We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allegro Cozumel 2012”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Allegro Cozumel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of amenities, great food anytime, and great rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,191 - 2,195 of 4,582 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a great resort with friendly staff and great service. Great value for the money, high praise over all and no complaints.

This resort is not a 5 star, it was not built 2 weeks ago in your native country and your mother is not in their kitchen cooking your favourite dishes the way you like them ;-)

The staff and new owners are trying hard to undo bad reviews connected with the previous owner. The resort has always been an Occidental property, but has had a couple different names. All the staff were very helpful. “If we have it - we will get it for you” says the manager. He makes sure his staff is aware that happy customers come back. And returning customers mean steady jobs. Many thanks to Alberto, Carolina, Mariela, Raul, Ivan, Miguel, Freddy, Carlos, Lara and all the rest of the fun and hard working staff that made our vacation special and memorable.

The resort is family oriented, with a large kids water park near the lobby. The resort has great facilities and separate space for adult type facilities closer to the beach (swim up bar, volley ball (pool+beach), whirlpool and a couple pools) ...lots of space between the two areas.

Ala carte restaurants had some nice menu choices. Try the coconut shrimp ;-) But this is not a Keg or Tony Romanos ...this is a foreign country.

Bugs - only a few mosquitoes, mainly sitting at the counter of the upstairs lobby bar. No sand fleas (no see-ums).

Dive shop - accommodating and friendly, no complaints - for details check out “ProDive Cozumel”

Tips...
breakfast buffet - the early bird gets the bacon and scrambled eggs.
The beach bar could use more glasses and self serve beer+water

Why did I wait so long??? ... It has been 13 years since I was in Cozumel. Hurricane damage and a shortage of direct flights kept me away for a while. And there were so many new-to-me places to see. Returning to Cozumel and the Allegro will definitely be at the top of our list. One big reason to return is the diving - the great reefs appear to be unchanged ...the snorkeling is good too. There are three different snorkeling companies to choose at the Allegro.

Room Tip: like to sleep in? - request a room closer to the beach hard beds - the way I like them ;-) they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diver456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

line up to line up to line up but get your timming right and little or no line ups
water staff would realy like real maple syrup if you go
got kids good place lots for them
hate kids too bad you were one once you know
learned how to sail
rented a car had fun (with full coverage ins. theirs of course)
great place ,clean, safe, friendly and good weather

Room Tip: ground floor good no stairs if small kids second floor cool with thach roof but could leak also c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay at the Allegro Cozumel very much.
The rooms were comfortable and very clean.
The food and drinks were very good.
The beach was great.
All the staff made us feel very welcome and were most helpful in every way.
We hope to visit again, perhaps for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We (2 couples, all in our 40's) travelled to Allegro Feb 25-Mar 3 2012 and had a great time.
We are all beach people and the Allegro beach is amazing. Soft sand, crystal clear water and it was never rough. (may have been our luck as the weather was fantastic too) There was never a problem getting beach loungers; no getting up at the crack of dawn to save chairs was a bonus!

Lots of fun playing beach volleyball, sailing the hobiecat and snorkelling off the beach.

Allegro is a smaller AI than many I have visited. A pleasant "neighbourly" size as it allowed you to meet many guests and staff. The grounds are well maintained. Rooms are a little small and dated but kept very clean with comfortable beds. We had ground floor rooms so never had to worry about roof leaks but did hear a few people complaining after a brief but heavy downpour.
The food was alright. You don't go to an AI for the meals! A few items were extremely well prepared especially the roast beef and both a-la-cartes. We always found something to our liking and all 4 of us have had to swear to diet and exercise upon our return.
We did a deep sea fishing excursion (recommend Yucatan fishing) and brought some of our catch back to the resort. The kitchen team at the snack bar did an amazing job preparing and serving it for us.
The Time-share salesmen are right at the lobby and entrance to the buffet and are quite pushy but we steered clear and politely said no which was respected.
If you are looking for a quiet resort with a great beach but not expecting 5 star accommodations, I would recommend Allegro.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spartakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.1 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
14.4 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.6 km away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,301 reviews
1.3 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5,028 reviews
21.6 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $182 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing