We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,094)
Filter reviews
4,094 results
Traveller rating
3,423
506
104
30
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,423
506
104
30
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel tiffany glass ceiling terrace restaurant art nouveau tiffany style jose luis overlooking the square james bond glass of champagne wrought iron national palace department store master suite templo mayor main plaza metropolitan cathedral top floor
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 4,094 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Beautiful building on the Zocalo Square. World class service throughout the stay. My wife and I landed from L.A. early morning and the staff worked with us to make us comfortable long before our room was ready. They offered us champagne, water, and fruit every time we saw them. Great hotel. Better staff. Muchas gracias.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jree261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear guest,

Thanks so much for your very kind comment. We are very happy to read you really enjoyed our hospitality, welcome amenities and exceptional service of our staff. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to Gran Hotel Ciudad de México.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We decided to stay in the Gran Hotel as a treat to round off an amazing 3-week tour of Mexico. The hotel surpassed all our expectations- it was an amazing experience to stay in such a wonderful place, centrally located in CDMX. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were looked after by the staff, who made us feel very welcome- with a complementary glass of champagne, and some interesting facts about the beautiful lobby area from the concierge. I made a booking mistake when arranging our stay a few months ago, and this was dealt with efficiently by the check-in staff, who even managed an upgrade to a room that overlooked the Zocalo. The room was equally as grand as the rest of the hotel, with a huge comfortable bed- spotlessly clean, and everything we needed to relax on our final night in Mexico. We ate a late afternoon meal on the 4th floor terrace, which had an amazing view across the central plaza, and out across the city. It was reasonably expensive, but well worth it. Breakfast was served at the ground floor restaurant, and it included a tasty buffet, eggs, and plenty of coffee. I’ve been to a few hotels where there’s more choice at the breakfast buffet- but the quality here was superb. As our flight home was reasonably late- the excellent Gaby, Manuel, and Javier arranged to store our luggage so that we could spend a few hours exploring CDMX- rounding off the whole experience nicely.

Room tip: Views of El Zocalo are great (so recommend that option), but as the building is as central CDMX- there is a bit of background city noise.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Colint,

We are so delighted to read your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay where you could appreciate every aspect of the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México. We are pleased to know that the room, the location, the welcome amenities, the delicious breakfast and the Terraza restaurant were beyond your expectations. Our staff will always be attentive, polite and friendly at any time. We will be honored to see you again and continue to create together memorable moments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Gran Hotel is an architectural jewel in the heart of the Zocalo directly on the Plaza de la Constitucion and offers an excellent choice when visiting CDMX (that's short for Mexico City). If you can recall the opening sequence in the latest James Bond movie "Spectre", the hotel that Bond and his lady friend enter is this hotel, the Gran Hotel, where the couple takes the bird cage elevator to the upper floors. The service was impeccable, the decor exquisite and the overall experience well worth the visit to this hotel. Of special note, I thank our driver "Super Mario" who provided exceptional service to us throughout our recent stay during the running of the Formula One Mexican Grand Prix.

Room tip: Must have room that faces onto the Plaza de la Constitucion...amazing vistas!!!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NR-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear guest,

We are so delighted to read your comments on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure that coming to the Gran Hotel Ciudad de México and having the opportunity to know the location where the “Spectre James Bond” movie was filmed was an unforgettable experience. All of our staff provides a truly unique service, Mario will feel so proud. We hope you would never forget this moment and think about being your first choice of hospitality in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The top restaurant ans bar has an excelent cocktail list with an amazing view to Zocalo square where all happens night and day. The staff is first class and they even let us take pictures in 007 movie spots.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Helena,

We appreciate your comments. We are so glad to know that the drinks as well as the view from La Terraza restaurant and the service from our staff were above and beyond your expectations. It would be a pleasure to see you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel a quiet oasis going back in time. Wonderful hospitable staff from the doormen to the maid staff. Huge, spacious comfortable rooms. Great value.
Spent a few hours catching up with family in a private nook area off lobby and it was like being in a private living room. Champagne on the house every afternoon! Very gracious and classy touch. The area is central to an open air market, cathedral and National Presidential Palace. Uber rides readily available to go anywhere else.
Hands down best value in area and so much more character than “chain” hotels.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mayacosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Mary,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write us such an amazing comment. We were glad to read this amazing comment about our property and staff. As you may know the lobby is really comfortable, the location is unique and rooms are wonderful. We are glad to know this experience with us has been memorable. It would be a pleasure to see you again at Gran Hotel Ciudad de México!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews