We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxing”
Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #127 of 1,364 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

After reading other positive reviews my friend and I decided to give this place a try especially since it was conveniently located near our hotel and we wanted to have a special dinner for our last night in Cancun. The restaurant did not disappoint. The ambiance was relaxing. We enjoyed our dinner on the terrace near the lagoon where we were treated to a special dinner guest-- "Willie" the crocodile. The food was delicious! We both had the surf and turf, calamari rings, and a brownie ala mode for dessert. Our server was Renato. He was top notch. He provided us with excellent service and gave us a lot of suggestions on things to see and do for our next trip to Cancun. It was definitely a memorable experience and I am glad we went. We will definitely return again on our next trip to Cancun.

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank juliegX452CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear Julie G,

We are so glad to receive your visit, even more to know that your experience was top; we thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next travel to Cancun.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2020

Me an my wife Take a short Vac 3 day we stayed at the Royal resorts- Sands in Cancun which is of the best hotel we stayed at EXCELLENT, our package includ dinning at the Captain Cove we when the the first night we like vibes so we go back the second night, sec time was even better we have excellente waiter by name of FILIBERTO even though they all work as a Team which is excellent they're amazing no Words, a friendly crocodile swim around saying hey to all the guest, no food you get 30 sec, food up to 10min in any case he stayed around until you finish eat very sweet, we think we have everything on the menu but at end brownie with ice cream on top is a most have, we here the lobster is great,, anyway we when the third Night nothing change LOVE TO ALL STAFF AT CAPTAIN COVE RESTAURANT IN CANCUN, we Will be back Stephanie an Marvin

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 984reactions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear Stephanie & Marvin,

We truly appreciated your three visits, it was a pleasure for us to welcome you every night and surprise you with different options.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2020

We were staying at the hotel across the street, so we decided to celebrate my partner’s birthday at this restaurant. We made a reservation for a table in the terrace by the sea. The view was relaxing and amazing, especially if you go around sunset. The food was well prepared and fresh. The service couldn’t be better. They have a DJ playing great music, not loud, it was fun but not crazy. When we were almost done, a local crocodile payed us a visit, its name is Billy, it came and wait for some food in the water… no worries, the terrace is out of its reach and we were warned to feed it by the staff. We had a great time!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank carlosn593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Dear Carlos N,

We are so glad that you decided to celebrate your partner´s birthday!

We thank you for your special visit and your recommendation, our DJ is a new atraction!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

We have enjoyed dinner here at the Captains Cove 4 times in the past two weeks. Every evening from soup through dessert was outstanding. German was our server 3 of the four evenings. Excellent service as well as our food. We always enjoy returning to Captains Cove for a fun and enjoyable meal. Not to mention the surprise visit from the Alligator (Poncho) who stops by for photo ops.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Jimmyjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear Jim,

It´s been a pleasure to welcome you during four times, we truly appreciate your visits and every experience that German prepare for you.

We thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming to Cancun for 19 years usually for two weeks. Time and time again the food and friendly service is top notch here at The Captain’s Cove. This year we were here four times. My favorite items from the menu are the shrimp soup, shrimp cocktail, surf and turf, prime rib and grouper sautéed in lemon and butter. Don’t forget dessert, I had coconut ice cream with creme de tequila. German, our waiter, made several suggestions and each one was excellent. German was friendly, attentive and he is an excellent waiter. Please request German and you will have an excellent dining experience. You can come casual with the whole family and see the alligator or dress up for a romantic dinner, either way this is a beautiful restaurant with sunset views, the food is excellent and you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank 21clarissad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2020

Dear Clarissa D,

It is an honor to be part of every visit to Cancun! We truly appreciate your visits during this years and every night that you decide to enjoy an unforgettable moment with us.

We thank you for your recommendation, we are glad to know that your experience with our dishes and service.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.