We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden paradise in taxco”
Review of Casa de las Palmas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taxco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de las Palmas
Ranked #2 of 16 Taxco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2009

After driving around Mexico for a few weeks..( oaxaca and the costa chica ) ...we stayed in the main house at casa de las palmas in Taxco for a few days.

It was a great experience. Taxco is beautiful but can be a bit overwhelming at first. Sitting in the garden or on one of the patios at the house looking at the amazing view is a wonderful way to relax and get your bearings.

The house evokes a bygone era and is spacious and comfortable,

Taxco is a great town to wander through and get lost in.
From the house It's just a short walk down to the Zocolo and you can always take a cheap taxi ride back to the house.

if you are driving into Taxco for the first time just pull over and
ask a taxi driver to lead you to the house..... I gave the cabbie
about $8 to lead us to the house from the outkirts of town.
It saved me alot of time I never would have figured out the route he took....The beauty of the town is that
there are so many tiny cobblestone streets that turn into alleys
and small plazas.

Theres a place to leave your car at the house and then you can walk anywhere. Oscar and sylvia take care of the house and are very nice and helpful.

I wish we could have stayed longer, hopefully next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2008

On business to Taxco Mexico and found Casa de las Palmas on Trip Advisor. What a find. This compound has a home, a guest apt and a small guest room. I stayed four nights in the guest apt with my business partner. Casa is up a very steep hill from the town square of Taxco. The caretaker and his wife are jewels. The apt is very old but so lovely and well furnished. I felt like I was truly living in a lovely Mexican home. I also felt very safe as the whole compound is behind a wall with the gate locked at all times. Views from the apt are just glorious. Continental breakfast is included in the very reasonable rates. It was confirmed that Diego Rivera visited this compound and stayed in the apartment frequently. Wonderful addition to a business trip. I plan to go back for vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sp8holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

My wife and I stayed at Casa de las Palmas for a long weekend in early November. We were accompanied by friends (another couple and their 11 month old baby girl). We stayed in the main house and they were in the apartment. While the main house was certainly large enough to accommodate all of us, this arrangement afforded everyone great privacy. The porch, overlooking the town and flooded with morning sun, is a wonderful place for breakfast. In the evening the living room is delightful with a fire in the fireplace. Breakfast was served by the caretaker and was very good. There were a number of choices ranging from bacon and eggs to cereal and fresh fruit and it was always accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice. The kitchen was well equipped however we ate in town except for one evening. Both the house and the apartment have large rooms filled with very nice antiques and, most importantly, the beds were very comfortable. We were told that the house is over 200 years old. It has been carefully preserved and restored and is immaculate condition.

Sherry, the owner lives in the US and it’s easy to make reservations by email or phone. Currency is not a problem for US citizens/residents since payments are made in dollars (by check). All of our transactions were promptly and professionally handled.

We enthusiastically recommend Casa de las Palmas. In fact, our friends enjoyed it so much they are returning in January with family.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBch-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Loved, loved, loved this place! We stayed in the studio, which had a ton of space, a large main room with sitting area and fireplace, a small dining area, a comfortable bed, a small but quaint kitchen, a good-sized bathroom and a balcony. The decor is from all around the world and the owners obviously have great taste and style. There's a TV with a DVD player and DVDs in the room. It was nice after a long day walking up and down the steep streets to relax and watch a movie. The place is really central and has amazing gardens. The caretaker's wife told me it's a very unique property in Taxco for the gardens and multiple houses and I believe it! It's truly a gem. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank uscreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We spent a week in Acapulco. During that week, we spent 2 full days in Taxco. The time in Taxco was not enough. I wish we would have stayed at least 4-5 days. The shopping was fun, but the people of Taxco was the highlight. They were all so friendly and genuine.

The restaurants were all very good.

The Casa de las Palmas was the most excellent part of the trip. It was just a short walk from the center square and had a small store just across the street. Oscar and his family took very good care of us, making breakfast in the morning and giving us tips on where to go.

The family touch in the home provided by Stan and Sherry made it feel like we were staying in a home, not a condo or a hotel.

Everything was just perfect.

The drive from Acapulco took 3 1/2 hours and was quite pleasant. We took the toll road from Acapulco (About 500 pesos) and took the regular highway back. The HW back was OK to Acapulco, then we got back on the toll road thru the city. It did not take any longer, and we saw more of "Mexico" (and saved about $30 US)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny_DandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
539 reviews
1.8 km away
Villas de la Montana
Villas de la Montana
#17 of 24 in Taxco
14 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#4 of 24 in Taxco
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
88 reviews
1 km away
Hotel El Taxquenito
Hotel El Taxquenito
#4 of 8 in Taxco
9 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Real de San Diego
Hotel Real de San Diego
#15 of 24 in Taxco
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Palmas

Address: Calle Primera de Guadalupe # 13, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Taxco
Price Range: $52 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil oasis in the heart of Taxco, Casa de las Palmas offers Colonial charm and elegance just steps away from the main Zocolo and Taxco's famous silver and crafts shopping. An early 19th Century Main House and early 20th Century art studio turned antique-filled suite surrounding gorgeous private gardens, antiques from around the world, and panoramic views from multiple terraces and roof decks of the city are yours to enjoy, and a pampered alternative to hotels. The compound has hosted a veritable who's who of the "Lost Generation", being the long time home of artist Clinton King, whose first wife, Lady Duff-Twysden, was Hemingway's model for "Lady Brett" in "The Sun Also Rises". His second wife, Narcissa Swift, was memorialized in her friend Georgia O'Keefe's famous painting "Narcissa's Last Orchid". Rivera, Siquieros, Kahlo, and Faulkner are confirmed visitors and many others rumored to have enjoyed our ambiance. Library/office off master bedroom, carved stone fireplaces in living room and bedrooms, wireless internet access, flat screen TV's, cable, and extensive DVD library are here for you to enjoy. Oscar and Silvia, Casa de Las Palmas' attentive managers, are here to make your stay a memorable one. Fresh flowers on arrival, daily continental breakfast, a welcome bottle of tequila, and bottled water are included in your price. Silvia will prepare delicious full breakfasts and private meals in the courtyard or on the veranda for an extra cost. Want beer, rum, snacks, or mixers? Let us know when you book and we will make sure your accommodations are stocked to to your liking when you arrive. Oscar is also a very knowledgeable guide to ruins, caverns, and various workshops in the area and is happy to provide this service to you at a very reasonable rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing