We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$300
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaina Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Azul Cielo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$42
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Gubidxa(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$93
US$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Angel Youth Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$23
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
3
10
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
10
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Cazomalli for 3 nights in Oct 2011. There a some good features about this hotel - firstly it is very warm and homey with it's internal courtyard decorations and greenery. It had a real original, unique stamp on it, and you felt like you were in someone's home, not a generic, bland hotel. The rooftop terrace is just lovely with views up to the mountains, or over the surrounding streets, which give a nice insight into every day life in Oaxaca.

It is a short walk into town, my partner and I didn't find this to be a problem, but be aware that it isn't right in the centre of things. There were plenty of internet cafes, little convenience stores and laundries in the immediate vicinity. In some ways, it is actually nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre.

One shortcoming of this hotel is it is very noisy. It is right behind a church that rings very loud bells very frequently. At first, this was charming but after a while, it is, well, noisy. We had a room on the 2nd floor and there was always noise like furniture being moved, loud voices, etc - often quite early in the morning. We were the only guests staying there over that period, so I would hate to think how noisy it would be full of guests. Thankfully I had earplugs - I think you will need them if you stay here.

The rooms themselves were nice and decorated in cheerful colours and artwork, with a functional bathroom and television.

One annoying feature of this hotel is that you have to hand in your room key each time you leave, so whenever you want to come back in to the hotel, you have to ring the doorbell from outside on the street, and it often takes a bit of time for someone to answer. Then they have to fish out your room key from behind the desk. Its annoying because you also feel like you are interrupting them each time you do it, and I see no reason why you can't be given your own front door access key, as other hotels do.

But overall this was a pleasant hotel and a good option, if perhaps a teeny bit overpriced for it's features.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazomalli h, Gerente at Hotel Cazomalli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank's for you opinion will be a pleasure to welcome when you decided back in this your home.
greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

The is generally a nice friendly hotel.
However at the end of a ten day stay they charged us double the agreed price and an extra night. We showed them the confirmatory e mail and they agreed to drop it to this level. However we don't know how they arrived at their original demand as it didn't tally with any of their published prices.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tennis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We went to Cazomalli with no expectations and were very pleased with what we found. The rooms were spotlessly clean and attended to everyday by friendly staff. My Mum wanted to change from the ground floor ( a bit noisy) and they were very obliging. The terrace was a great place to sit and read, admire the views and watch the world go by. The interior of the hotel was just as nice, lots of plants and crafts around a central courtyard.
The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and invited us to watch the semana santa procession.
It is situated in a quiet neighborhood about 15 minutes walk from the centre so don't stay if you don't want to explore.The owner was also very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel 6 nights over Semana Santa 2008. Got the address from Lonely Planet and booked the room over the phone in Spanish 2 weeks in advance, confimed the same day, worked great. The hotel is 2 blocks outside the center, so the airport minibus rates double to 70 Pesos pp, better to take a cab for 100 pesos from right outside the airport. Watch out it is 280 Pesos for the minibus if there is nobody to share.

Extremely nice reception, very nice, extremely clean room, beautifully remade every day. 1st floor, a bit noisy at night. Very nice interior courtyard with plants. Some very minor things were fixed immediately. CNN reception was not great,we did not complain. Some wireless internet (maybe from the neighbors) sporadically available. Breakfast on the rooftop with nice views, but not much to see. Breakfast rather expensive by Oaxaca standards, 50-60 Pesos pp for quite average fare, but very friendly service. No menu, a bit hard to order in English (my girlfriend speaks no Spanish).

On the last morning the female owner completely screwed up our very good impression of the place. She first charged my girlfriend 5 Pesos for calling a taxi (not very generous after a 6 day stay, her husband had done it for free a couple of days earlier), then suggested to her to take us to the airport for 150 Pesos. When I canceled this (a cab is only 100 Pesos), she refused to call a cab and sent us with our baggage out to the cobblestones to pick one up a cab on the Avenue. Apparently, Semana Santa was over and it was all back into the old greed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Jetfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights over the Day of the Dead period and just loved! In fact we can't wait to go back!

The room was a decent size and nicely appointed. New televisions had been installed with some cable channels available.

The bedheads were hand carved and painted, they were quite spectacular.

The bathroom wasn't amazing but it did it's job, we never had any problems with hot water which was great. There was no air conditioning in the room but the fan worked well.

Although we used the safe for the first few days, once we got to know the people working there we weren't really bothered with locking it.

The owners really are the high point of staying at the Cazomalli. Francisco and Marina ensure you a welcome and comfortable stay. The booked us our tours and always gave us great recommendations on things to do and see.

The cobblestone street is very cute and quiet. About a 10 minute walk from the zocalo ensures you a nice place to finish your day away from the hustle and bustle.

Our days began with a full and hearty breakfast on the rooftop where we could observe the locals going about their day, the dogs wondering the street and the breathtaking mountains around us. For breakfast we were treated to rich coffee, mexican style scrambled eggs, fruit with granola, toast with strawberry preserve and burritos.

Their are a few churches, restaurants and a graveyard near by as well as a big park it is a very good area to be in around day of the dead.

On the eve of the day of the dead, Marina and Francisco invited us to dinner with them where we ate home made chicken tamales in mole sauce, bread of the dead and drank mezcal and hot chocolate. After dinner Francisco took us to the nearby town of Xoxo to the cemetary and gave us flowers to place on abandoned graves.

While we were staying in a hotel we had the service of a bed and breakfast. We knew the employees by name and they were very friendly and helpful. They did not speak fluent english but spoke enough to help us with whatever we needed.

We will definitely be returning to the Hotel Cazomalli. I have missed it since the day I left.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RoughRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews