We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but you lose convenience for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Pedregal
Ranked #214 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This is located in a less gentrified section of MC near the hospital. While in expensive, the hotel isn't in a walking neighborhood or near any commerce of landmarks. The hotel was undergoing renovation, so my room was very noisy. The gym is located in one room, and only the bar/restaurant is open. The lobby is closed off. This wasn't optimal. The housekeeping staff was friendly but bottled water and coffee in the room weren;t replenished. The breakfast was quite good, and wait staff very friendly. Desk staff similarly anxious to plase.

Room Tip: High level due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mannonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2015

After reading the reviews, I was concerned that I would be staying at the Camino Real Pedregal. My experience was quite different, however. I found it to be a fine business hotel with reasonable service. The room was modest, but met most of my needs. My major complaint was that the lighting was bad and that it was difficult to read in bed and that the bed was very soft (not my preference). The staff were friendly and helpful.

I suspect that some of the concerns expressed in other reviews relate to the location. Unless you need to be in this part of Mexico City (to the South -- well away from the tourist attractions of the City), there's no particular reason to stay at this hotel. If you need to be in the South and have your own transportation, it's certainly an adequate, if modest, chain hotel. The price is right for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

I stayed at this hotel only because it's the closest one to the hospital which is why we were in Mexico City. Stayed a total of 12 nights.
- Expensive rate + everything is extra (water, coffee, wifi, and at a very high price).
- Paid for wifi in room which did not work (called 3 days each time to front desk no one was helpful and of course it was charged to our account).
- Bed sheets were dirty!!!! On about our 3rd night, maid change sheets and "cleaned" the room, she put dirty sheets, carpet had stains, glasses were never changed and we had different number of towels each day (one day we had hand towels, the next day we didn't).
- I stayed because we did surgery on our 4 month old baby, I stayed at the hospital the whole night (of course I did not sleep) came back at the hotel at 7am to sleep while my husband stayed at the hospital. I put the "do not disturb sign" and of course a maid knocked on my door to clean up the room. I told a front desk agent and they just said OK we will inform out staff... SERIOUSLY???
- Breakfast is really expensive, I asked for a juice with my breakfast and the server gave it to me just at the time when he picked up by last breakfast plate. So basically nothing to drink while eating.
- At about 5 or 6 pm each day a guy will knock on our door 3 times and then open the door (not even giving me time for me to get up from the chair and open the door) asking if the room had been cleaned.
If someone is asleep or in the bathroom there is no way they would have time to open the door.
The quality of this resort is VERY POOR.
Even if I have to come back to this hospital there is NO way I would stay at this hotel, I would rather pay for several taxis in one day than go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank k8oc8h8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro V, Director General at Camino Real Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest
I have received the complaint for what happened and we want to thank you for bringing to our attention the concern you had during your stay in our property.
As always guest feedback like yours is very important to us.
I honestly apologize for your discomfort.
Our priority at Camino Real Pedregal is to maintain a high level of Guest satisfaction, to offer excellent facilities and the best service to customers like you.
You can be sure, that the Hotel will give a serious assessment in all the situations you mentioned us.
We have already spoken to the staff involved in


Álvaro Vázquez
General Manager Camino Real Pedregal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. The service was excellent. Traffic outside the hotel can get very heavy and what should be a 5 minute ride can turn into 20. There are several shopping and dining destinations in the area, but none are within walking distance. Six Flags Mexico is nearby. The food served in the restaurant was good. Taxis in the area overcharge as does the hotel's private car if you choose to use it. Compared to the Camino Real in the airport, this one is many times better. As mentioned by other reviewers, everything at this hotel comes with a charge. Want to brew coffee in the morning? The coffee packets have price stickers on them. Wifi? It will cost you 144 pesos a day. The hotel staff is not at fault and do a very good job in spite of Camino Real's policies. The water at the hotel is purified and drinkable. I cannot give a hotel that charges for wifi and just about everything else that other hotels give away more than a 3 out of 5 rating. The next time I am in the area I will probably stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DoctorRMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro V, Director General at Camino Real Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, feedback is very important for improving our service and facilities.
I will personally review each detail and take actions.
Thank you again and hope to host you in the near future.

Alvaro Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This hotel is next door to a hospital and across a busy highway from the Federal Police headquarters. If you happen to experience a medical or law enforcement emergency while a guest at Camino Real Pedregal, you are perfectly located. In the absence of an emergency, however, it's the most remote, out-of-the-way, and inaccessible hotel in which I've ever stayed. A business client selected the hotel for me and others from Columbia, Venezuela, and Panama who had come to Mexico City for a workshop. For someone whose Spanish is weak guide book, the isolation was even greater because very few of the staff (front desk and dining room) spoke English. I ventured once into the City for sightseeing (see my review of the Mexico Turibus!) but the 45 minute taxi ride (plus the cost) deterred a second venture. Luckily, I had work to occupy my time because the hotel offered nothing (the exercise room was dark and forbidding!). My room was well-appointed for sleeping and working (although the view across the road of a huge construction site was off-putting). I tried walking but several blocks in either direction revealed neither restaurants nor shops. Unlike some others, I thought the hotel restaurant offered a reasonable variety of choices, prepared well, served attractively, and all quite tasty. The wine selection looked great but several of my choices were not available. I wasn't taken aback by the prices (but then, I was on an expense account). Alas, I was "sentenced" by my client to an uncomfortable five night stay at the Camino Real Pedregal!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank traveldean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Tlalpan
Royal Pedregal
Royal Pedregal
#140 of 312 in Mexico City
263 reviews
Pedregal Palace Hotel
#251 of 312 in Mexico City
44 reviews
Coyoacan
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
#51 of 312 in Mexico City
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tlalpan
Radisson Paraiso Hotel Mexico City
City Express Plus Periferico Sur...
#177 of 312 in Mexico City
12 reviews
Coyoacan
One Ciudad de Mexico Periferico Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Pedregal

Address: Periferico Sur 3647, Col Heroes De Padierna, Mexico City 10700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $96 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Pedregal 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Pedregal is near PERISUR mall 15 minutes away by car, where you can go shopping, go to the movies or enjoy the many types of restaurants . Pedregal Plaza has only different types of restaurants, by car is 15 minutes away Plaza Loreto is perfect for a nightlife, it is only 25 minutes away by car, it has different types of bars where you can enjoy walking to nowher with family or friends. We dont recommend walkint to nowhere cause places are not close. The BICE BISTRO Restaurant with international variety specializing in Italian food, open from Sunday to Monday from 6:00 a.M. To 1:00 a.M.. And Thursday to Saturday from 6am to 2am. WIFI FREE Maria Bonita is a Mexican food restaurant Bar open Monday to Saturday from 1pm to 1am. We have a fitness area open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camino Real Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Pedregal Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Pedregal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing