We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
41
43
24
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
43
24
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main square continental breakfast pool area suite balcony street town pesos mexico cathedral furniture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We went as a big group over the puente and had a great time.

Rooms are nice and big - all had stunning views over the pool and of the cathedral. Lots of furniture meant that we could relax in the rooms and one of the rooms even had a fridge so we could keep our beers cold.

Breakfast - not great. The “free” breakfast is basically yogurt, papaya, coffee and granola. You have to pay 100 pesos for the buffet which had mixed reviews from those who had it. They had a lot of traditional Mexican foods but I would probably recommend having breakfast elsewhere. The terrace is lovely though.

Pool - absolutely freezing as it is in the shade 95% of the day. Not recommended but we enjoyed relaxing by it when the sun was out in the morning.

Location - very good. 5min walk from main square.

Atmosphere - quiet when we were there.

Not disabled friendly, we were on the top floor and there was a hell of a lot of steps to the room. No lift.

We had a good stay here and the rooms were great but they need to allow more light into the pool area and be a bit more friendly at the front desk and on the terrace.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I went with my family and stayed for two nights. This was my first visit to Taxco. Getting to the hotel is a bit complex due to the narrow of the streets but all are so it is the same for all town. The rooms are very simple and with minimal details but comfortable. No AC in the room or phone. Think in summer time must be hard to face the warm weather. They say you have a Continental breakfast included in the fare but it is really a discount what you get in the breakfast buffet daily offered. The restaurant has a gorgeous view of the town. Breakfast buffet is not the best but have to say they have a great coffee. The location is the best of this hotel since you are 10 min. away from Santa Prisca by walking. Good option definitely.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 358humbertoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This is our second time here and sadly we are not coming back. The first time it was so good we even recommended it, thus we came back.
The staff at reception is not customer oriented at all, they are even rude.
We complained about our mattress... it was awful, they also gave us a little room something like a whites closet. Awful.
The only good thing is the terrace and the waiting staff over there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leonora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I stayed in Posada San Javier while taking a course at the University of Mexico in Taxco for a month. It has nice rooms, pleasant people and was a great place to stay. It is in a central place in Taxco, but not in the very center so it is quiet. You can easily walk to the central square.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have views of the church
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I stayed in a suite with a large balcony overlooking the pool. It is not a flash hotel but the doors opening onto the balcony gave views of the mountains and the cathedral. Breakfast was included and served in the restaurant with fabulous views. I also had dinner there. The Santa Semana parade went right past the hotel. I enjoyed my experience.

Room Tip: Although noisy on the weekend, suites overlooking the pool have great views.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews