We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL OUR FAVORITE PLACE!”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I'm a little overdue, but think about writing this review everyday because the Allegro Cozumel is still on my mind! We went in August for 10 days, and once again - had our best trip ever to our favorite place. We have stayed here about 7 times over the last 15 years, and this was by far the best. They have done so many upgrades, us regulars can clearly see major differences. (To start off --- we are low maintenance, and we want a good beach. And in Cozumel, there is no better beach than this. But we are also not expecting to pay cheap prices and then get disappointed that we aren't staying at the fanciest place on earth. You are on an ISLAND, you are off the grid.)

BEACH - can't get better. Beautiful, calm, always plenty of chairs and space, water is perfect. Beach is clean. We had friends who were in Playa del Carmen the same week we were, and they couldn't sit at the beach because there was too much seaweed. But the time we reached the beach each day - we never saw any of it. The crew works really hard to keep the beach pristine and nice. This is a smooth white sandy beach, water is bathtub warm, clear and calm. Not rocky at all - absolutely gorgeous.
ROOMS - much nicer than before. Showers were nicer, best room we have stayed in during all of our visits.
FOOD - breakfast has always been great and still is, and love that they added a small little juice bar. Omlette line is worth waiting for. Lunch is the same - nothing super fancy, but chicken sandwiches and burgers, and the chips + pick & guacamole are still our favorite. But now they have an ice cream machine --- and there is something incredible about this soft serve, and literally ate so much because it was so great. Dinner (buffet) very much improved and food was good. Some nights, the resort was busier than others so we did have to deal with some lines waiting to be seated at the buffet. BUT - you could always get a drink while you're waiting. OR -- one new thing they put out are disposable plates/cups, etc. so if you didn't want to wait in line --- grab a plate, fill it up, and leave! Loved having that option. Took our food to our room one night. Love that they had a little pasta station every night, which kept my picky teenager very happy. And the homemade ice cream - again, sometimes a line to scoop it out but definitely worth it! Dinner (restaurant) -- the new Japanese steakhouse was great! Great show, great fun, great food! Great addition to the resort.
DRINKS - if your drinks aren't strong enough, get two! It's all-inclusive, and so I can't stand when people complain that their drinks aren't strong enough. Get a margarita with a shot of tequila on the side. Or ask for more liquor. The staff will accommodate you.
POOLS - pools were cleaner than they have ever been. I'm sure it's hard to keep these clean because people go from the ocean to the beach to the pool. But pool was clean - we just didn't spend much time there because we were in MEXICO so we wanted to be on the beach.
WEATHER - we had great weather, but we did get hit with a tropical storm that did keep us inside for 1.5 days. But the resort now has wifi (you have to pay for it) but it was strong enough and worked just fine. But the next day, they had double the staff cleaning up the beach. Very hard workers.

This resort allows you to truly feel like you are in paradise and you can be completely off the grid if you want to be. Very relaxing. This is NOT the resort for you, if you want to party all night (place quiets down pretty early) and this is NOT the resort for you if you just want to hang in your room. But if you want to sit on the beach, relax, swim in the ocean, eat some food, decompress, and get away from craziness - this is the place.
In all --- this was the best trip we've had here. Great staff, great upgrades, great service and it was a great price. We had a great time and we are so thankful to the staff for keeping us happy and comfortable and safe, and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank mudd80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mudd80123,
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your stay at Allegro Cozumel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and you returned to your home safely with great memories about your experience with us. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable vacations. 
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards!
Monica P.
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 4,582 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Enjoyed our one bedroom unit at the First Club. Specialty restaurants are very good especially the Asian. Dive shop is well set up but having the first dive leave at 8 am is a bit rushed as breakfast is supposed to be served from 7am at the other end of the property. Eating getting back to room to clean up and change and then go to dive shop by 7.45 is pushing it. It would b much better if the First dives left at 8.30am.
Be aware that we were there during the off season supposedly quiet time but the hotel was letting in crowds of people just for the weekend. They came as families with lots of kids, very noisy. We like to travel during the offseason when the kids are in school.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Scubagirl936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Scubagirl936,
We first would like to thank you for choosing our for your holidays Allegro Cozumel and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

After being forced to re-book a vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Dominican Republic due to Hurricane Irma, we ended up at the Barcelo Allegro in Cozumel...what a let down. We have stayed in several Barcelo hotels and continue to travel to them because we have always been thrilled with our experience. Barcelo should be ashamed to have this hotel tarnishing their name.

