We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Japanese with generous staff!”

Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar
Ranked #18 of 1,329 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was an amazing accidental find! The atmosphere was really cool and had a great soundtrack playing throughout our meal. We sat at the bar and watched the chefs, Luis and Alejandro, expertly prepare sashimi and other fresh meals right in front of us. They kindly answered our questions about the restaurant and their experience. Luis even gave us a free appetiser (that wasn’t listed on the menu) of delicious tuna and cucumber roll. The food was fresh and definitely reminded us of eating in Japan!

Our waiter, Jair Rodríguez, was helpful, kind and entertaining. He spoke fluent English and humoured our poor attempts at Spanish. Jair told us about the Japanese owners and how the restaurant was newly opened. He confirmed any dietary requirements or allergies and they well and truly catered for a vegetarian and pescatarian diet. Although the food was more expensive than local street food, the value for money was amazing and much less than what we would have paid for the same meal in Australia, even with a tip for the mesero and sushero.

Don’t miss this if you’re in the area! Thank you for a memorable experience!

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank ellagasowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0nton, Gerente at Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello, We appreciate the time you took to write us. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience in the restaurant was excellent and that the service and dishes were incredible. We hope to see you again soon and serve you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. Every part of the experience was perfect. First off there is a kids play room with childcare and so many fun things for the kids to do. This really gave us time to enjoy the experience fully while the kids had fun. The mixologist was top notch with the most beautiful drink I have every seen and surprising combinations. Our server Reynaldo spoke very good English and was friendly and helpful. The manager personally introduced himself and was very friendly. The appetizers were divine. The sushi was top notch and we have eaten sushi all over the world. I was too full for desert but once my family started raving about it I quickly made room for a tempura Oreo. Tomorrow is our last day and Cancun and we are definitely going back for round two.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank DanikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0nton, Gerente at Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello, We appreciate the time you took to write us. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience in the restaurant was excellent and that the service and dishes were incredible. We hope to see you again soon and serve you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018

excellent food and the service was also excellent. The workers are friendly and courteous. I will definitely return to the restaurant next time I'm in Cancun.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank U7600SBdeborahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0nton, Gerente at Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello, We appreciate the time you took to write us. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience in the restaurant was excellent and that the service and dishes were incredible. We hope to see you again soon and serve you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Since I set foot in the restaurant, I knew that this was going to be excellent, the servers gave me a great presentation of every food and drink I ingeri, I liked that the restaurant manager came to ask about our service and it was all very delicious, thanks to this restaurant I can delight in true Japanese cuisine.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank pablorY339MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0nton, Gerente at Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello, We appreciate the time you took to write us. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience in the restaurant was excellent and that the service and dishes were incredible. We hope to see you again soon and serve you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Really nice decoration, food was delicious and the service of Jaír y Jesus was outstanding.
I highly recommend you the Unagi Nigiri and the cold bowl

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mas19mas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0nton, Gerente at Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello, We appreciate the time you took to write us. It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience in the restaurant was excellent and that the service and dishes were incredible. We hope to see you again soon and serve you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Samura Japanese Cuisine & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.