We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable location, service and meal”

El Balcon del Zocalo
Reserve with OpenTable
El Balcon del Zocalo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 5,029 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Histórico
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My college aged daughter and I planned to visit this restaurant on our recent "thanksgiving" trip to Mexico City . Unfortunately the day we had a reservation she had an emergency appendectomy and spent 3 nights in the hospital. The day she was discharged "starving" we decided to go to the restaurant and try again. Amazingly it was the same night as Ricky Martin was playing in the square below. We were treated or spoiled to a wonderful, relaxing and delicious dinner . The service was wonderful . Everyone made us feel comfortable and special. I wished I had looked at the spelling of these names before I left, but special thanks to the Captain whose name begins with "O" (so sorry) and Miguel-Ricardo. We will remember the unforgettable view, the delicious food and gracious service. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mindylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear mindylee,
We appreciate your comments. We are honored to read that you had a really good experience at Balcón del Zócalo. We believe in the small details that make a huge difference.
We will be waiting for you with our arms wide open.
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Service was good and the location and ambiance was great. The view overlooking the square was a great addition. However, the food was of low quality. My friend and I had veal and the quality of the meat was something I would expect in a low end kabab house, not a nice restaurant. Moreover, they didn’t have gas for the heaters which meant it was a bit chilly given that it is outside. Shame given that it is not a cheap restaurant.

Thank Geoff_out_and_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Geoff_out_and_about,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It is great that you enjoyed our location and wonderful view.
Likewise, we are sorry to read that our dishes didn´t accomplished your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perception about us.
Please, come back soon!
Vladimir Mayllen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Loved the view, the food, and the service. We stayed in the hotel and loved that too. You do need reservations way ahead if it is close to the weekend.

Thank jendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear jendam,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great that you enjoyed our marvelous view to Plaza de la Constitución, and attentive service.
We are happy to read that you also enjoyed our hotel.
As you may have noticed, at Central Hoteles we are “Centered on you”.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We had a wonderful lunch at the lovely restaurant. The service was good and they serve excellent margaritas. The food was wonderful. We shared grilled octopus and sea bass - both prepared beautifully.

Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us.
Our staff strives to provide our diners with a service beyond their expectations.
We will share your kind words with our Chef.
It would be such a pleasure to have you back.
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We were always treated like important guests with a very friendly staff. From our first night getting in late and the Bartender boasting that his Margaritas were the best in Mexico City ( he was right) to getting pleasant and quick service if we opted for a sit down meal. Sometimes we just wanted something small, like a salad and guacamole. (by the way order the guacamole, its a treat). We were always treated like paying customers whether the order was small, the free breakfasts because we stayed there or the lunch and dinners we ate there. I cannot say enough about all the extra's they add to your experience. This is a fine dining experience, with an excellent view and no intimidation. The waiters are all very pleasant and the atmosphere is friendly amongst the staff and bar staff. A very special thank you to Gabino who waited on us several times and always with professionalism, helpfulness, patience with my attempt a Spanish and humor that told us we were amongst friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bjendresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHoteles, Director General at El Balcon del Zocalo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Bjendresen,
Thank you so much for such extraordinary review. We feel really honored to read that you praise our service, marvelous view, and cuisine.
We are very pleased to read that your whole experience was extraordinary.
Our main aim is to provide you with an excellent experience.
Come back soon!
Regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Balcon del Zocalo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Balcon del Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing