We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cancun favorite”

Cenacolo Zona Hotelera
Ranked #21 of 1,392 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the Hotel Zone, this was our first restaurant. With over 30 years of tradition, this location offers a perfect balance between the best of Italian cuisine in Cancun and the best view of Nichupte Lagoon. It will surely make a memorable experience.
Reviewed 9 May 2021

When our concierge suggested Cenacolo on repeated trips to Cancun, we thought, “Italian in Mexico?” Now we’re sad we didn’t try this place sooner. The pasta is made fresh in-house and is so tender and delicious. For starters they offer an excellent beef or tuna carpaccio... both are magnificent. My favorite main dish is Green Hats... tender green pasta pockets filled with ricotta and sage butter. Fantastic. My husband’s favorite is pasta All’Amatriciana Spaghetti, which he says is tender, flavorful, and perfectly seasoned with a bold tomato sauce that isn’t too spicy or salty. For starters, they offer a variety of breads with a ricotta-Parmesan spread and seasoned onions. If you order a bottle of wine, they’ll pour it into a dramatic decanter. For dessert, the panna cotta was delicious. You can sit inside or outside overlooking the bay. The service is helpful and efficient. We always make a point of eating here on every visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bonebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCenacolo C, Director General at Cenacolo Zona Hotelera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience! We are very happy to read that our Divina Cucina Romagnola met your expectations and also captivated your senses. We really appreciate knowing that our pasta especially our green hats and the All'Amatriciana Spaghetti, they loved it.

Every detail of our Divina Cucina is by and for you. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Delicious food! Even better service. Would highly recommend for anyone that is looking for some authentic Italian cuisine.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank T4071WGmaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCenacolo C, Director General at Cenacolo Zona Hotelera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear T4071WGmaryg:


Thanks for let us know your marvelous opinion, it´s really special for us!

We are happy with your experience with our Divine Cucina Romagnola.
We hope see you soon again!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Italian food in Cancun, Mexico?? Yes!!!! This place is truly spectacular. Food was excellent. Service was exceptional. Location on the lagoon beautiful. We loved everything about it. Pure perfection! Our servers, Israel and Omar went above and beyond and attention was paid to every detail. Highly, highly recommend! We had the burrata, beef carpaccio, little green hats and the gnocchi sorrentino. Also leave room for dessert. Our four year old daughter watched as a dessert was brought for someone’ birthday af a nearby table. She was so enamoured by the sparkler used for the celebration. Even though it wasn’t her birthday, Omar Ana Israel arranged for a sparkler candle for her dessert. It was the highlight of her whole vacation. This place is super special.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank UpAndAlwaysAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCenacolo C, Director General at Cenacolo Zona Hotelera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear UpAndAlwaysAway

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that your visit to our restaurant is a must on your trip. And the value that our Cucina Romagnola is to you.

Israel and Omar will be pleased to know that your service was excellent.

We hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant in Cancun bar none!!! After our trip to Italy - Sorrento & Rome we found it difficult to find authentic Italian until we came to of all places Mexico. From the Carbonara , Risotto, to the homemade Guitar Pasta this place is #1!!!

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank 830frana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCenacolo C, Director General at Cenacolo Zona Hotelera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear 830frana:

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that your visit to our restaurant is a must on your trip. And the value that our Cucina Romagnola is to you.

We hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

Cenacolo is one of our favorite restaurants in the Hotel Zone and dinner there is like watching a choreographed ballet with food. The servers and busboys are meticulous in carefully placing ordered items on your table and then removing them when you’re finished. Decanting and pouring wine is elevated to an art form. Nothing is done sloppily and even the square “doggie bag” containers are carefully lined up parallel to the edges of the table. Our server, Omed, and busboy, Juan Carlos, were terrific at a recent dinner. We had the Bruschetta with Burrata (very creamy with a variety of ripe grape tomatoes), Shrimp-Stuffed Calamari (in my opinion the best thing on the menu), High Seas Fettuccine (a lighter dish with fresh shrimp) and the Bolognese Lasagna (a little disappointing because the pasta had exactly the same soft consistency as the cheese so there was no variation in texture. It’s the only reason I didn’t give Cenacola a 5-star review). If you have room after your main course, try the Chocolate Drop dessert (worth every calorie). We hadn’t been to Cenacolo in over a year because of the pandemic, but were very glad to see it still busy and thriving. Considering how good it is, I’m not surprised.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank coloradojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCenacolo C, Director General at Cenacolo Zona Hotelera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear coloradojeff:

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all about our Divina Cucina Romagnola, speciallly our Bruschetta with Burrata and Shrimp-Stuffed Calamari. It is important to offer you the best every time you come to visit us.
Obed and Juan Carlos will be happy to know that the service was excellent.

We hope to see you soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenacolo Zona Hotelera also viewed

 

Been to Cenacolo Zona Hotelera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.