We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and service was outstanding.”
Review of La Palapa Belga

La Palapa Belga
Ranked #128 of 1,392 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you are lucky enough to find this gem hidden behind the pool at the Hotel Imperial Laguna, you will be greatly rewarded with fine cuisine at a reasonable price, gracious service, and a table on the lagoon with a beautiful view of the hotel zone.
Reviewed 5 February 2021 via mobile

The food and service was outstanding. The meal started with fresh, warm baguettes with creamy avocado spread. Next we enjoyed the very tasty French onion soup and the chef’s special mango and strawberry salad. The fish of the day was grouper with lemon butter sauce with capers. Delicious! Finished the meal with crepe brûlée. Wine & Belgian beer. Thursday nights they have live jazz music, our evening featured Wayne Keenan. We can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank notenoughvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2021

We stumbled across this lagoon-side restaurant inside the Hotel Imperial near the golf course at about 8 km in the hotel zone. Who knew? Hearing we were vegan, the staff immediately said they could whip up main courses, but the highlight was the soup: they made a potato and leek soup and a spinach soup and both were excellent, delicious. A solid selection of red wines (I didn't ask about whites). We'll return.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank anxious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria T, Director General at La Palapa Belga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

Hi! we are so happy you enjoyed your soups! and glad that our staff made good recommendations.
Hope hearing from you soon!

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner last night at this lovely waterfront restaurant in Quetzal area. Our martinis were perfect, my warm salad appetizer with lobster was delicious. The salmon and mussels were great and we finished with the Creme Brulee. The service was friendly and competent, the view outstanding. If the large gate entrance is closed just walk into the Hotel Imperial Laguna lobby and ask get around back to the waterfront restaurant. I messaged them to confirm our time.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank wetmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria T, Director General at La Palapa Belga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

Thanks so much for writting us! we work hard on every dish so you can enjoy this experience with us.
Hope having you with us again.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

Love, love, love. The food exceptional! The service divine. Ahhhhh, the ambiance. We sat on the pier overlooking the beautiful water, moon shining down, with beautifully lit buildings in the background reflecting on the water. Our waiter was charming. We split the chef’s appetizer selection which was a delightful mixture of shrimp, scallops and mussels in tarragon sauce. Then we split a delicious salad of arugula, goat cheese, apples and walnuts. My friend’s entree was sautéed shrimp in pepper sauce. Mine was a seafood stew (Flemish style). Both were exceptional. Then the dessert!!! OMG!! Mine was sautéed apples in caramelized butter. My friend’s - her all time favorite - Meringue with ice cream and raspberry sauce! She was in heaven!! It’s an adorable restaurant co-located with a Boutique Hotel. My friend’s 4th visit, my 2nd but will not be our last! A hidden gem that you don’t want to pass up if your in Cancun!!

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria T, Director General at La Palapa Belga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

We are so happy reading you enjoyed your dinner with us, we just enjoyed your description of your experience.
Hope seeing you soon!

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2020

This Belgian-French restaurant was recommended to us by some locals... may sound strange for Mexico, but it exceeded expectations! Thursday was jazz night, live music was great, sitting right ON the water... Service could have been a little better... Our server seemed somewhat disinterested... but, he got the job done I guess. Had the fish in lemon butter sauce with vegetables... perfect.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tashatenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria T, Director General at La Palapa Belga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

Hi Tasha!

Thank you so much for letting us know how was your experience with us, we surely work on the service part you are telling us, hope you can come back soon.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapa Belga also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Palapa Belga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.