We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like going home”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #34 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
logansport indiana
111
Reviewed 9 August 2005

This was our third time at the Riu Cancun. We thought we would try another resort to see how it compared, boy was that a mistake, We could not get out of that place and back to the Riu fast enough. When we pulled up to the Riu we all said we were home. We were met at the door with smiles and a cold drink. Every staff member from the front desk to the cleaning lady, to the grounds keeper smiles at you and makes you feel welcome. We will never stay anywhere else in Cancun again. We have found our paradise Thank you to our Riu family....

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,285 - 6,289 of 10,348 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
113
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Myself and my new husband have just returned from the Riu Cancun 8/8 and what an amazing place. The hotel is amazing and the view from the room was breathtaking.

The hotel is spotless and you will always see staff cleaning around the place. The food is nice if you like basic,but there is a large variety on site. The pool bar is quality and we spent our first day in there and left there very very merry. The daytime and evening entertainment is brill,the entertainers work very hard.

Make sure you visit the on site spa.I had 2 massages while i was there and they were dreamy!!!!!

We met some other couples there and we had so many laughs.we are staying in contact with them and meeting up with them soon.

The weather was perfect and the dolphin excursion is a must do for all. And the jet skis on the hotel beach are loads of fun too.

Only one moan and that is the lifts they are a pain.We could be waiting a while for them and sometimes they would miss our floor.
Some days only 2 out of 4 lifts were working which meant longer waiting.And there was no way i was walking down all those stairs.
we were on the 12th floor and it would be annoying when people would stop the lift at the 3rd and 2nd floor,just plain lazy i say!!!!!

I would recommend this hotel to honeymooners because it is the perfect setting for the start of your new life together.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
124
Reviewed 8 August 2005

This hotel is awesome! Every single person that works at this hotel is so nice. When we arrived Rodrigo took care of us we were early, so our room wasn't ready. Within 20 min it was, and boy was it worth it! They put us in room 1600 with a panaramic view WOW!! There was only one other room close to us so it was like our own section. The staff work sooo hard to maintain this beautiful hotel. Hundreds of people walking in and out, yet you never see the hotel dirty. Lets talk about tipping: yes it's All Inclusive, and they get tip share from the price we pay, but they work so hard they deserve tips. The ceramic fish on the counters are the tip jars LEAVE A TIP! They don't expect it nor do they ask for it. The Drinks at the pool bar are a little watered down, but when you drink all day it's propbably a little better. Try to find Juanita-she is the best bartender. Ask her to show you that dam* box! You will try to figure that thing out for ever. Oh, and you have to make reservations at Corazone(Brazilian) Meat is sooo tender and em em good! Go on the Paradise Reef Tour and the party hopper tour. Tip these guys too! Your guide at the party hopper works his a** off to get you drinks tip him, and the guys on the snorkel tour(paradise reef) are awesome tip them too! They have an open bar when you get back from snorkeling. And also go to the Michale Jackson show- I am all about hip hop and R&B and that guy moves exactly like the King of Pop! The food at the buffet is good-not gourmet, but good. Tip those guys too I didn't see very many people tipping them, and they deserve it too. They work in hot hot area and cook good food. This Hotel is one of the nicest hotels in Cancun outside and in. You should stay at this hotel. I read reviews on this site for over a month worrying about the few not so good reviews. Don't worry about them they are way too picky and wouldn't be happy in there own house. Stay here you will be very impressed.Oh yeah the elevators are a little slow, people crowd to get in at certain times. If you are on the 1,2nd, or 3rd or even 4th floor-WALK UP THE STAIRS! you will get their faster.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

Just got back with my husband from the Riu Hotel. It was the best vacation that we ever shared. The service was great, the people friendly, the food fantastic and the grounds were the most beautiful I have ever seen. My husband and I are planning our next trip back there next year. I will recommend this superior hotel to anyone who will listen. We met so many nice people from all over the world and it was just one happy place from the people who clean the grounds which is constant to the people who serve you dinner it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank newme49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hurricane, WV
112
Reviewed 7 August 2005

Our experience at the Riu Cancun Hotel was the best vacation my wife and I could have ever hoped for. The staff was excelent espesially a bartender at "La Mission" bar named Juan Carlos. If your going to drink go see Juan....He will definatly take care of you. If you plan on drinking Beer at the Riu Cancun dont plan on drinking anything but Corona. they do not stock any american beers. The drinks can be a bit weak sometimes but if you ask, they will load the drinks up for you. It really just depends on the Bartender

The cleaning staff is first rate. I have never seen Maids clean like these ladies do. they clean EVERYTHING spotless.

The services offered by the hotel are awsome. I had a lot of firsts there that were very memorable We went Scuba diving the first day we were there with Scuba Carribe right there on the hotel grounds and was delighted at the professionalism and courtacy of their staff as well. I also went on a deap sea fishing excursion with auqa world charters and caught a 5' 4" Sail Fish and several Tuna. there is definatly something for everyone. whether you want to windsurf, scuba dive, snorkle, or whatever its all there.

The Food is really good at all of the resturaunts however it does get old after about 5 days or so. If you want to eat at the reservation only resturants you need to make your reservations about 7:00 in the A.M. We ate at "Kawatchi" Japanese resturaunt one night and the only thing I liked was te Sushi. My wife and the friends we were with liked it though.

Like any Mexican town, If you leave the hotel busses are cheap, cabs are around 10$ U.S. To go downtown to market 28 or wal*mart. Our first bus ride was an experience all its own because it felt more like a roller coaster. If you can afford it TAKE A CAB!!!!! It's a lot less scary.

The pools are great. the one closest to "La Mission" is the only pool that I had any complaint with just because it feels more like a warm bath than a pool. word has it that they heat that pool for some reason. The beaches are awsome. some people complain about the few rocks that are close to the beach but I felt like they just made the scenery that much more beautiful. It is a topless beach so People with little children beware. People get up very early to go down and reserve their spot at the beach even though the Hotel says that you cant thats one rule that they dont enforce so if you want a spot under a cabana you'll need to get up around 5:30-6:00 to go do it. same with the pools there are umbrellas everywhere but they go early.

Overall the experience was beautiful and will definatly be back to cancun and will stay with a Riu hotel. Thier service, value, and friendly staff has made us Riu Class members for life.

If anyone has any speciffic questions about the hotel or things about Cancun you can contact me at mynes10@marshall.edu

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.8 km away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.7 km away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 177 in Cancun
7,741 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.5 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 km away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9 | Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $329 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing