We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catedral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #12 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

For the money, this is a good bet. Good breakfast buffet. One warning: there is a noisy nghtclub across the street on the Doneceles side that has booming music on the weekends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    384
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
232
344
111
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just back from Mexico City and stayed at Hotel Catedral. tripadvisor highly recommended this spot and for good reason. Location is central to all sight in the historic center of DF. Upper rooms recently updated with king-size bed and luxurious bedding, what a treat after a couple of months in Mexico where most stops had less than wonderful linens. Security is tight and we felt very safe. The breakfast buffet was well prepared and exciting as every day was different. One morning my wife had spagetti and meat balls. Please remember to leave a tip. Noticed that most of the Americans and Canadians left without tipping. Shame on you.

We will definitely be back on our next stay in DF.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side and the higher up the better. Costs a bit more but more than worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

First, if it were not for the noise problem, this hotel would represent terrific value: it's in a great location, the staff are friendly, and the rooms, while small, are well-designed with comfortably large bathrooms. Breakfast is included, and there are lots of options, and the staff is only to happy to prepare eggs, coffee, to your liking. The two terraces afford great views of the city, and are terrific places to veg out after a day of sight-seeing. Wi-fi is free, but unfortunately, we experienced many interruptions.
The real problem is the noise, mostly on weekends. Whether on the Catedral side or the street side, the discos start pounding away quite early in the evening and online into the wee hours. Believe me, the throbbing house music cannot be eliminated, even with ear plugs. We actually resorted to mild sleeping pills.

Room Tip: Book for mid-week and avoid weekends unless you are a heavy sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a great experience with chef mary she suggested some very good gorditas very delicious she eas very very customet oriented all i have to say is thank you Mary

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabaderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've stayed at the Hotel Catedral in Mexico City four times in the past three years and have been very pleased with our experience each time. Good value for money, excellent service in providing personal attention for transportation to the airport and good tours. We particularly like its location, just behind the Cathedral on the Zocalo, and within easy walking distance of a good number of sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Property: Hotel Catedral
Address: Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price range (per night): $1,014 - $1,517
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing