We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barracuda(Cozumel)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Amigos Hostel Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Angel Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,402)
Filter reviews
5,402 results
Traveller rating
1,595
1,821
996
561
429
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,595
1,821
996
561
429
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsultimate dive experiencefirst clubfishthatched roofdive shopkids poolthe oriental restaurantgreat beachswim up barkids clubdinner buffeta la carte restaurantsfamily resortpicky eaterbeach volleyballtowel artother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2,486 - 2,491 of 5,402 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The main reason we return to Allegro Cozumel is the dive shop! Hans and Amanda are now friends as we have visited the island 5 times and 4 of them we have stayed at the Allegro! If you want a 5 star not the place for you! If you want clean rooms and friendly staff then by all means Allegro is for you! The meals are OK, not gourmet but we always found something to eat! We will be returning and staying at the Allegro. Thinking maybe February 2013!!

Room Tip: Ask for a foam pad for bed!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriDivefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My wife and I went in Mid- December 2012. Was only about 20% occupied. Pools closed and all a la carte restaurants as well for cleaning and repair. This resort was average at best.The beach though was great. Kids pools and activities looked liked they might have been fun if they were opened. Food was below avg. If you are just looking to hang on the beach and didn't care about the rest of the property this is the place. Avg rooms but clean. Employees tried hard too please everyone. Price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beachlover50064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The Allegro Hotel provided a very good time for myself and my son. It is a little ways from town (10 min) but for us that was a good thing. i would suggest renting a car to see the island. The beach is very nice and is the highlight of the hotel. The food was hit or miss but the staff was very friendly and very accomidating. The only turn off we expirienced were the time share sales people, they were right there when you first arrived and everytime you went to eat. My vacation time is very important to me and there was no way i was sitting through a hour and half sales pitch with no intention of buying. they do not take no for answer. Big turn off Allegro! Other than that i would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nectardiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were very comfortable with our stay and have recommended to friends to stay at the Allegro. The staff and how they listened to our needs and wants and waiting on us with pleasure was the Best! The buffet and fresh omelettes and fresh fruit smoothies was something we would wait for come morning. The restaurants in the evening served a variety of cultural food choices. We both have a physical disability and we asked for a low level room near where we wanted to spend most of our day and was accommodated. I would like to see the ocean bars open in to the evening later as the sun sets and for evening strolls. I woould also like to see some sandwiches, tacos, burritos, etc. available at any time during the day. We do call it our other home and are returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We have been to Coz numerous times over the past 10 years or so and have stayed at 3-4 different resorts. I must say that the Allegro has been our favorite and we have returned there several times since we first went a couple years ago.

Resort Grounds: The staff are constantly working in the area to ensure a properly groomed landscape. I have seen numerous staff members combing the beach area for any foreign obstacles that might prevent a hazard or is just unsightly. We enjoy seeing all the Iguanas that hang out on the grounds. Walkways are always clean, grass and hedges trimmed, and flowers well kept.

Resort Staff: I must say these are the best. Of course they are in the business of satisfying people but this staff does it the best. Ivan (Guest Service Manager) is always outgoing and will do everything in his power to satisfy. He arranged a surprise flower arrangement, a bottle of bubbly, and extra decor for my wife's birthday! On another occasion he upgraded our stay to a first class room with no extra charge. The only minor issue that we have had was the concierge is always excited to help get your luggage to your room but when its time to leave we have never been able to get any help getting our luggage back to the front. This was very minor but when you are including SCUBA gear it sure would help to at least have a cart.

Resort food: Everyone has their own opinion of food quality. As for all-inclusive and the fantastic rate you are not going to get top notch gourmet food. There is always something available at the buffet that we liked. They have a wide selection ranging from Mexican to Italian choices and if you cant find something that you like then you are vacationing in the wrong place to start with. Some days we enjoyed the fajitas and some days we just felt like a burger or sandwich. On our last trip they hotel had several special nights and the meals were out of this world! No complaints from us!

Rooms: They are what they are. I have not stayed anywhere in Mexico where the bedding was something you would die for. Often they are hard regardless of where you go but we got used to it after a couple nights. We have stayed in both upstairs and downstairs rooms. If you are in upstairs and it rains you might get a small puddle or two but nothing major. We really liked the wrap around porches of the upstairs suites but getting luggage up and down was a chore. Baths were fine; nothing fancy but clean and functioning properly. Every day the room service maids would create a new "animal" from our towels and use fresh flowers petals to decorate. We always looked forward to what they would create for us each day. Fantastic room cleaning service!!! The hammocks on the porches are VERY relaxing but once you get in one you might have a hard time getting out....haha The only complaint that we had with the rooms was the TV channel selection. While we dont go to Cozumel to watch TV, we do enjoy watching something just before bed. There is only 1 or 2 channel that are in English. The majority of visitors to the hotel are Americans or European so more TV channels in English would be appropriate and appreciated.

Pools / Bars: Our favorite! There are 4 pools at the resort including the splash pad playground for the kids. We always stay in the activity pool that includes the swim-up bar. The pools could definitely stand to be repainted but that doesn't take away from the enjoyment. There is a relaxing pool that some people hang out in for a more quiet time and then there is the private pool that is reserved for Suite or Premium rooms only. This one doesnt have as many people in it because it is a bit secluded from all the other activity (plus it was too long of a walk to the bar for us). There are 4 bars on the resort. What we didnt like about it was that you never knew which one would be open at what hours. The beach bar, which is located beside the hot tub and closest to the beach) is not always open. So if you are enjoying the tub or chilling out on the beach you will have to walk quite a ways to get a drink. The swim up bar would often close before the pool did and you would have to get out of the pool and walk to another bar if you wanted a drink or refill. I would like to see both bars open as long as there are people in the area and using it.

In conclusion: We absolutely love this place! For the price we think it is the best value. We are SCUBA divers and having the dive shop and pier right on the property makes it nice and easy. There is always something going on and lots of fun to be had. The drinks are cold, sandy beach, good food and first class staff. We are looking forward to our return hopefully in February!!

Room Tip: The suites are definitely worth the little extra to upgrade too. They are closer to the beach, pools and are away from the sometimes noisey kids play area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeeRayMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews