We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
116
49
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
49
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews designed beautifully wedding planning beautiful hotel green juice frijoles rooftop bar few blocks main sights rooms are comfortable air conditioner nice room walking distance central courtyard francisco cactus tlayuda privacy
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Hotel Azul is perfectly located between the Church of Santo Domingo de Guzmán and the Zocalo and close to many wonderful cafes and restaurants. We stayed in Suite Villalobos which was very lovely, great amenities, but unfortunately very noisy. The suites surround the restaurant courtyard so conversations of staff and patrons are particularly audible. I believe it is no fault of the hotel but simply the architecture. The staff is wonderful and could not have been any more attentive.

Room tip: Would recommend a suite over a standard room. Bring earplugs if light sleeper.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment and for having chosen the Hotel Azul for you recent stay in Oaxaca.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the service offered by our staff. I will forward your kind comments to all of them.


Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Friederike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel itself looked very nice, but the courtyard was barren and very dark for a party. The food served was okay, and the mescal excellent. The attendees were interesting, though. I'd go here again.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2015

Dear Suzela,

Thank you very much for your comment.
I am not sure which party you attended however I assume it must have been the Oaxaca Film Fest. Please be informed that every year we host a party for the Oaxaca Film Fest as a courtesy as it is our companie´s culture to help and support students and/or culture events in Oaxaca.

We hope to see you at the Oaxaca Film Fest next year!

Best,
Friederike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed at Hotel Azul for 5 nights and had a terrific experience. The service was wonderful and particularly helpful were Nancy at the reception and Sara at the restaurant. We arrived very early on our first day at 8am, well before check in time. We were told if the room was available at the time we could have checked in early but it would not be ready until 2pm as the hotel was fully booked. However we were offered complimentary breakfast that morning which we were very happy about. The breakfast food was delicious. On the weekends they serve a buffet with local delicacies and on weekdays we could order complimentary local and western items off of the menu.

The staff provided us with excellent restaurant suggestions for lunch and dinner outside of the hotel though they also serve lunch and dinner at their restaurant.

Our room was spotlessly clean and came with a complimentary hat and shawl which was a nice touch. Lovely terrace as well.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I have shared your review with the entire staff and it makes them very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards from the team at Hotel Azul
Friederike Schaefer-Wildenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and had a relaxing time at azul, great breakfast in the courtyard and a short walk to the main walking street. We had a lovely room on the upper floor. Some of the best food of our trip here. Many restaurants nearby and the great gardens are well worth the visit

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brownkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Azul for your recent stay in Oaxaca and for your kind feedback.

It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Friederike Schaefer-Wildenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is well located but the accommodations are anything of what I expected
The lighting at the room is terrible it looks like they forgot it and at the end they put something over the closet, you can't even find the switch to turn it off
The air conditioning is over the same closet and is directed directly to the bed that is terrible because you have to turn it off to sleep

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melchor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Melchor,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel Azul during your resent visit to Oaxaca.

We are sorry not to meet your expectations and we will certainly take your comments into consideration. Your observations help us to improve our facilities and our services every day.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards from Oaxaca,
Friederike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews