We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic atmosphere, spacious & private”

La Fonda Del Zancudo
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fonda Del Zancudo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,198 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We enjoyed a nice romantic evening here, dining on delicately-cooked pasta, wine, and a cocktail featuring crispy crickets (yum!).

Plenty of elbow room between tables.

Highly recommended for couples or intimate groups (of 3-4)

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andymJ1141GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

when you arrive you can barely find the front door. It’s a dark street and it’s a bit hidden. But the front patio and the dining room which most of it is outside is beautiful. You feel like you’re in a garden. And actually you are in a garden. There were three of us and we had drinks, appetizers and dinner. The total bill was $75. And the food was excellent. The only drawback was the service. We had a waiter who clearly didn’t understand how to wait on a table. Our food came out erratic times. I had to send my steak back for further cooking. But overall we liked the place and would recommend it to others.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Lally3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Went there a long time ago but the place is very nice, like a garden in a house. Food was good. Need to bring mosquito repellent because it is outdoors.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank cancunbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

An amazing atmosphere - the garden setting, great staff and tasty food! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cancun!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank olga20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

La Fonda is in a formerly abandoned building that has been artfully restored with a romantic feel: vines growing up the walls, fairy lights in low hanging tree branches, exposed crumbles of the old walls. Very beautiful, completely unique for the area, and reminiscent of a bygone era.

The food is remarkable, with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients (some grown onsite), robust flavors, and beautiful presentation. I came with my grandmother and we probably ordered half the menu to split. The sangria is the best I've ever had. This is where to go for a true local experience, far away from the cheap kitsch of the overpriced tourist zone restaurants. This is where to find what the real, modern Cancun culinary scene is up to now!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ritzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fonda Del Zancudo also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Fonda Del Zancudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing