We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allegro Cozumel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,189)
Filter reviews
5,189 results
Traveller rating
1,523
1,760
966
533
407
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,523
1,760
966
533
407
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsultimate dive experiencekids poolfirst clubfishdive shopthe oriental restaurantgreat beachkids clubdinner buffeta la carte restaurantsfamily resortdive palancarpicky eaterbeach volleyballrecommend this resortother resortshard beds
Filter
Updating list...
2,589 - 2,594 of 5,189 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a great resort with friendly staff and great service. Great value for the money, high praise over all and no complaints.

This resort is not a 5 star, it was not built 2 weeks ago in your native country and your mother is not in their kitchen cooking your favourite dishes the way you like them ;-)

The staff and new owners are trying hard to undo bad reviews connected with the previous owner. The resort has always been an Occidental property, but has had a couple different names. All the staff were very helpful. “If we have it - we will get it for you” says the manager. He makes sure his staff is aware that happy customers come back. And returning customers mean steady jobs. Many thanks to Alberto, Carolina, Mariela, Raul, Ivan, Miguel, Freddy, Carlos, Lara and all the rest of the fun and hard working staff that made our vacation special and memorable.

The resort is family oriented, with a large kids water park near the lobby. The resort has great facilities and separate space for adult type facilities closer to the beach (swim up bar, volley ball (pool+beach), whirlpool and a couple pools) ...lots of space between the two areas.

Ala carte restaurants had some nice menu choices. Try the coconut shrimp ;-) But this is not a Keg or Tony Romanos ...this is a foreign country.

Bugs - only a few mosquitoes, mainly sitting at the counter of the upstairs lobby bar. No sand fleas (no see-ums).

Dive shop - accommodating and friendly, no complaints - for details check out “ProDive Cozumel”

Tips...
breakfast buffet - the early bird gets the bacon and scrambled eggs.
The beach bar could use more glasses and self serve beer+water

Why did I wait so long??? ... It has been 13 years since I was in Cozumel. Hurricane damage and a shortage of direct flights kept me away for a while. And there were so many new-to-me places to see. Returning to Cozumel and the Allegro will definitely be at the top of our list. One big reason to return is the diving - the great reefs appear to be unchanged ...the snorkeling is good too. There are three different snorkeling companies to choose at the Allegro.

Room Tip: like to sleep in? - request a room closer to the beach hard beds - the way I like them ;-) they have mattress pads on request. upper rooms - your neighbours can be a little noisy (sound comes over the wall under the palapa roof) ...and it’s really maddening when they’re having more fun than we are ;-) for us it wasn’t a real problem
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diver456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

line up to line up to line up but get your timming right and little or no line ups
water staff would realy like real maple syrup if you go
got kids good place lots for them
hate kids too bad you were one once you know
learned how to sail
rented a car had fun (with full coverage ins. theirs of course)
great place ,clean, safe, friendly and good weather

Room Tip: ground floor good no stairs if small kids second floor cool with thach roof but could leak also curtians could be open when changing not on ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay at the Allegro Cozumel very much.
The rooms were comfortable and very clean.
The food and drinks were very good.
The beach was great.
All the staff made us feel very welcome and were most helpful in every way.
We hope to visit again, perhaps for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We (2 couples, all in our 40's) travelled to Allegro Feb 25-Mar 3 2012 and had a great time.
We are all beach people and the Allegro beach is amazing. Soft sand, crystal clear water and it was never rough. (may have been our luck as the weather was fantastic too) There was never a problem getting beach loungers; no getting up at the crack of dawn to save chairs was a bonus!

Lots of fun playing beach volleyball, sailing the hobiecat and snorkelling off the beach.