"Day Pass"?? - For starters, I guess there was a "day pass" offered to locals at discounted prices so that they could come and eat and drink and stay at the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. What a nightmare. The hotel was taken over. There was no room at the swim up bar, long lines at the beach bar and restaurants. We waited over 45 minutes to get into the buffet for breakfast. Once inside, we waited another 30+ minutes to get an omelette. These guests would pile food on multiple plates at a time and take them back to their tables. I watched two serving trays full of bacon get emptied by 2 guests that piled the bacon 8 inches high on 4 separate plates. What a nightmare.

Pool: There is a rubber lining at the bottom of the pools...it is slimy and dirty...ew. On Saturday, we were doing a scuba training in the main pool and could not see our instructor who was 3 feet in front of us. The pool was so disgusting and dirty. After that, we wouldn't get back into the pools. The swim up bar was nice, but was impossible to get to because guests would hang out there all day in large, loud groups.

Beach: The beach was ok....I'm wondering if the hurricanes caused more seaweed than normal, but it would have been nice if the seaweed was raked up from time to time. We saw several little critters in the ocean, sting rays, crabs, fish, all right under our feet. It was fun, but also a little scary when the water was too agitated to see the bottom. There was a waiter at the beach that was AMAZING. I wish I would have gotten his name....very quick with drinks and made sure your drink was always full. He was so good.

Grounds - Mosquitos...holy mosquitos....they are everywhere. After the first night, my BF and I had a combined total of 87 mosquito bites. I didn't even know that was possible. After that, we drowned ourselves in OFF bug spray and were ok...but what a mistake it was to overlook that on the first night. There were cute little Coaties (raccoon/lemur type animals) that ran around the resort. We also saw iguanas and gigantic frogs. Rumor has it there are also crocodiles nearby, although we never saw them.

Food: For the most part, the food was not good. It was edible, but nothing to get excited about. There was a pasta bar at the buffet one night that was really yummy, and the omelette bar at the buffet in the mornings was always great. Also really liked the smoothie station. For a couple days at the breakfast buffet, we were told we couldn't have jam for our toast due to an inspection. Something about the plastic containers? That's fine, but maybe put a bowl of jam out for guests, like the ketchup, not just take it away all together! The Japanese restaurant was good, however, we were given vouchers that we were told could go towards lobster at this restaurant...when we tried to use the vouchers, they told us we couldn't that night due to short notice, but the following night at the Italian restaurant we could use them...come to find out, the Italian restaurant was closed the following night.

Food Availability: I think the biggest problem with the food was that there were HUGE gaps between the availability of food. We arrived at the beginning of one of those "gaps" and were starving from the long day of travel. We had to wait over an hour to finally eat. They had "snacks" at the Sports bar, but they were a joke...chips but no salsa or queso, leftover chicken nuggets but no condiments for dipping....cold cuts and some fruit...very minimal.

"Premier" level - The "premier" lounge was a joke...food always seemed like leftovers from the previous meal at the buffet. There was a good liquor selection, but never any ice. Also, on Saturday and Sunday, a "day pass" guest EMPTIED out the food from the premier lounge in one stop...loaded up multiple plates of food and carried them out to the main pool to feed lots of people out there. I don't think this would happen if there weren't such huge gaps between food availability.

Rooms - The cleanliness of our room was fantastic. We stayed in room 6822. It had a thatched roof, which was kind of fun, but when it rained it smelled terrible. Also, we often had little caterpillars on the bed, in our suitcases, on our towels, etc. My biggest complaint was that the pillows were so STINKY...smelled like mildew to the point that we slept without pillows most of the time. They were so yucky.

