We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$51
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$178
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Azul Cielo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Trebol(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anturium Hotel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Arisa(Oaxaca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
67
10
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
10
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurthost familythe main houseevery morningcentre of townlovely hostscab ridememorable stayhot dishquiet at nightbeautiful roomrooms are spaciousb and bsmall poola great stayhot waterminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Pretty much what everyone else has said. Well appointed large rooms. Traditional Oaxacan breakfast with Juan, a Knowledgeable author on the Mixteca culture. Unless you have pesos to spare do not let your wife ask Rebecca where she got her beautiful outfits.... Bonus!! We got to experience a 7.2 earthquake! DEFINITELY WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaOaxaca201, Gerente at Hotel Villa Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review Thomas, we are glad you think of your expierience with the earthquake as a bonus hehe.
We enjoyed your company at breakfast and would definetly be glad to have you here again anytime soon!

Rebeca López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

...the proprietor of Hotel Villa Oaxaca was the highlight of our entire trip. Juan Arturo López Ramos previously served as Secretary of Tourism for the state of Oaxaca, and breakfast with him each morning was fascinating. May you be as lucky as we were to have him 'all to ourselves', as we did in the slack season, mid-January. He is a fount of knowledge regarding Oaxacan culture and history--and a most gracious host.

The property? Just as depicted on various websites. The rooms are spacious, the breakfasts "local" and abundant. Oaxaca was experiencing a 'cold snap,' so we did not use the pool. But we did move our room first day to take advantage of the charming "interior" (i.e., pool) courtyard view. Our balcony was huge and sunny. New stones were being set (by hand) in the exterior courtyard, and that larger space should be glorious when spring blossoms arrive. The entire space is very, very secure.

Hotel Villa Oaxaca is on a very quiet hillside, removed from the city center by a seventy- or eighty-peso cab ride. Taxi (collectivo) was 240 pesos from the airport for the two of us.

Juan was inspired to go into the 'hotel business' by the hospitality he and his family had received from others on their own travels. He is paying that back a hundred-fold. Again, Juan, thank you for a most memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that is on the "interior" courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaOaxaca201, Gerente at Hotel Villa Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you Tim for those beautiful words and remarkable review!
We are glad to know you enjoyed so much your stay at Villa Oaxaca, our mission is to make our guests feel at home, and enjoy a local and peaceful experience in Oaxaca. We hope you can come back to this amazing city!

Rebeca López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My daughter and I spent a week enjoying the hospitality of Hotel Villa Oaxaca. What enables it to be a relaxing retreat is also what makes it somewhat problematic, which is its distance from the center of town. If you can handle having to take a taxi into town and dealing with the hassle of nowhere close-by to eat dinner, then the benefits are abundant and can include: a spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed and large tiled bath, access to the house swimming pool and terrace, a different gourmet breakfast every morning accompanied by conversation with the family, three friendly dogs to interact with, and a beautiful view of the valley with the sound of birds singing in the mornings. Besides the aforementioned transportation issue, beware that, although there is enough hot water, the water pressure is quite low. Having said that, I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Rose room has a private terrace with a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelfiend60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The owners were very gracious and helpful. We had to change our reservations several times and were accomadated with ease. Although this lovely garden villa is not downtown, taxis are easy to catch ( also the owners will call a taxi to pick you up), and cost about $3.00 US dollars to go downtown.
Rooms are quite large and ours could easily sleep four people. wonderful place!

Room Tip: We preferred the downstairs rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I522TTjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We thoroughly loved our stay at Villa Oaxaca. The host family was very friendly and available to talk or ask questions to. The pool was a perfect delight for the kids after their Spanish classes each day (we attended Amigos del Sol, a 10 minute walk from here). It was quiet and calm here, the perfect antidote to being downtown as a tourist. The best part of our stay were the beautiful breakfasts prepared each day by Juanita. Rebekah, the daughter, teaches yoga 2 evenings/week on site, and Juan Arturo, the father, is an expert in indigenous Mixteco culture. Make sure you take advantage of these resources when you're there! We stayed in the Pink Room and loved it, they even added a bed so 3 of us could stay there comfortably. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Oaxaca! Oh, I forgot to mention the wonderful service of airport pick up they also included for no charge! And, they will happily help you set up whatever local tour guide you might need.

Room Tip: Pink room is the only one in the main house, and has wonderful views from the terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annikamito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews