We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Na Bolom
Nearby Hotels
Las Escaleras by Inmense(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$121
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guayaba Inn(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$100
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Hostel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Santa Lucia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal el Rincon de los Camellos(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Casa Gaia(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Puerta Vieja Hostel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nuik B&B(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$45
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$195
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
53
37
15
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
37
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrans blomresearch centerfree tourtwo nightsfranzmuseumartifactsfoundedlibraryfireplacepreservationmayachiapasjaguarinspirationacademicpesos
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The colonial vibe of this historic place is one of kind. Really friendly staff and beautiful surroundings! We stayed here for three nights which was an absolute joy. Thank you Na Bolom and of course Frans Blom ;) the founder of this place if understood it correctly

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in the museum and you get a free tour so you can't have a better way to see Casa Na Bolom than staying here. The hotel is clean and functional but basic. I highly recommend it! Make sure that you put your breakfast in the bill of the hotel and that you tell the people at checkout that breakfast is included. I did not do that so ended up paying for breakfast.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sheelm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Two nights two different rooms. Two very different experiences. Well worth it if you're staying in one of their suites w a fireplace. Here the rustic charm works and it's a pleasure. I don't recommend if you're staying in one of the basic rooms. The one I stayed in could use some TLC. I felt uncomfortable with the condition of the bathroom, the scratches on the door, the musty smell, the shared wall w a public bathroom and the holes in the curtain. On the other hand if you prefer charm and history over solid construction and clean finishes then you will be happy here. It's a beautiful property and I can understand why guests might want to turn a blind eye to these blemishes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shachta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My wife ane I stayed five nights at this classic piece of history in San Cristobal. We stayed in the Oxchuc room, which is in the back of building. We fell in love with this hotel/musuem as soon as we walked through the main entrance. Everything on the inside is a piece of history - photographs, library, and dining area. We listened to a great pianist, Seth Montfort, and met very nice travelers from all over the world. Our room was very cute - the bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and hot. Breakfast was on-point and the coffee was spectacular. San Cristobal is an amazing historic city and I would highly recommond Na Bolom to anyone who was going to visit Chiapas.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Na Bolom takes your breath away with the history behind the hotel and cultural center, founded by 2 Europeans more than 60 years ago. Since then Na Bolom have supported the local indigenous population in numerous ways and there is an interesting museum and a big library available with a lot of unique books and writings on lacandon jungle and indigenous population and maya cultures available for the public, many books on these subjects were written by the founders. The hotel is cosy and the rooms have the charm and uniqueness of having been private rooms of Frans and Trudy the founders long time ago, we were so lucky to stay in Trudy's study room. They have an excellent cook and food is delicious and the attention of waiters and people working there is always very nice and personal. There are many volunteers working there and helping Na Bolom and without their dedication and guests visiting the museum and hotel this amazing hotel and cultural center could not go on. We highly highly recommend you visit Na Bolom to go in the footsteps of Frans and Trudy and support the great deeds that Na Bolom has done and continue to do. It is a really charming and beautiful place with a special historic feel.

1  Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews