We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth One Visit”
Review of Taboo Cancun

Taboo Cancun
Ranked #42 of 1,392 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Description: By Grupo RosaNegra® A unique space, a gathering place where food becomes an art object and a transcendent experience. Taboo Restaurant adopts Mediterranean food as a lifestyle. We use fresh and original ingredients in extraordinary ways, with the main focus being on purity, authenticity, and reinterpretation of iconic Mediterranean recipes.
Restaurant details
Description: By Grupo RosaNegra® A unique space, a gathering place where food becomes an art object and a transcendent experience. Taboo Restaurant adopts Mediterranean food as a lifestyle. We use fresh and original ingredients in extraordinary ways, with the main focus being on purity, authenticity, and reinterpretation of iconic Mediterranean recipes.
Reviewed 25 December 2020

To start with a positive - my wife had the Rack of Lamb - if you like lamb, it was excellent, and we would highly recommend. My son and I shared the Catch of the Day (a whole Branzino, with the bone removed) - again excellent. We also shared the the Lobster Risotto. Three main dishes, each excellent and highly recommended.

My extra dry vodka martini, served straight up in a cold glass, came just as I ordered it.

Service - as everyone has written was excellent.
Music - as many have written - much too loud. Conveyed the feeling that you were dining in a night club, which wasn't what we signed on for.

Why not five stars? Because the appetizers, did not achieve the same standard as the main dishes. Lobster soup - my son said was okay but nothing special.
The Steak Tartare - was overpowered by the chopped onions and spices.
The same can be said about the Lobster Platter - although, on the menu, under Lobster Platter, it did say lobster salad, it was more celery and cilantro, with some very finely diced lobster.

I don't think we will be returning, so will leave it to the reader to decide what appetizers, if any they order.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Taboo Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Dear Lewis S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your recent visit to Taboo Cancun, we were pleased to have you on this occasion.

We will share your comments with all our team to keep improving to provide only the best of the best.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again, we would love to pamper you only as our customers deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

This was an all around amazing experience. Erick, Antonio, and the manager Miguel were all overly hospitable. They accommodated every need and even thought of things we wanted before we asked for it. The service is exceptional and the portions were huge. The flavors in the food were unforgettable and the food display was over the top. I can not wait to come back. Family friendly and ready to party all in one.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank estheraO8405NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Taboo Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Dear esther a,

Thank you very much for allowing us to pamper you on this occasion, we loved your review, it makes us feel pleased, happy, and motivated.

We would love to welcome you once again, come back soon, we will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

Taboo is one of the most beautiful, trendiest restaurants I have ever seen. To the open air views of the lagoon, the beautiful hanging lanterns and candles, and the staff and clientele. Just lovely.

Atmosphere and service were impeccable. Food was not my favorite though. Everything is wood fired and grilled. Not my favorite taste profile. But if you like that, you will love here!

Oh, but one of the most delicious bread baskets and presentations I’ve ever had.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank RonC2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Taboo Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Dear Ron C,

Thank you very much for letting us learn more about your recent visit to our lovely restaurant. It is wonderful to learn through your lines, that you had a great evening, thank you for share with us many details.

We would love to receive you very soon, to keep pampering you, with the warmest and most professional service that all our customers deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

My daughter and I are there this evening, and we have eaten in restaurants around the world but this was the best - ever! Thank you ❤️

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Taboo Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Dear Bernadette F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion on TripAdvisor, it was an honor to have received you on this occasion.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again, we would love to pamper you only as our customers deserve.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

We came to Cancun to celebrate our anniversary and we’re recommended Taboo. We were very pleased with the location. The views of the harbor during sunset were amazing. The house music and island decor went perfectly with the food selections. The staff; Miguel, Christopher, and Jose, were very attentive and made our ensured our meal was perfect. Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank CharlieS1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Taboo Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Dear Charlie,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comments with us, it was a pleasure to host you during your visit to Taboo Cancun.

We hope to see you very soon, we are going to be just right here waiting for you.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taboo Cancun also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Taboo Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.