PROS: The diving staff was awesome. We did an open "discovery" dive with Alec and Balthasar. It was incredible....despite the fact that it was cloudy outside. They were very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. They alleviated all of the anxiety that we had about diving and walked us through the process. It was great! Also, the staff at the beach bar, specifically Eric and Luis, were great! Always friendly and ready with drinks when they saw us coming. Diego (I think), the manager at La Palapa for lunches was SO attentive and friendly. We always looked forward to seeing him. In general, all of the staff was kind, courteous, and helpful. We never had a problem with the staff.

Room Tip: Buildings in the 50's and 60's are closest to the beach. Upstairs rooms: shared balcony &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Brandy M,
Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in Allegro Cozumel, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Allegro will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.
Warm Regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Myself and three other twenty-somethings spent a week at the Allegro Cozumel the last week of April 2017 and we had an amazing time at this resort. Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to families - as there are lot of options for children and the hotel was very quiet and relaxing. If you're looking for a party hotel with a bustling night life this isn't the place, but it did offer us a very quiet, relaxing, and enjoyable vacation where we were able to make our own fun!

Room (3.5/5)
We had a superior room and I really enjoyed the look and feel. It was very clean, well-kept, air-conditioned and spacious. It has a safe, mini-fridge, and a lot of closet space (which was nice for me). The shower was beautiful and HUGE, however on occasion it took us a long time to get the hot water working. I found the birds to be RELENTLESS as well, but it turned out we had a bit of a hole in our roof, so that's likely why. Maybe earplugs wouldn't be bad just in case if you're a light sleeper.

Service (3.5/5)
Overall, the service was absolutely fine. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, and available to help whenever we needed it. The excursion staff were very helpful, offering great insight into travelling into town. Our rooms were always restocked, cleaned, and serviced with fresh towels which was nice. Occasionally getting drinks at bars took a while (understandably) and check in to the hotel was extremely timely (about an hour), due to the large number of guests checking in AND because we were at the very back of the line unfortunately.

Dining (4/5)
I'm not entirely picky when it comes to dining, but I was impressed with the food and the service at this hotel. As a group of 4 the longest we waited to be seated at the buffets was about 5 minutes, the days I dined alone (breakfast) it was seconds. The lunch buffet was centrally located, with a lot of food options. MOSTLY North American cuisine (french fries/chicken burgers/pizza), with some local food as well. The breakfast buffet was very loaded, and dinner buffets were always changing themes but a lot of options for even the pickiest eaters. The Hibachi experience was great, took about 1.5 hours but it was quite enjoyable and the amount of food was perfect! Would definitely recommend doing this if you only have the one option. I'm not sure if it was situational but the Italian restaurant took an extremely long time (which didn't bother me as we were in no rush), so that may be something to be mindful of.

Beach/Pool (4/5)
The weather when we were there was AMAZING.. however, a bit TOO amazing at times (ie. no clouds/blistering sun). I will say that the beach is rather small and the only shade provided are from a few nicely located palm trees. If you aren't lucky enough to get a spot in the shade, it gets extremely hot. We brought the umbrella from our room to make our own shade and the staff explained that this wasn't allowed. So, be very mindful about that. That being said, there was almost always a chair available in a somewhat shaded area, so this wasn't too much of a problem for us. The water itself was beautiful, and the pools were kept at a very nice temperature, as well as not too crowded.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear JennyFinlay,
In Allegro we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.
Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cozumel.
Warm regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The hotel is nice but the service is really bad. Sometimes they are very rude. Also the food isn't great with a lot of time without any restaurant opened. All the bars close at 1:30 am so there's nothing to do after.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mariana_Arpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Mariana_Arpa,
We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló XXX for your holidays in XXX and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.
We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.
We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Allegro we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services.
Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Warm regards!
Monica P,
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.1 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
14.4 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.6 km away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,300 reviews
1.3 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,031 reviews
21.6 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $182 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing