We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great experience”
Review of Hostel Miramar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Miramar
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We had a fabulous 4 nights at Hostel Miramar. The owners are delightful and gave us great recommendations on restaurants, places to see, etc. We have 2 small kids and the shared refrigerator/kitchen meant we could serve the kids breakfast before heading out for a day of sightseeing, which was great. The location was fantastic - just a short walk from center of town and easy to get to the pedestrian streets.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikandET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed few nights. It was clean and friendly (also speaking english). We talked to some other people who stayed also in some other places. They also gave high credist to this place. If you do not need special comfort - highly recommendable. I would stay next time there as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed one night in a hostel close to the Miramar but it was really loud. So we saw the sign of the Miramar while going downtown and stopped by...There, we paid only 200 pesos, which is like 20$ canadian (almost the same as our hostel), for a night for 2 people in a conventional room, very clean, renovated, with TV and plenty of hot water. The hotel (because it's more like a motel than a hostal), was very quiet because the rooms are behind the house of the owners, not on the street. By the way, the owners, Manuel and his wife were very sympathic and helpful. It gave us a glimpse of living in a Mexican family. Also, beside, there's a lavanderia who offers fair prices and it's about three blocks from the main streetwalk. We stayed two nights at the Miramar and we highly recommend this hotel! If we go back, we'll surely stay at the Miramar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheresmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hostel Miramar. It is a hostel, not a hotel but it was really clean, the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful (although being able to speak Spanish is an advantage - our Spanish isn´t great and we did fine), and best of all, it is quiet (well as quiet as you get in Mexico). We paid 200 pesos for our room with private bath and felt it was really good value for money. The owners were also happy to look after our luggage until our overnight bus left even though we had to check out of our rooms. Overall, a good choice if you stay in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

The people at Hostel Miramar are so nice, that's the first thing that stands out about the place. It started as a family home and the owner, Manuel, began building units to house guests. It's not really a hostel in the sense of shared accommodation but more like a small and cozy hotel. Each room now has it's own private bathroom and they are private units not dorms. I was there to do some cultural research work and they went out of their way to provide me with all the services I needed to get things done, including access to high speed internet via wireless or cable.
They are also very knowledgeable about the area and it's cultural and political history. Frida has a degree in Anthropology so she has some real insights into the area from that perspective.
I can't speak highly enough about this place and the people who operate it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chethrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 km away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
2.9 km away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
220 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
101 reviews
0.4 km away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Miramar

Address: Calle Flavio a. Paniagua 29, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 122 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $27 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Miramar San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing