We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service for takeout”
Review of Restaurante Umami

Restaurante Umami
Ranked #1 of 1,380 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Description: For those looking for a fascinating gastronomic and sensory experience, this avant-garde design restaurant with incredible ocean view allows customers to watch the chefs prepare their dishes directly on their teppanyaki griddles.
Restaurant details
Description: For those looking for a fascinating gastronomic and sensory experience, this avant-garde design restaurant with incredible ocean view allows customers to watch the chefs prepare their dishes directly on their teppanyaki griddles.
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

I read awesome reviews about Umami restaurant, located in NYX Hotel, an all inclusive resort but this resto is open to public. The resto is indoor dining only so I ordered takeout instead, and watched how quickly the place filled up on. I am not comfortable eating indoors during a pandemic so I was double masked and sipped a delish mai tai while waiting (90 pesos). The staff (Ivonne, Victor, Nadia & Anayelli) couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. I really enjoyed their hospitality and professionalism. They are excellent at what they do and put out high quality food. The fish in the sushi is very high quality...and cheap. I had a fantastic spicy salmon hand roll, spicy tuna maki roll (thanks to the previous reviewer) and the cobia fish of the day sashimi (150 pesos for 5 beautiful large cuts of sashimi) which was scrumptious with the jalapeño chili soy sauce that they packed for me. The seaweed salad was good and the fried rice very salty. There is a hibachi grill and the people seated around it seemed to enjoy the entertainment of the chef. The staff was masked but patrons are seated rather close to one another at the hibachi and sushi counter. There was a smaller dining room with less people seated.

I personally enjoyed the wonderful food here, but only for takeout. Here is my hesitation to recommend this place for both travel into the restaurant and for dining in person here during a pandemic. I entered from the beach side, passing by the Magic Bar to the restaurant entrance, this outside tiki bar was random drunk maskless people having random drunk convos all over one another. The resto is indoor service only so I sat at the counter double-masked and ordered takeout, watching how quickly the place filled up and sipped a great mai tai while waiting (90 pesos). Exited through the hotel...only staff is masked up, 80% + of the guests traipsing around were unmasked. As I walked out, there were a group of boys carrying a nearly lifeless kid into the main lobby, all of them were hammered. The NYX a hotel lobby stunk of a perfume aroma, hopefully that will disinfect the virus that is surely running rampant there. If I owned this fabulous restaurant, I'd offer a separate entrance path from the hotel or allow curbside pickup of food outside of the hotel and post the menu online so that takeout orders can be easily placed by phone or online for pickup. I also would discourage anyone from staying at NYX, even if it weren’t a pandemic.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank fancy02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dearest
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion, we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Our entire team works hard to give you the best meals and service you deserve. Believe us that we work daily on our meals; by the time we have the honor of receiving you again, you will continue to remember us with the same flavor that distinguishes us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

Great place, perfect atmosphere, delicious food. It’s a breath of fresh air in such a commercial Cancun

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank agnieszkak767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dearest
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.
We like to pamper our guests to make their evening unforgettable. We are delighted that we offered you the service you expected. It's an honor to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Best Hibachi restaurant I have ever experienced hands down. Food was delicious (and I would know). The experience was extremely fun and professional. The waitress Chutima was very pleasant and on top of things and Jose the Chef really did his thing!! Go here during your Cancun stay and you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank lyneecej2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dearest
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.
We like to pamper our guests to make their evening unforgettable. We are delighted that we offered you the service you expected. It's an honor to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

Amazing and special night!! Amazing!!
Delicious food and the show was amazing! I recommend!!! super!!
Thank you very much: Isis, José, Nadia e Anayelli

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank anacarolinav899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021
Google Translation

Estimada Ana

Agradecemos que nos haya dado la oportunidad de ser parte de una noche inolvidable y haberlos atendido con el mejor servicio que nuestro equipo ofrece día a día.
Preparamos nuestros platillos con todo el cariño para deleitar el paladar de todos ustedes y se lleven una experiencia inolvidable.
Esperamos tenerlos de vuelta con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Excelente servicio. La comida deliciosa
Waitress: isis
Chef: victor - Edilberto
Manager: roni
Hostess: anayelli

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank SofiaG1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurante Umami, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021
Google Translation

Estimada Sofia
Nos complace leer sus comentarios, es un honor para nosotros poderles servir como lo merecen. Todo nuestro equipo trabaja con pasión para brindarles una velada inolvidable y estamos contentos de nuestro servicio les fue de su total agrado. Esperemos verle nuevamente con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Umami also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Restaurante Umami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.