We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Casa Tequila

Casa Tequila
Ranked #95 of 1,220 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant bar with the most complete variety of tequilas and craft beer, in a friendly atmosphere. Mexican and mayan authentic food since 1992.
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Not sure what happened since our last visit a year and a half ago. Husband ordered the beef stew and I ordered the t bone steak. Husband says his stew was tasty but not much beef in it. Mine was the thinist piece of steak I have ever been served in a restaurant. This shared a plate with some mixed veggies and a single baby potato cut in half. Although very flavorful, I left there still hungry. Very disappointed after having a great meal there before.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

I know. I know. It is so easy to stereotype a Mexican restaurant or any ethnic food restaurant, but Casa Tequila is ... different. Yes, the strolling, three piece, all male singers are at your table and for a couple of bucks they'll sing your choice of songs. And yes, the all male wait staff are dress in traditional garb. But this open air eatery actually pulled the traditional stuff off with a high level of authenticity. You felt as if they really like their traditions and it shows in all they do. If you are lucky enough to be served by Saul you will know exactly what I'm talking about. Saul is a genuine character and a fine waiter. We visited the restaurant and Saul twice on a three day stop over in Cancun. Oh did I mention the food was good and nothing like America Mexican food? Well it is. Our two dinners at Casa Tequila waited on by Saul was a highlight of our evening dining experiences. If you are in the area stop by and say, Hey to Saul and order both the coconut and Mango ice cream. We've never had anything like them. WOW!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tenniskats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Excellent service and fancy decorations. I and my buddies quite enjoyed the atmosphere here for dinner during our trip as they provided us Mexican hat and singing, and if you ask for photography they are pleased to help you. Their spicy octopus tacos are delicious but steak is not recommanded.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We did enjoy our dinner at Casa Tequila, with the music, good fun, nice waiters, friendly staff and patio seating. We both thought everything was fine, and prices reasonable for the area; our only complaint was that each of us thought our dinners were a bit dry, ( chicken and pork as I recall). So fine, friendly, with a very nice setting but not over the top cooking...but perhaps just a bit of an off night?

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 622lewisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

6 of us went to eat there today. It is now the 3rd time we have been there. Every year we come to Cancun we make a point to eat there at least once. It has great food, great atmosphere and great waiters. Geronimo was our waiter and we couldn't have had a more enjoyable time.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randy0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Tequila also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Casa Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing