We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fun atmosphere, right on the water”
Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #120 of 1,329 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View details, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Awesome dinner out celebrating a friend's birthday. Filiberto was our waiter-- he was outstanding! There was live music and the singer really worked the room. Steak was all cooked perfectly, loved the shrimp and lobster was good, too. Great drinks! Especially the featured ones. Thanks so much Fili!!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aly8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear Aly,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit to celebrate your friend´s birthday; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was five stars.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

We had a delicious dinner in front of Nichupte Lagoon with some crocodile visits.
Every dish was delicious. We had the clam chowder, portobello rissotto and meat with core bone. Great service, traditional place in Cancun.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank MissCasiopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear MissCasiopea,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was five stars.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Timed our reservation so we could watch the sunset on the outside deck and it was quite worth it. Service was great and the waiter told us about two crocodiles that would show up later. We thought he was just joking until we got ready to leave and there was a big one begging for food! We had the seafood casserole for two. It really is not what I think of when one says ‘casserole’, but a platter of seafood with two lobster tails, shrimp, scallops, mussels, calamari and fish with side of vegetables and rice. Very delicious!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jgriesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear jgriesel,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was five stars.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

This is the only restaurant linked to the Royal chain of resorts that was not a 5. Staff was great but the food was not... is was good.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank KNBTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear KNBTraveling,

We appreciate your sincerity, we would love to improve our service for the next time; if you would like to send us more comments about your experience we will be gald to take care of every detail.

We will be honored to welcome you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Great food and service. Had a awesome romantic dinner with my wife. They even had a saxophonist playing. we also saw a crocodile swimming around. The food was cooked perfectly and lots of flavor. Will be back next time on our trip. Are there twice this time.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank V660CVjohnnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear Johnny A,

We thank you for your special visits and your recommendation. We are glad to know that your experience with our sax night was top for you and your wife.

We will be honored to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.