We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place and excellent dinner!”

La Fonda Del Zancudo
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fonda Del Zancudo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,198 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 January 2018

An amazing atmosphere - the garden setting, great staff and tasty food! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cancun!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank olga20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

La Fonda is in a formerly abandoned building that has been artfully restored with a romantic feel: vines growing up the walls, fairy lights in low hanging tree branches, exposed crumbles of the old walls. Very beautiful, completely unique for the area, and reminiscent of a bygone era.

The food is remarkable, with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients (some grown onsite), robust flavors, and beautiful presentation. I came with my grandmother and we probably ordered half the menu to split. The sangria is the best I've ever had. This is where to go for a true local experience, far away from the cheap kitsch of the overpriced tourist zone restaurants. This is where to find what the real, modern Cancun culinary scene is up to now!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ritzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Had dinner at this restaurant 2 times and the food was tasty, fresh, well presented and consistent in the 2 times.

Regarding service very polite and genuine.

Highly recoomend if you would like to dine for under 50 USD for 2 persons and want value for the money

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Burgerfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

In over 30 restaurant we have been around Cancun, this is the best. The setting is great, the food delicious, rare tastes and surprisingly good and new recipes. Their tuna tartar, their soups and salads are wonderful and the main courses are great. We tried nearly half the things on the menu and we will be back for the other half.
I hope they will not drop their standards as many restaurants do.
And the 'inner garden' setting is wonderful too.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MMDTravelstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This place looks like an old style garden with a lot of trees and beautiful enviroment. I asked for the banana ravioli with bean sauce. Completely amazing!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nirka2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Fonda Del Zancudo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and your review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fonda Del Zancudo also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Fonda Del Zancudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing