We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
151
127
31
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
127
31
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa rica great location dancers and musicians breakfast buffet water pressure hotel is located worked great spent nights downtown veracruz naval museum bed was comfortable walking distance coffee maker mexico city plaza port pesos
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We spent 3 nights at the Diligencias earlier this week, with my family. The location was great, every night we walked across the road to the Plaza de las Armas/Zocalo and enjoyed Danzon, Salsa Music and local music. The hotel was great, clean rooms, good water pressure, wifi etc. and the breakfast buffet was top notch. Would highly recommend for a visit to Veracruz.

Room tip: Good to get a room overlooking the Plaza de las Armas
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emmamex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

This hotel is located in front of the Plaza and in walking distance of the Malecon and Naval museum. We also walked to the Aquarium although that is a little further.
Our room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable but firm. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. In the room we had a refrigerator, room safe, coffee maker and TV. Our room was also very quiet which was surprising with all the noise outside.
Breakfast was extra (150 pesos) and is a Mexican buffet but there are several choices nearby. The staff was very helpful and friendly, most don't speak English.
The bar has a nice patio overlooking the Plaza with good sandwiches and other snacks.
We had dinner at the restaurant Villa Rica in the hotel, both the quality of food and the service were very disappointing
A taxi from the airport to the hotel was 250 pesos, from the hotel to the airport was 200 pesos:)
There is lots to see in and around Veracruz, we were there at the end of February and it started to get hot and humid, the summer months are extreme we were told.
Veracruz is well worth a visit.

Room tip: back rooms are quieter.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This centrally located hotel faces the zocalo and the Cathedral. The lobby and rooms are clean and spacious. The food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. The breakfast buffet was especially wonderful - with a wide variety of choices.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TapestryCrochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We always stay here. always. The hotel could use a renovation here and there but the lively location on the Zocalo makes all the difference. The feeling while enjoying a drink on the tile covered outdoor patio facing the lively park, is one of old Mexico.....which is has been a part of for a long, long time. Secure parking, good wifi, excellent restaurant. Ice service is a bit iffy. Good morning breakfast buffet. Outdoor pool and spa on second floor. A must stay unless you want the modern, modern. Ask for a room with a park view.

Room tip: Ask to overlook the Zocalo.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davesU930TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Rooms are big (but not the most modern); hotel has shuttle bus from airport (Miguel, the driver is wonderful). Hotel is directly across from the plaza - always lots happening in the evenings! Short walk to the path along the beach and to the markets. Mini-fridge in rooms, good shower, good WiFi, and in-room safe. Despite being across from the plaza, rooms are quiet once you close the doors (I had a room facing the pool and partial view of the plaza). Nice pool on the 2nd floor which faces the plaza and the cathedral. Good coffee half block from hotel, and a little bakery just beyond that. Excellent breakfast in the hotel too. Excellent restaurant to have drinks on the patio (faces plaza) and also to watch any soccer matches (passerbys will watch from the sidewalk - good atmosphere). Hotel is a good base; short cab ride to aquarium and to the fort.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vancity-An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews