We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
1
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
1
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The place is pretty and clean but it seems like there is construction going on throughout the property so you will find materials all over. When we arrived our room wasn't ready and for the next couple of days I had to continuously ask for different items that were missing from the room. From trash cans to bath towels to hot water. If you are a patient person and is willing to work with the hotel then you are fine because the people who work here are so so so nice and always willing to assist you and work with you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovequito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My girlfriend and I drove into Oaxaca just after dark in a deluge of rain with no hotel reservations, checked a couple of hotels that were full, and then pulled up to the Hotel Colon (just saw it and stopped), and they had rooms available...and by this time about any room at any price would have been suitable (read: long, stressful drive!).
(*NOTE: The name of the hotel at present is Hotel Colon. In the previous review, they list it as a B & B, definitely not the case.) Anyway, I parked the car (inside & gratis), got our room key (650 pesos = approx $60 US), walked through the big open marble courtyard with fountain, up the marble stairs and into our room. Everything was very nice, big bathroom and shower, new hardwood floors, newer furniture (could have used a bigger bed), and everything was sparkling clean. The place was a delight!

A further note, the hotel was definitely not a full service type establishment (i.e. no restaurant, bar, shops, etc.). However, they do have Wi-Fi, and as we sat in the courtyard the next morning checking out info on the web, the woman in charge asked and brought us out a carafe of coffee (also gratis). We stayed 2 nights, and if we were staying longer it would have been there. The location was 4 blocks from the Zocalo, and within 6 blocks of 2 of the major markets (mercados), and 2 blocks from an ATM.

Another, interesting place was the little "dive bar" across the street, "Los Cocos Bar". Definitely a locals place, 6 bars stools and maybe 6 tables! What fun! We met taxi drivers and other regulars, and the proprietors. Don Pepe and Gloria were the nicest folks. We spent a bit of time there both evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_V_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This new boutique hotel (it's not really a B&B) is close to the zocalo--only about 4 blocks away on a quiet street. It's a grand old house that the owner, Gloria and her two daughters are renovating, so it has the grand interior patio, etc. There are about a dozen rooms. The rooms are clean and large--ask for one with a window, though, as the air in Oaxaca is perfect for sleeping.

Gloria really was accommodating--even found a place to do our laundry on a holiday, and brought it there herself.

Rooms are all newly furnished. Plenty of hot water. Cable TV. No internet. Oaxaca is generally expensive for hotel accommodation so this was a nice find with two beds for under $100.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCWriterChiriqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews