We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloft Cancun(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,409)
Filter reviews
5,409 results
Traveller rating
3,110
1,405
545
215
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,110
1,405
545
215
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworld cafepreferred clubcoco cafesands restaurantolio restaurantbalcony roombarefoot grillentertainment teamsushipartial ocean viewhoneymoon suitedress codebeautiful beachfrench restaurantour waiterlobby barbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 5,409 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The thing that stood out most to me besides the beauty of our surroundings is the beauty of the staff and the pride they took in their careers. From Eugenia Mendez, the morning omelet maker to
Manuel Gomez, the server to our room cleaner Guadeloupe on the 11th floor we say thank you! Your kindness made our family trip that much more special. The world should learn from you. Kindness matters.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 other couples for 8 nights 3/12-3/20. Overall we love this place!! Was our 4th time to the Cancun area and by far our favorite place. The food is great. The layout of the resort is awesome. We like smaller and more quaint resorts. But most of all, the beach is gorgeous! Most beautiful beach we’ve ever been to. Water is calm, clear and it’s kept very clean. Check In was fast and efficient. Yes, the rooms are a bit basic. But, who cares?! We loved Waves and Sands and the Italian restaurant. A shout out to Diego who works the breakfast buffet everyday. He was so friendly and down to earth. We enjoyed chatting with him every morning. Carolina on the beach was awesome. Very attentive and always had a smile. We are returning here for our daughters senior trip and cannot wait!! Miss this place so much! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a awesome place with an amazing beach and is on a budget. You definitely get more for you money!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Older resort that has been remodeled, so that means older pool,no kids pool, jacuzzi, lounge area, small buffet sitting area. Don't pay for the preferred option, it's not worth it, unless you request to stay on the 8th floor to use the lounge. The Preferred area fills up quick on the beach as it is quite small. Also the cabanas are not all available to use, they set aside 2 of the 6 for people willing to sit through their sales presentation. This is the third different AMResort we've stayed at and the 1st time we where not escorted to our room, this was after we told them no thanks to the sales pitch..the first time. As for the restaurants, yes it's true you don't need reservations if your Preferred but they seem to have lots of trouble seating families of 5 or more anyway!? The resort staff was friendly and personable. The food was ok, the buffet needs more variety, the Japanese food was good as well as the service, Waves and Sands the same. Now El Patio was a different story. The 1st time we were told we'd have to wait because they couldn't push certain tables together ? then they did.... next to the kitchen. Because we enjoyed the food, we tried again.. this time we sat out front and this time it took almost 2 hours to eat, we walked away as did several others when they couldn't get dessert out on time.The evening entertainment was good, the lounge acts were decent except when the Cancun Tenors performed, way way too loud !! Couldn't hear the person next to you talk. As I said before, this is the 3rd resort we've stayed at with this company and it disappointed us to see the drop in quality. They refilled the mini bar on request when it was supposed to be done daily. They ask you when it would be a good time to clean your room which is great if they stuck to the time said not 9 hrs later.They replaced some of the used toiletries. Not enough lounge chairs around the pool, mostly because there's not enough room, so get up early. Why sell pool toys if you can't use them in the pool!? Each bar should have a Preferred Club choice of liqueur to choose from,you should't have to walk to the other side of the resort or go to the 8th floor! Get the entertainment staff involved with the nightlife, at your other clubs the staff would bring their energy to the Disco when it opened to help get the party started. Overall we still had a nice time at your resort but it was not what we've come to expect from a AMResort especially as Preferred Club member. The resort lacked ENERGY and EXCITEMENT, and that included the activities for the little ones.

Room Tip: Staying 1 week or more, get the largest room available, if not but you still would like a nice view, Jr. suite or ocean front.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile


The resort is beautiful, the beach is amazing, and the staff are incredibly attentive and friendly. There are really great activities throughout the day and the explorers club for kids is outstanding. My five-year-old wanted to be there all day every day! There’s so much going on and it’s so relaxing that we were there for eight days and seven nights and never even wanted to leave the resort to do an excursion! The beach is top notch. No matter how windy it is, the water is calm and it’s very shallow for quite a ways out into the ocean making swimming very enjoyable. It’s on a curve on the beach and this side of it is incredibly calm. The fiesta Americana next-door doesn’t even have a beach! You have to walk down cement steps to get into the water and the water is very choppy.

The waitstaff remember your name, they know what you like to order, and they literally become part of your family while you are there. They are extremely attentive and top-notch service. The food is excellent all over the resort. A lot of all-inclusive places have average or even sub-par food, however we thought the food at this resort was really good. There is a nice ice cream shop and coffee bar.

My biggest complaint would be housekeeping. We had to call nightly to have them come and clean our room. Our mini bar was never stocked. We would have to call and ask for towels and even one night I had to call and ask for a sheet because they did not put a top sheet on my bed under the comforter. Our room was also very hot for two entire days until they finally figured out how to fix our air conditioner. This was a huge disappointment and was quite frustrating.

We felt extremely safe the entire time we were there. My husband was quite skeptical to go to Mexico but he is now sold and wants to go back next year! The girls that work in the kids explorers club are unbelievable. I felt 100% comfortable leaving my five-year-old son to do activities with them. They keep your kids very busy and they will even take your kid to lunch and dinner if you want them to. It was maybe the most relaxing vacation I’ve had since having a child because I actually got to have a vacation too! My son cried the day we left because he did not want to leave “his girls“ at the explorers club.

I definitely recommend paying the extra money for the preferred club. The really nice perk is that when you check in you go to the eighth floor preferred club lounge and there are snacks and beverages available for you while you have your own private check-in. This is nice especially after such a long travel day

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kim89144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianRivera, eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to host your recent holidays. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, we are happy to know that every aspect of our resort has exceeded your expectations.

Dreams Sands prides itself on having a very friendly staff, that goes above and beyond to pamper all our guests! It is wonderful that you like everything we have to offer, our priority is to make your vacations a memorable experience, and it is an honor to know that we achieved it!

We appreciate your comments about the rooms opportunity areas; we offer you an apologies for any inconvenience may be caused. Thanks for your valuable feedback we continue improving our facilities and service, in order to provide a better experience in your next visit.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you home again for your next visit to our destination.

Best Regards,

Adrián Rivera
eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Just returned from 10 days at Dream Sands Cancun and could not have been more pleased with our experience. This is our second time at this hotel and since the last time we were there, they have made significant changes which have only added to the enjoyment.

We were in the Preferred section and, quite honestly, that is the only way I would go. We were treated like royalty. The convenience of checking in at the Preferred Club, the ability to have any question answered immediately, the service we received when in the club room and the ability to print our boarding passes upon check out made the whole experience stress free. The services they offered to us were over and above what we expected. Always a smile, always courteous and helpful and always concerned that we were having a good time best describes the atmosphere created by these hard working people. Since it was March Madness and my brother-in-law wanted to see his Kansas University team play, they reserved the conference room for us and fed us endlessly while we watched in the comfort of our own private room. It also helped that they won!

It was also a special birthday for my brother-in-law so he was greeted with a banner on his door, a bottle of wine and fruit in his room and a birthday cake.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food (gained 7 lbs.!) some more than others but there are so many choices that if you are not happy with something, just get another plate and start again (hence the 7 lbs.). The only suggestion I would make about the food is that the desserts became repetitive. They were the same for lunch as for supper. All of them were delicious but just my observation that maybe it would be nice to have a different variety at night. However, that did not stop me from eating them. And I also want to mention that they added an ice cream bar which was a nice touch.

The grounds are immaculate and the beach is really beautiful with soft sand and crystal clear water. We always made our way to the preferred section which is set apart from the main area because we liked the quietness but, if you want more activity, it is just a few steps away at the main pool. Roaming waiters were always available to bring drinks or fruit to your lounge chair.

While the rooms could use some updating, they were spotlessly maintained. Luis was in charge of our room and he was particularly thorough and really took pride in his work.

Some specific people I need to mention because they went out of their way to accommodate us. Sarah was the hostess at the World Buffet and our waiters were Alberto, Arturo and Eleazar. It didn't take them long to remember us and they knew before we even ordered what drinks we liked and they provided them for us. Edgar was in charge of the entertainment and, while we did not participate in the activities (too busy resting!), he made sure to come by every day to say hello and tell us what was on the schedule. The Preferred Staff led by Fernanda Franco included Claudia Salinas, Jesus and Armando Vega. There are no words to describe how much we appreciated their attention to detail and how hard they worked to provide the best experience possible. Thank you to all. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean so you can't go wrong. We did have an ocean front which was beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews