We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
869
158
39
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
158
39
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service diana restaurant the king cole bar personal butler diana fountain avocado pizza infinity pool luxury suite rain shower four seasons paseo de la reforma car service steam room floor to ceiling windows third floor beautiful hotel turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We started our trip to Mexico City with some trepidation. This was our first visit to the capital and we had heard many rumors about its congestion, smog and safety issues. Our family has traveled the world since our kids were babies and we don't usually get these types of warnings. So, to be honest, we were a little worried.

Turned out that we had no reason for trepidation. We fell in love with the city and would return in a heartbeat.

The St. Regis was largely to thank for starting things out on the right foot — from the champagne greeting for us and candy bar for the kids to the excellent service. Erick at the front desk and Monica at the concierge desk were standouts.

The hotel is centrally located in the business district. We had two suites, which for their size, excellent views and amenities were an incredible deal. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and on the concierge's recommendation had an excellent meal at Guzina Oaxaca in Polanco. (Took Uber, which was easy, inexpensive and much more polished than in the states and other countries, the drivers always opening our cardoors and offering us bottled water). We took a long stroll back to the hotel passing many of the city's best museums and parks.

The next morning happened to be the last Sunday morning of the month when the main avenue in front of the hotel is closed off to street traffic and is a biker's paradise. At Erick's suggestion, we took the hotel bikes and rode to Zocálo Plaza. What a great way to start the day and feel the incredible energy of the city!

We enjoyed the excellent St. Regis service, made use of the gym with spectacular views and enjoyed the daily breakfast buffets. The concierges were all incredibly helpful arranging everything from restaurant recommendations to transportation to San Miguel de Allende to museum visits.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the St. Regis facilities and service and only wish we had a few more days to enjoy this fascinating city.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank PamelaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear PamelaTraveling,

We are so glad to hear you took the chance for an adventure in Mexico City and found it so worthwhile. Thank you for writing about your experience in the city and in The St. Regis Mexico City. We will be sure to share your comments with Erick and Monica, as we are sure they will be happy to hear them. It is our main duty to deliver unforgettable experiences for all of our guests, and we are very happy to know it was the case with you. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

If you look at my previous hotel reviews, there is a singular issue that can plague any stay for me no matter how amazing all of the other amenities are, and that's a failed air-conditioning system. There seems to be a growing trend in the hotel industry, and perhaps this is true throughout the SPG family, which is to put your AC on motion-detector sensors, so when you're not in the room, the AC shuts off, your room gets very hot, and you start all over again when you return rather than returning to a nice cool room.

What's worse is when you sleep, unless you're flailing while sleeping, the AC will go off and you'll wake up sweating in a stifling room with no air.

First, the hotel denied that there were motion sensors, then they sent up an engineer to disarm the (now-admitted-to) motion sensors, which never worked, so finally they gave me a plastic oscillating fan. There I am in a gorgeous room at a premium rate with a $20.00 fan to stay cool at night.

OTHER THAN THAT (and that is huge for me), the hotel is fantastic. Great staff (thank you Laura, Rodrigo, and Erick), fantastic food (although breakfast is a bit basic given the caliber of the hotel), really fun bar, and the rooms/linens/furniture are all top notch.

The hotel did what it could about the AC and management did their best to make up for the tremendous inconvenience of having a hot room.

Given the reviews I've read here, apparently I am the only one who's noticed this and the only one who doesn't like to sleep in a hot room. Call me crazy.

Moving forward, I will need to call ahead to find out what kind of AC my hotel will have. This is about the fifth time it's happened in the past year. Listen up, hoteliers! Motion-controlled AC is a very bad idea for your guests. Allow them to decide what temp they'd like their room.

Finally, the location is PERFECT, close to Zona Rosa, clubs, historic district, etc.

Room Tip: If you like a cool room when you sleep, ask for a fan.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Terry D,

Thank you for wrting a review about your stay with us. We are glad to know you had an overall great experience at The St. Regis Mexico City. Regarding the AC motion sensor, it is a standard in our rooms in order to help the environment and not waste precious resources while the room is not occupied, however, at any guest's request we could gladly turn it off if it is not to their liking. Please let us know during your next visit so we can take appropriate measures and you don't have to experience any uncomfortability during your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We checked in late at night. Everything went smooth as we were really tired.

Had several issues with concierge.
We requested early turn down - never happened. I did wait up one night up to 10 pm and gave up. So frustrated. We stayed 6 nights and not one time did we get the service.
Our dinner reservations were messed up too. Told them to make one and right before we are heading out for dinner we go to confirm with concierge and they tell us the restaurant was closed.
For another evening they send us to a tamale place that is remodeling.

The bed is horrible. I preferred to sleep in roll away than their bed. That's what I actually did. Everything else was good in room. Nicely decorated with sufficient lighting in room but not bathroom. Shower was good size with rain shower head.

Go early for breakfast if you want good service and clean buffet. Later on they have a hard time managing cause they are really cutting back on staff everywhere.

I had a bad experience with St Regis in Venice and now here. Both stays within this quarter.

Overall I feel st Regis is no where on top for SPG like other brands. And I am a diamond with SPG.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear shefpar,

We would like to first of all thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad to know your check-in went smoothly and you liked the rooms. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is not acceptable for the turn down not to be done, which is why we are currently starting to implement 'turn down reports', in order for this not to happen again. We assure you this won't be happening from now on, and we hope you will, again, give us the opportunity to show you how truly great a St. Regis experience can be.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

From the champagne greeting when you check in to the 24-hour candy bar to the very-well done rooms, this hotel is awesome. The location is great, the staff is very service oriented and friendly and the bar is a good spot to rest before your next adventure (especially the outdoor bar a few stories above street level). Love this place and would stay here again next time we're in the DF!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DallasFoodFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear DallasFoodFinder,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review about your experience at The St. Regis Mexico City. It fills us with joy to know you had such a wonderful welcome and stay. We are glad to know you would stay with us during your next visit and are indeed looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

A serene, sophisticated, luxurious oasis in the heart of often chaotic Mexico City. We loved our stay- superb service, beautiful rooms, exceptional dining and a convenient location in the heart of Reforma. The personal butler service with complementary all day coffee and packing/unpacking service including complementary pressing (2 items per day) was much appreciated. Our very first meal in Mexico at the St Regis eating alfresco on the terrace was arguably our best lunch in Mexico and that’s saying something considering we ate at some fabulous restaurants.

In the end, service makes the final difference between good and great hotels and the St. Regis Mexico City delivered in spades. In summary a world class hotel, run impeccably.

Two suggestions for management:
1. Improvement with regard to concierge information on getting around Mexico City. The car service at the hotel at USD 40 per hour is very overpriced and the drivers, although English speaking and very polite, basically tourist guides pushing their services. In Mexico City, Uber has excellent, safe and reliable service which we used exclusively after using the hotel’s transport on our first day.
2. The wifi in the hotel was spotty- in both our two rooms we were often required to re-register (about a dozen times in all) which is obviously a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear AKR1,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your experience a The St. Regis Mexico City. We very much agree with your comment about service being the main differentiator between good and great hotels, which is why we have very strict hiring practices, and courses throughout the year in order to make sure our whole team is at the same quality level. We are glad you found your experience so memorable and we assure you we will look into the driver's and the Wi-fi issues you mention. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews