and staircases that make the city in itself difficult for people with certain disabilities. Such is the natural charm of this city. This B&B is perfect for people who can handle the obstacles of this old and marvelous city. Such a wonderful stay and we will return.
Ken & Marlene
Winnipeg, Canada

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. The surroundings are so interesting that very little time is spent in your room.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank naturelover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

This four room gem is fantastic! The old colonial home retains it’s charm and is well decorated, but not over done. We had the smallest of the rooms and it was still more than adequate with a large bathroom with spacious walk-in shower. The highlights of the B&B are the rooftop terrace, the quality of the breakfast and the hospitality of the owner/manager Hugo. The rooftop is virtually on top of the church across the street, and yes, the photos are accurate! You can sit outside, or in the glass enclosed common room. The breakfast room is also on the rooftop, so offers great views with the exceptional breakfasts Hugo and his team provide. I don’t think you can find a better location and if you prefer smaller, more intimate accommodations, you will love this one!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Owner at Alma del Sol Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much, I truly enjoyed your visit and getting to know you a little. Please come back and enjoy the city and it's artistic flavors.
Happy Holidays!
Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed at Alma del Sol for ten days from the last couple days of the Cervantino through the Day of the Dead events. The B and B is located just a short walk through a couple interesting plazas to the main plaza and pedestrian street. The rooms are huge with high ceilings and are uniquely decorated with local crafted wall hangings and rugs. The breakfasts are big and very tasty. For our ten day stay the offering never repeated itself except for the big daily bowl of fruit, delicious coffee and local bread. The main dish included gorditas, breakfast burritos, and a frittata type dish with caramelized onions on top. The huge plus for the b and b is the the host, Hugo. He is very welcoming and friendly and goes out of his way to make sure you have a good time and have the best experience possible. Oh yeh, the bed was huge and super comfortable and we had a balcony to look down on the street below to see the tuna bands and many pedestrians go by. Hugo will recommend a dozen or so restaurants which we all found to be excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews