We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife and I were staying”
Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #121 of 1,331 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

My wife and I were staying at the Royal Sands and had purchased the all inclusive package that allowed us to dine at Captains Cove. We went there for dinner the first night and took the shuttle over there. The setting is great and we asked to be seated outside (have to) right over the water and we were greeted by the resident alligator that would split time going from table to table. I’m sure your not supposed to feed it but some people were throwing food in.

Saulo was our waiter. He was great!! Super friendly, attentive, fun, funny and not afraid to make a recommendation when asked. He keep our drinks topped up and always engaged. If we go back there we will be sure to ask for him. Ask for Saulo if you can.

Food was also great. Mini burger sampler, which were awesome, mussels, snapper and filet for dinner. Dessert was also amazing.

Loved the experience, loved the staff, loved the service.

They also had a woman singing the whole time. She had an amazing voice and sang both English and Spanish favorites and toured the tables also but was very appropriate.

Great experience overall.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank keithbJ9422CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulma Islas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Keith B,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was amazing!

We look forward to welcoming you again and enjoy our steak night on thursday with sax.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 2,895 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2020

We had a wonderful experience this week at Captains Cove. Saulo was our waiter and was the best ever!! Thank you for making our dinner special!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Guide548630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulma Islas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Guide548630,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was five stars.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

This restaurant had the best setting we found in our week in Mexico. We sat out on the deck and enjoyed cocktails while taking in the spectacular sunset. Food wise, my wife chose her starter better than I did - she had the Captain’s sampler plate, which was very good, while I had the fried ribs, which were small bones with smaller bits of meat attached. We both had the seared tuna for our main dish and that was excellent. The waiters were very nice and attentive and if you are lucky enough to be seated next to the water, look out for Pancho the crocodile. He may come to dine with you.

Date of visit: December 2020
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulma Islas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Michael W,

We are glad to know that the experience with us was very good, our view is totally worth it! We thank you for your visit and your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

The first time I visited this restaurant was in 1989. Every time I am in Cancun, I make sure to stop in at least one time during my vacation. This year we brought a couple with us that had never visited Cancun and they had the opportunity to dine with us at Captain’s Cove.

Both couples ordered the lobster soufflé for two. I can’t say enough about this selection! Lobster tails, mussels, shrimp, fish filets, scallops and calamari. Outstanding!!!

As you can see in the first picture, the platters are the length of the server’s stand. End to end they are corner to corner on the 4 top table

Neither couple could finish all of the food on their platter and we both took to go boxes back to the Royal Islander with us. It worked out to be $37 a person on these platters!

We are heading back in March and we are looking forward to ordering this again.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Lenofleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulma Islas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear Lenofleroy,

We appreciate your recommendation to both couples; we are more than glad to know that the experience that you all had was unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you again in March!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Awesome dinner out celebrating a friend's birthday. Filiberto was our waiter-- he was outstanding! There was live music and the singer really worked the room. Steak was all cooked perfectly, loved the shrimp and lobster was good, too. Great drinks! Especially the featured ones. Thanks so much Fili!!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aly8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SulmaIslas, Propietario at Captain's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear Aly,

We appreciate your recommendation and your special visit to celebrate your friend´s birthday; we are glad to know that the experience that you had was five stars.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.