We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$141
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Casa Morada(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$95
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guayaba Inn(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Santa Lucia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Escaleras by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$131
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Lum(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puerta Vieja Hostel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/08
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nuik B&B(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$244
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/08
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
5
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed few nights. It was clean and friendly (also speaking english). We talked to some other people who stayed also in some other places. They also gave high credist to this place. If you do not need special comfort - highly recommendable. I would stay next time there as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed one night in a hostel close to the Miramar but it was really loud. So we saw the sign of the Miramar while going downtown and stopped by...There, we paid only 200 pesos, which is like 20$ canadian (almost the same as our hostel), for a night for 2 people in a conventional room, very clean, renovated, with TV and plenty of hot water. The hotel (because it's more like a motel than a hostal), was very quiet because the rooms are behind the house of the owners, not on the street. By the way, the owners, Manuel and his wife were very sympathic and helpful. It gave us a glimpse of living in a Mexican family. Also, beside, there's a lavanderia who offers fair prices and it's about three blocks from the main streetwalk. We stayed two nights at the Miramar and we highly recommend this hotel! If we go back, we'll surely stay at the Miramar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheresmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hostel Miramar. It is a hostel, not a hotel but it was really clean, the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful (although being able to speak Spanish is an advantage - our Spanish isn´t great and we did fine), and best of all, it is quiet (well as quiet as you get in Mexico). We paid 200 pesos for our room with private bath and felt it was really good value for money. The owners were also happy to look after our luggage until our overnight bus left even though we had to check out of our rooms. Overall, a good choice if you stay in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

The people at Hostel Miramar are so nice, that's the first thing that stands out about the place. It started as a family home and the owner, Manuel, began building units to house guests. It's not really a hostel in the sense of shared accommodation but more like a small and cozy hotel. Each room now has it's own private bathroom and they are private units not dorms. I was there to do some cultural research work and they went out of their way to provide me with all the services I needed to get things done, including access to high speed internet via wireless or cable.
They are also very knowledgeable about the area and it's cultural and political history. Frida has a degree in Anthropology so she has some real insights into the area from that perspective.
I can't speak highly enough about this place and the people who operate it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chethrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We arrived by bus in San Cristobal de Las Casas without a reservation and asked a taxi driver to take us to an economical hotel on a quiet street. He dropped us at a hotel which we thought too expensive. Up the road I could see a little sign that said "Hotel". It was the Miramar and turned out to be wonderful.

The hotel is built around the home of Manuel and Frida, and their children, Manuel and Frida, Jrs. plus several older relatives. The hotel offers two types of rooms. Doubles with private bath for $250.00 pesos or doubles with shared bath for $180.00 pesos. There is an outdoor kitchen for guests to use, with fridge, stove, sink, pots, pans, etcetc. A long table under a tarp gives shelter from the sun or rain. A circular staircase leads to the roof which offers fantastic panoramic views of the city.

Our room had a comfortable king sized bed, small table and two chairs and a small but clean bathroom. There was even a shower curtain. Manuel closes and locks a large wooden door at night to provide extra security. There is access for guests who wish to stay out later at night.

Laundry and internet services are available at a reasonable cost.
Tours with the family in their van are also offered.

The family is very friendly and helpful. When my husband lost his wallet, they helped us find the phone numbers for his credit cards and let us use the phone. Manuel speaks some English but will speak very slow, simple Spanish if you wish to practice.

This hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo. We felt safe in the neighbourhood at night. If you enjoy simple, local hotels, this is a great one!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IslandGrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews