We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catedral
Ranked #16 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

For the money, this is a good bet. Good breakfast buffet. One warning: there is a noisy nghtclub across the street on the Doneceles side that has booming music on the weekends.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just back from Mexico City and stayed at Hotel Catedral. tripadvisor highly recommended this spot and for good reason. Location is central to all sight in the historic center of DF. Upper rooms recently updated with king-size bed and luxurious bedding, what a treat after a couple of months in Mexico where most stops had less than wonderful linens. Security is tight and we felt very safe. The breakfast buffet was well prepared and exciting as every day was different. One morning my wife had spagetti and meat balls. Please remember to leave a tip. Noticed that most of the Americans and Canadians left without tipping. Shame on you.

We will definitely be back on our next stay in DF.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side and the higher up the better. Costs a bit more but more than worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

First, if it were not for the noise problem, this hotel would represent terrific value: it's in a great location, the staff are friendly, and the rooms, while small, are well-designed with comfortably large bathrooms. Breakfast is included, and there are lots of options, and the staff is only to happy to prepare eggs, coffee, to your liking. The two terraces afford great views of the city, and are terrific places to veg out after a day of sight-seeing. Wi-fi is free, but unfortunately, we experienced many interruptions.
The real problem is the noise, mostly on weekends. Whether on the Catedral side or the street side, the discos start pounding away quite early in the evening and online into the wee hours. Believe me, the throbbing house music cannot be eliminated, even with ear plugs. We actually resorted to mild sleeping pills.

Room Tip: Book for mid-week and avoid weekends unless you are a heavy sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a great experience with chef mary she suggested some very good gorditas very delicious she eas very very customet oriented all i have to say is thank you Mary

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabaderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've stayed at the Hotel Catedral in Mexico City four times in the past three years and have been very pleased with our experience each time. Good value for money, excellent service in providing personal attention for transportation to the airport and good tours. We particularly like its location, just behind the Cathedral on the Zocalo, and within easy walking distance of a good number of sites.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babsdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Histórico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 313 in Mexico City
1,548 reviews
Centro Histórico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
2,999 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
988 reviews
Centro Histórico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
936 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral

Address: Calle Donceles # 95, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#26 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $96 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Catedral Mexico City
Hotel Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing