We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Mexico City
Ranked #9 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The staff here is amazing. It is really close to the sights and you can take a cab quite easily from here. The rooms are really nice. The park that is just outside of the hotel is great for running. You can also run down the paseo on sunday when it is all blocked off.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colorado79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Colorado79,

We would like to thank you for posting a comment regarding your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location and liked the rooms. We hope to have you visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 232 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We started our trip to Mexico City with some trepidation. This was our first visit to the capital and we had heard many rumors about its congestion, smog and safety issues. Our family has traveled the world since our kids were babies and we don't usually get these types of warnings. So, to be honest, we were a little worried.

Turned out that we had no reason for trepidation. We fell in love with the city and would return in a heartbeat.

The St. Regis was largely to thank for starting things out on the right foot — from the champagne greeting for us and candy bar for the kids to the excellent service. Erick at the front desk and Monica at the concierge desk were standouts.

The hotel is centrally located in the business district. We had two suites, which for their size, excellent views and amenities were an incredible deal. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and on the concierge's recommendation had an excellent meal at Guzina Oaxaca in Polanco. (Took Uber, which was easy, inexpensive and much more polished than in the states and other countries, the drivers always opening our cardoors and offering us bottled water). We took a long stroll back to the hotel passing many of the city's best museums and parks.

The next morning happened to be the last Sunday morning of the month when the main avenue in front of the hotel is closed off to street traffic and is a biker's paradise. At Erick's suggestion, we took the hotel bikes and rode to Zocálo Plaza. What a great way to start the day and feel the incredible energy of the city!

We enjoyed the excellent St. Regis service, made use of the gym with spectacular views and enjoyed the daily breakfast buffets. The concierges were all incredibly helpful arranging everything from restaurant recommendations to transportation to San Miguel de Allende to museum visits.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the St. Regis facilities and service and only wish we had a few more days to enjoy this fascinating city.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank PamelaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear PamelaTraveling,

We are so glad to hear you took the chance for an adventure in Mexico City and found it so worthwhile. Thank you for writing about your experience in the city and in The St. Regis Mexico City. We will be sure to share your comments with Erick and Monica, as we are sure they will be happy to hear them. It is our main duty to deliver unforgettable experiences for all of our guests, and we are very happy to know it was the case with you. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

If you look at my previous hotel reviews, there is a singular issue that can plague any stay for me no matter how amazing all of the other amenities are, and that's a failed air-conditioning system. There seems to be a growing trend in the hotel industry, and perhaps this is true throughout the SPG family, which is to put your AC on motion-detector sensors, so when you're not in the room, the AC shuts off, your room gets very hot, and you start all over again when you return rather than returning to a nice cool room.

What's worse is when you sleep, unless you're flailing while sleeping, the AC will go off and you'll wake up sweating in a stifling room with no air.

First, the hotel denied that there were motion sensors, then they sent up an engineer to disarm the (now-admitted-to) motion sensors, which never worked, so finally they gave me a plastic oscillating fan. There I am in a gorgeous room at a premium rate with a $20.00 fan to stay cool at night.

OTHER THAN THAT (and that is huge for me), the hotel is fantastic. Great staff (thank you Laura, Rodrigo, and Erick), fantastic food (although breakfast is a bit basic given the caliber of the hotel), really fun bar, and the rooms/linens/furniture are all top notch.

The hotel did what it could about the AC and management did their best to make up for the tremendous inconvenience of having a hot room.

Given the reviews I've read here, apparently I am the only one who's noticed this and the only one who doesn't like to sleep in a hot room. Call me crazy.

Moving forward, I will need to call ahead to find out what kind of AC my hotel will have. This is about the fifth time it's happened in the past year. Listen up, hoteliers! Motion-controlled AC is a very bad idea for your guests. Allow them to decide what temp they'd like their room.

Finally, the location is PERFECT, close to Zona Rosa, clubs, historic district, etc.

Room Tip: If you like a cool room when you sleep, ask for a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Terry D,

Thank you for wrting a review about your stay with us. We are glad to know you had an overall great experience at The St. Regis Mexico City. Regarding the AC motion sensor, it is a standard in our rooms in order to help the environment and not waste precious resources while the room is not occupied, however, at any guest's request we could gladly turn it off if it is not to their liking. Please let us know during your next visit so we can take appropriate measures and you don't have to experience any uncomfortability during your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We checked in late at night. Everything went smooth as we were really tired.

Had several issues with concierge.
We requested early turn down - never happened. I did wait up one night up to 10 pm and gave up. So frustrated. We stayed 6 nights and not one time did we get the service.
Our dinner reservations were messed up too. Told them to make one and right before we are heading out for dinner we go to confirm with concierge and they tell us the restaurant was closed.
For another evening they send us to a tamale place that is remodeling.

The bed is horrible. I preferred to sleep in roll away than their bed. That's what I actually did. Everything else was good in room. Nicely decorated with sufficient lighting in room but not bathroom. Shower was good size with rain shower head.

Go early for breakfast if you want good service and clean buffet. Later on they have a hard time managing cause they are really cutting back on staff everywhere.

I had a bad experience with St Regis in Venice and now here. Both stays within this quarter.

Overall I feel st Regis is no where on top for SPG like other brands. And I am a diamond with SPG.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear shefpar,

We would like to first of all thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad to know your check-in went smoothly and you liked the rooms. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is not acceptable for the turn down not to be done, which is why we are currently starting to implement 'turn down reports', in order for this not to happen again. We assure you this won't be happening from now on, and we hope you will, again, give us the opportunity to show you how truly great a St. Regis experience can be.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

From the champagne greeting when you check in to the 24-hour candy bar to the very-well done rooms, this hotel is awesome. The location is great, the staff is very service oriented and friendly and the bar is a good spot to rest before your next adventure (especially the outdoor bar a few stories above street level). Love this place and would stay here again next time we're in the DF!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DallasFoodFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariogggg, Marketing & Social Media Executive at The St. Regis Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear DallasFoodFinder,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review about your experience at The St. Regis Mexico City. It fills us with joy to know you had such a wonderful welcome and stay. We are glad to know you would stay with us during your next visit and are indeed looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,166 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
2,159 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 312 in Mexico City
988 reviews
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#10 of 312 in Mexico City
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mexico City

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 439 | Colonia Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $415 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mexico City is located at Paseo de la Reforma, a key financial and business district as well as a center for social life in the Mexican capital. The hotel in Mexico City enjoys a strategic location in front of the Glorieta de la Diana Cazadora, a meeting point between the Bosque de Chapultepec museums, Polanco business district and the Centro Histórico. The airport is a mere 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mexico City Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing