We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Restaurante Umami

Restaurante Umami
Ranked #6 of 1,320 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Description: For those looking for a fascinating gastronomic and sensory experience, this avant-garde design restaurant with incredible ocean view allows customers to watch the chefs prepare their dishes directly on their teppanyaki griddles.
Restaurant details
Description: For those looking for a fascinating gastronomic and sensory experience, this avant-garde design restaurant with incredible ocean view allows customers to watch the chefs prepare their dishes directly on their teppanyaki griddles.
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Food, service, atmosphere, decor all top notch! Sushi rolls, sashimi and sake were excellent. We also had shrimp tempura, which was delicious. Would definitely go back!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank allide305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Gerente at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

We are very thankful you for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience with the Restaurant UMAMI. We are proud to know that you received an excellent service. We hope you are coming back soon and be able to continue creating beautiful memories together with unforgettable and unique experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2019

We spent our last night at NYX hotel eating at Umami as we had heard amazing things. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to do tepanyaki but the sushi bar was still so tasty! The shake roll (salmon, avocado, cucumber, cream cheese) roll was fresh and delicious, and our waitress, Alejandrina, was super friendly and sweet. We can’t wait to come back and try the tepanyaki!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank KaraB986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Gerente at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the quality of food and had a great service. Thank you so much for your excellent comments! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at the Nyx Hotel and we were very pleased that they have opened this at the beginning of 2019. Good food well cooked by Chef Candelario. The waiter Roman was very attentive! I am giving them a 10 for our first time there!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Lumi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Gerente at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

We are very thankful you for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience with the Restaurant UMAMI. We are proud to know that you received an excellent service, especially from Candelario and Roman. We hope you are coming back soon and be able to continue creating beautiful memories together with unforgettable and unique experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

I'm agree with all the other reviews. This place is amazing, all the way from the waiters to bartender and the chiefs. Sushi master chef roman was excellent and the Teppan master chef Francisco gave us an amazing show and delicious food.
The restaurant is placed inside the nyx Cancun hotel and right in front of the sea.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank iboh404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Gerente at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2019

We are very thankful you for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience with the Restaurant UMAMI. We are proud to know that you received an excellent service. We hope you are coming back soon and be able to continue creating beautiful memories together with unforgettable and unique experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

This is the best sushi we ever had!!! The food and the experience was above expectation!!! Our server Roman and chefs Victor and Angel were top notch !!!!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank marcelym2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Gerente at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2019

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the quality of food and had a great service, especially from Roman and chefs Victor and Angel. Thank you so much for your excellent comments! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Umami also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Restaurante Umami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.