We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for seafood lovers”
Review of El Oasis Mariscos

El Oasis Mariscos
Ranked #11 of 1,364 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: En Oasis Cancun y Playa nuestra orientacion al servicio, variedad, calidad y frescura de los pescados y mariscos es unica. Lo mejor del Caribe Mexicano.
Reviewed 13 May 2019

From online reviews we thought we would check this place out. We went to the location east of Coco Bongo on 12th.

Friendly, welcoming staff.

Loved that they give you a huge basket of tostadas with three sauces (mayonnaise, sweet and hot) and hot shrimp soup as starters. Tostadas can range from being nicely cooked to a little over cooked depending on the chef. Soup is very nice.

Conch ceviche is very nice. Very hard to find this item so we came back three times in the week we were there to get it. Sometimes more onions than others but still refreshing. Only comes in medium and large sizes. Would have liked a small option.

Paella is huge portion and tasty. Lots of seafood inside it.

Shrimp dishes comes with 12 shrimp! We tried breaded and garlic butter. Garlic butter was a little salty for us.

Breaded calamari is not light like Greek style but it was nice enough.

Juan was our server all three visits. Excellent service.

As portion sizes are bigger, prices are reasonable. They accept credit cards.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mililee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2019

Went for dinner last night and as few of the reviews, it was 50/50, my boyfriend had the seafood soup and he thought it was amazing, I had the octopus ceviche and it was so so. Food presentation was bad, the octupus was cut in big chunks which made it hard to chew, and the texture felt strange as if it had been overcooked. In my opinion it was overpriced considering the quality. Service was great and they have valet service which was good. I guess its hit and miss, depending what you order or to be fair it maight have been the time we arrived (almost closing time)

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paloma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2019 via mobile

Had lunch there and food was good. Tried the fish ceviche and everything was perfect. The mint lemonade is refreshing! Service is good and they have valet parking. In front of Costco.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jeremy85100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econciergeb, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Oasis Mariscos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, nothing will make us happier than knowing that everything has been to your liking, it has been a pleasure to visit you, we hope you will join us on more occasions, this is your Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2019

After reading many of the other rave reviews I feel bad about what I am about to say. I couldn't even finish my dinner it was so bad. It was the worst meal I have had in Cancun and we have visited every year for 10 years. Lots of restaurants have been tried, but never a meal this bad. Shrimp octopus ravioli in salmon sauce. There were 8 of us and only four enjoyed their meal. We won't go back. I would give it 1 star, but since a few people liked theirs it averages to a three.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econciergeb, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Oasis Mariscos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

We really appreciate the time it has taken to write and share your review, no doubt we will take into account each of your points to provide a better experience in each of your visits. We offer you an apology and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

This is clearly a local place, and we were excited to try the food there, as it had been recommended by other locals. Sadly, the meals were '50/50'....... Half of us had a good dining experience, while the other half (there were 8 of us) were sorely disappointed in our dinner, or simply could not eat it at all. It's a gamble.........

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank HeyHoLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econciergeb, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Oasis Mariscos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know that the dishes have been to your liking, we offer you an apology, we hope you will allow us to change your perspective in the next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Oasis Mariscos also viewed

 

Been to El Oasis Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.