We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As noisy at night as if you were in a pub”
Review of Casa de las Palmas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taxco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de las Palmas
Ranked #2 of 16 Taxco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Knowing that sleeping with silence in Mexico is a difficult task, we chose to book the house inside the compound because the reviews claimed it was quiet, unlike the rooms facing the street. When we returned from our visit to Taxco at around 8:30 pm, we were glad of our choice, because there was a party with loud music in the house next door. We thought that the noise could not reach the house where we would stay.

What an unhappy surprise when we got to our rooms and heard the music coming from a scandalous bar just above the hotel. I'm not kidding when I say it felt like the bar was inside our room. The loud music lasted until three in the morning and this was the first time that the ear plugs were not enough to avoid the noise (besides the constant vibration of the bed because of that noise). The thick walls that some reviewers mention did not seem to be sufficient to stop the music. They should have given us that night for free. I would not come back there even if they paid me. Who wants to pay for a room when you cannot sleep in it because of the noise?

Unless you want to party until 3 pm (the pub above offers the music for free), I strongly recommend not to book in this hotel. A pitty because it's a wonderful place but not for sleeping.

Room Tip: Noise everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenGilmer, Owner at Casa de las Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

The fellow that runs the internet cafe above us had assured us that he would control the noise after 10:00 pm. He has not held to that promise, and the neighbors and our staff have taken the problem to both the building owners and the authorities who assure us it is or has been dealt with. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December 2013 for several days. Now I wish we had spent our entire vacation in Taxco! Rikki arranged transportation for us from the Mexico City Airport. We decided to do this because we arrived on Christmas Day, and have had problems with public transportation on major holidays in the past. When we arrived the caretaker's (Oscar) son was waiting with a sign. They had arranged a very comfortable suburban to transport us. Oscar's son spoke perfect English, and he and the driver were very solicitous about asking if we wanted to stop for food, drinks, bathroom, shopping, etc on the way to Taxco. Once we arrived at the house we met Oscar. The trip to Casa de las Palmas would have been worth it just to meet Oscar. A delightful person. We had rented the entire property so that we could have it to ourselves, and it was fabulous. Absolutely gorgeous grounds, furnishings, and a view that you have to see to believe. I want to live here! Oscar prepared coffee and bread/pastries for us each morning, when he heard us stirring around. Also, one day Oscar took us on a tour around town, and out to the Spratling Ranch. He was focused on making sure we had a good time. It is true that at night you can hear some music from a house /club above the house somewhere, but I did not find this overly loud or disturbing. I look forward to the day I can return to this beautiful home and Oscar's hospitality in Taxco. I do not think you could be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

No tv in mbr; No king bed in mbr.
Great terrace but uncomfortable furniture resulted in not being used.
Furniture in general is uncomfortable, dated and needs to be replaced.
Grounds are immaculate.
Cleanliness and service are top notch.
Great location.
Spacious house.
Common / shared kitchen is nice.
Noisy location. Be aware that there is a bar above the property with a balcony overlooking the back courtyard into the property and during the holidays the music was loud, you could here the people, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SymnCwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenGilmer, Owner at Casa de las Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

The furniture is "period" from the golden days of Taxco, a mix of antiques and mexican mid century. We have added some interesting patio pieces since your review. The flat screen TV is in the main living area, not in the master bedroom. Oscar has informed me that the "Internet Cafe" that was causing problems has been shut down or is operating on a very restricted basis. I would like to refresh the 'equipale' furniture on that patio, which has a half life of around 2 seasons. Will work on it. Thanks for the constructive critique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We spent a long weekend at the appropriately named Casa de las Palmas located near the center of historic Taxco. This was our second visit to this lovely town; the first was spent at a busy hotel next to the Zocalo that caters to tourists. This time I was very pleased to discover this tranquil B&B cared for the friendly husband and wife team of Oscar and Sylvia. We kept busy each day, making the most of our visit usually starting with a vigorous morning hike up to the Christo monument, returning to a delicious breakfast served in the quiet courtyard at Las Palmas. Afternoons were spent at a more leisurely pace strolling through town to discover the churches, shops, restaurants and bars. At the end of the day, we looked forward to returning to oasis of calm that is the Casa.

Room Tip: The main house is spacious and luxurious, and the veranda offers spectacular night time views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed for four nights with a group of friends. Casa de la Palma has a great location with good access to the main square in town. The property has an interesting history, and the grounds are beautiful. There are nice views of Taxco from the veranda and the rooftop (both great places to enjoy a drink). The food that Oscar and Sylvia served was fantastic and they took very good care of us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
540 reviews
1.8 km away
Villas de la Montana
Villas de la Montana
#17 of 24 in Taxco
14 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#4 of 24 in Taxco
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
88 reviews
1 km away
Hotel El Taxquenito
Hotel El Taxquenito
#4 of 8 in Taxco
9 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Real de San Diego
Hotel Real de San Diego
#15 of 24 in Taxco
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Palmas

Address: Calle Primera de Guadalupe # 13, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Taxco
Price Range: $52 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil oasis in the heart of Taxco, Casa de las Palmas offers Colonial charm and elegance just steps away from the main Zocolo and Taxco's famous silver and crafts shopping. An early 19th Century Main House and early 20th Century art studio turned antique-filled suite surrounding gorgeous private gardens, antiques from around the world, and panoramic views from multiple terraces and roof decks of the city are yours to enjoy, and a pampered alternative to hotels. The compound has hosted a veritable who's who of the "Lost Generation", being the long time home of artist Clinton King, whose first wife, Lady Duff-Twysden, was Hemingway's model for "Lady Brett" in "The Sun Also Rises". His second wife, Narcissa Swift, was memorialized in her friend Georgia O'Keefe's famous painting "Narcissa's Last Orchid". Rivera, Siquieros, Kahlo, and Faulkner are confirmed visitors and many others rumored to have enjoyed our ambiance. Library/office off master bedroom, carved stone fireplaces in living room and bedrooms, wireless internet access, flat screen TV's, cable, and extensive DVD library are here for you to enjoy. Oscar and Silvia, Casa de Las Palmas' attentive managers, are here to make your stay a memorable one. Fresh flowers on arrival, daily continental breakfast, a welcome bottle of tequila, and bottled water are included in your price. Silvia will prepare delicious full breakfasts and private meals in the courtyard or on the veranda for an extra cost. Want beer, rum, snacks, or mixers? Let us know when you book and we will make sure your accommodations are stocked to to your liking when you arrive. Oscar is also a very knowledgeable guide to ruins, caverns, and various workshops in the area and is happy to provide this service to you at a very reasonable rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing