We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This hotel has a great location! The staff is very friendly, the room is not that big but not small either. Hot water, no problem. It's a colonial type hotel. The safety box did not work but there was no need. I carried everything with me as the town is safe. The only complaint that I have about this hotel is that I could hear the conversations of the other guests. There was a sign on every hallway that said " please be quiet" but the guests were noisy

Room Tip: Up stairs less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Letty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The hotel is on Andador Guadeloupano (one of the main streets in San Cristobal) - great location with lots of bars and shops close by.

The rooms are a bit tight in erms of size but there is a great courtyard (however, sometimes in the mornings some of the other guests hung out there and made quite a racket without consideration for other guests).

The wifi is slightly sketchy

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peripateticously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel! It can get noisy with inconsiderate guests at night but the hotel itself was great! The roof top view was lovely, we had one of the rooftop rooms with a beautiful sunset view. There is a lovely cafe as you walk out of the hotel, to the left a few doors up to have breakfast and the town, well you're basically in it. Beds were very comfy and wifi worked well. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Hotel Casa Margarita is in a great location. Our room was located on the 2nd level and was large and clean although a little dark. There was no safe but there was 24 hours coffee/tea available downstairs which we did not encounter anywhere else in Mexico. The WIFI only worked in the foyer on the ground floor but it was a lovely place to sit. A friend of ours had a room by the stairwell and said it was noisy so potentially avoid. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. After looking on Internet and asking in different hotels once I arrived to San Cristoabal this was the best choice to stay. It is very close downtown where the streets are so lively. They have some cheap price on their rooms and all of theri rooms are clean, colonial and beautiful.
People in front desk are very friendly and they can show you a room without staying, just for you to see if the place is what you are looking for.
I requested to stay in one of the 3 floor-quite places and the front desk person accepted without any extra charge. people that stay in the hotel were very respectful for people that want to sleep early and wake early to take an early tour. (it didint happen in some other noisy hotels where I stayed)
Just the rpoblem is that they do not have a good wifi, but the hotel is totally recomended if you want to keep touring and just stay at night.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not near the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FernandoN477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#42 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
34 reviews
0.2 km away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
161 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Provincia
Hotel Provincia
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
32 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
324 reviews
0.3 km away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#32 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Margarita

Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 34, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Margarita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Margarita San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing