We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$280
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaina Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Azul Cielo Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$42
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Gubidxa(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$93
US$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Angel Youth Hostel(Oaxaca)(Great Value!)
US$23
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
94
64
15
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
64
15
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfussy sleepersmall flight of stairsgreat locationlovely daysgracious staffcontinental breakfastattractive hotelbig bathroomdeluxe roomroom numbercentral courtyardtwo blocksthe main squarefront desk staffwalked everywherenice roomloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely place, full of magic and nostalgic tradition. I will come back every time To this beautiful place. Great Service, excellent Food. Very clean and nice. An old construction rebuild with The perfect escence of a oaxaqueñan grandmother house. It has a Very cute decoration with a great taste.
Very recomendable.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Beatrix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion S, Gerente at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Dear Beatrix
It´s really beatifull when a guest just sees all the little details we work so hard on bringing to the sofisticated eye. It´s the warmness of a grand mother house what we try to give our guests, Doña Vicky´s cooking reminds us that every day. We´ll be very happy to see again, remember to aply your frecuent client program

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

The hotel is in a perfect location. It has character and a very warm, inviting decor. Rooms are comfortable, good size, clean and they have a coffeemaker. Used to prepared my cup of coffee and take it with me to the inside patio whilst reading my emails first thing in the morning, it makes you feel at home. Employees are very friendly and willing to please you. Service at the restaurant is on the slow side but quality of food and drinks are good. If you don't want to wait there are at least three restaurants and coffee shops less than half a block from the hotel. Will definitely go back and recommend it.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ALEUNNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion S, Gerente at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Very dear Alleuna:
We thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion. We work every day on new ideas of decor and amenities to put in the rooms to make them more beautiful and comfortable for our guests. We were very happy to receive your visit and expect to see you again, I´d like to remind you of our regular costumer program that includes discounts and other benefits like express check in and late check out, it´s also transferable in case you know someone that wants to come. We are working to improve our services at the restaurant, we recently hired more waiters to make it faster, since the problem is definitely not on Doña Vicky´s amazing cuisine, I´m very glad you enjoyed it, that´s what makes our job so beatifull
Best regards. Bernardo Sada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

I just loved this hotel! The staff were probably the friendliest I have ever come across in a hotel. They were all just great. There is very little, if any, English spoken. Fortunately I could speak Spanish but I am not sure how you would get by if you don't speak Spanish, but they really try hard.

Our room was lovely, really spacious. Food and drinks were great. The courtyard is lovely for breakfast, aperitif or dinner. Great location. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArtemisLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion S, Gerente at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2015

Dear Artemis
It´s really nice to hear your comments. Staff at Casa de Sierra Azul is very happy to work here, this is clear in the friendliness they always show. It´s easy to be happy in a place like this. All of the staff is now taking English lessons, so that our English speaking costumers feel more at home, for the moment I´m the only one speaking fluent English and I´m at the hotel facilities from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm and from 5 pm to 11:00 pm. Next time you visit just ask for me at front desk and I´ll be happy to answer all your questions in English! I would also like to remind you of our frequent costumer program that will be applied to you on your next trip, it includes, discount, express check in, late checkout and other benefits.
Regards, Bernardo Sada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

What a great little hotel ( 17 rooms) . Just returned from there . Its 2 blocks from the main square and surrounded by all kinds of restaurants, boutiques, bars/coffee places and the like. We stayed in room #4 and it was great. Big bathroom, air, etc. Food and staff went above and beyond. You can walk to the main square, the main market, and ALL that is a must see in the center of town. Super affordable. Will stay there again on next visit.

Room Tip: #4 is where we stayed, on ground floor and off of the central terras. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bajajulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion S, Gerente at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2015

Dear Julio
Indeed our location is something special, two blocks away from Main Square (zocalo) and half a block away from Ex covento de San Pablo. Room 4 is decorated by interior designer Alonso Leño Sada, wood artist. Staff here is gret we are all very happy to work in such an amazing place, we feel lucky to receive guests that enjoy the good things in life such as yourself. For your next visit you can apply for the frecuent costumer program, this includes many benefits, like express check in, late check out, discounts and others. See you when you come back.
Regards, Bernardo Sada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed for a week in a courtyard room, #12. It was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Though it lacked a window (the street side windows have been blocked off), we didn't mind because of the very pleasant courtyard. Some details are not quite what we might have hoped -- wifi was spotty in our room and the cleaning staff seemed to skim over the bathroom some days. But overall, we recommend it.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike1960walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIERRAAZUL, Gerente at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Dear Mike, some of the challenges one faces when being instelled in a 19th century building is the very thick walls. This detail a side of making the location unique and historical blocks the wifi signal in some rooms, we are working on the solution for we want our guests to be as comfortable as possible. We thank your comment and will make sure to notice your opinion to our cleaning staff and improve this service. Hope to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews