We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sunset meal at the Captain’s Cove”
Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #127 of 1,364 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View details, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

A sunset meal at the Captain’s Cove is a highlight of our biannual visit to the Royal Sands Resort in Cancún. As always, the ambiance is relaxing and unhurried, with service to match. We started with the house Sangria which was luscious- fruity and positively chunky with fruit. Our friends loved the Seafood Platter for Two, which include a salad, wine, a full platter of lobster tail, grilled fish, shrimp, scallops and calamari, enough for 3, really. My wife had the shrimp fettuccine which was okay, maybe could have been a little more spiced. I had the Three Pepper Ahi Tuna, which was excellently prepared- I had ordered it medium and it was done exactly to order, but in retrospect I should have asked for rare.
Our table captain Renato and his team gave us the kind of wonderful service we have come to expect at Captain’s Cove.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank jmgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear jmgjr,

We thank you for your special visiti and for your recommendation; it is an honor to be part of your travels to Cancun and to be part of good memories enjoying the Sunset.

We can´t wait to welcome you again!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2020

First tiMe eating in this restaurant the food was excellent loved it alot... GERMAN was our waiter and let me tell you the best of the best service with him will be back and ask for him i highly recommend him...

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank ygarcia198950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear Yolanda G,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit, we are glad to know that German was the best.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020

The food and service was amazing.!!!! Our server German just the best.!!! Our first here in cancun and got treated really good☺️

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank lupem766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear Lupe M,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

We have been coming to Cancun for decades. Captains Cove use to be really good. Then it became terrible. It now is back to average. The food is okay, but it took 2.5 hrs for dinner, when there was maybe a dozen people there. We are not going to drink more and run up the bill, just because you drag things out. Better service makes for happier customers, who drink more.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear DiaDave,

We appreciate your special visit and your post, all your comments helps us to continue to improve our service for the next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again and offer you a different experience.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

It’s our second time for this vacation, we plan to be here again before heading back home.

We always have the best dinner here, every time we are in Cancun. Captains Cove is we’re you can have a fine dining with excellent service & seafood dishes.
Special thanks to Felix, for his great service, for having fun at work, very friendly, though busy, still delivers an excellent service. Thanks to the chef/s for cooking good.

By the way, don’t be scared going to Cancun, to Captain’s Cove. Very Safe here, every body is so discipline.

In summary: excellent food, top server/s (Felix). Beautiful ambiance (by the water). Great team & restaurant!!!

This is the definition of Fine Dining...

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank hajjames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear James T,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit; it is an honor to be part of your travels to Cancun. All your comments helps us to continue to improve our service for the next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.