Allegro is a smaller AI than many I have visited. A pleasant "neighbourly" size as it allowed you to meet many guests and staff. The grounds are well maintained. Rooms are a little small and dated but kept very clean with comfortable beds. We had ground floor rooms so never had to worry about roof leaks but did hear a few people complaining after a brief but heavy downpour.
The food was alright. You don't go to an AI for the meals! A few items were extremely well prepared especially the roast beef and both a-la-cartes. We always found something to our liking and all 4 of us have had to swear to diet and exercise upon our return.
We did a deep sea fishing excursion (recommend Yucatan fishing) and brought some of our catch back to the resort. The kitchen team at the snack bar did an amazing job preparing and serving it for us.
The Time-share salesmen are right at the lobby and entrance to the buffet and are quite pushy but we steered clear and politely said no which was respected.
If you are looking for a quiet resort with a great beach but not expecting 5 star accommodations, I would recommend Allegro.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spartakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in this all-inclusive resort from Jan 28 to Feb 8 for a total of 11 days on a Westjet vacation package. Although in general, we were very happy with the resort, I have a few comments - both good and not- so- good for the benefits of potential travellers.

This was my first visit to the island. I was very impressed with the layout and the location of the resort. The compound is huge with many amenities including swimming pools, tennis courts, children play structures, a waterpark with a huge dump bucket and slides ,spa, laundry, ATM etc. The ground was well-maintained with workers constantly cleaning, trimming, cutting and mowing. It was very pleasant walking on the main walkway paved with inter-locking bricks especially after dinner, and listening to the many birds chirping away.

We found the hotel room practical and agreeable especially seeing the towel arts designed and left by the cleaning lady each time she cleaned the room -- it usually made us laugh and appreciative of her effort. We enjoyed reading and relaxing on the hamock outside the porch very much, that was -- until we got a whiff of disgusting cigarette smoke coming from our neighbors next door. Very often too,we smelled septic gas in the whole resort compound. What surprised us was that we did not have to use bugs repellent or anti-itch cream even once.

The beach is beautiful and the water is calm-- great for swimming and snorkeling. You can see lots of interesting fish while swimming or snorkeling just off the beach. I even saw a couple of stingrays on two occasions while standing on the pier. The sand on the beach is soft but it was very difficult to go for a leisure stroll especially the firm wet part is very narrow unlike those at most beaches in other areas like Hawaii, Costa Rica, Cancun etc.

Snorkeling on the island is fantastic. We rented a car and drove to a nearby beach called Corona. There, snorkeling is much better since we could see beautiful corals in addition to many beautiful fish even in very shallow water. There are washrooms. shower facilities and a small restaurant. If you do not want to eat or drink, you only have to pay $2 US to use the facilities. We also went on a snorkeling trip on a boat operated by Albertos off Iberostar resort down the road. We saw some beautiful fish including starfish, eels, turtles and flying fish in addition to beautiful corals. The corals, I might add is not as beautiful as those we saw in Jamaica. We booked the snorkeling trip through the Westjet rep., whom we thought should have been there only for the comfort and well-being of the Westjet travellers instead of peddling guided tours for other operators.

The tennis courts onsite were very well- maintained with tennis rackets and balls supplied by the resort. It is however, recommended to bring your own if you are serious about playing. I had a couple of pleasant games with a fellow Canadian whom I met at the resort. He and his wife generously let me use her racket.

We found the food in the restaurants quite acceptable. There were many varieties including grilled meats or fish, grilled vegetables, soups, fruits ( tasty papaya!), desserts etc. In the morning, I enjoyed having my easy-over eggs cooked by the lady chef at the custom-grill where you can also have custom-made omelletes. Her smile and skills were probably the reason why there were always long line-ups at her grill. Guests are also allowed to eat at the two a-la carte restaurants for a limited number of times. For a one-week vacation, you are allowed only twice and you need to book ahead at the front desk. We found the service at the two restaurants much better in addition to better food and wine selection and quality. We preferred the Mexican one not only because of the food but also the headwaiter was a pleasant, helpful and joyful man.

There were laundry, ATM, Internet service on site. We found the cost for Internet far too expensive. What we found ridiculous was that we had to present our passport to buy Internet time.

In summary, we found the resort management and staff in general very helpful and pleasant. Our stay was a pleasant one despite some negatives. We have no hesitation to recommend this resort to anyone keeping in mind that this is not a 5-star level resort.

Room Tip: It is highly recommended to bring US $1 bills for tips to the cleaning staff, porters, and so on. We did not find the 4000 blocks facing the waterpark very noisy as mentioned by some travellers. Main floor rooms are easy to access and have no roof-leakage problem although slightly lack of privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taijime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews