We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,579)
Filter reviews
5,579 results
Traveller rating
1,661
1,882
1,019
576
441
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
1,882
1,019
576
441
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ultimate dive experience first club fish thatched roof dive shop kids pool the oriental restaurant great beach swim up bar kids club a la carte restaurants family resort picky eater beach volleyball other resorts towel art fire show
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 5,579 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We upgraded our hotel to this one mainly for the extra activities. Our boys loves the many pools it had. The alcohol drinks weren’t that great. The food was average and the waiters took care of all the Mexican families first or ignored us altogether until I would say something. Could clean the pool more as we kept running into long female hair. Our room and maid service was awesome. I got the impression they think Americans are dumb and don’t know anything. The restaurants desperately need AC! It was SO hot and humid we were dripping sweat into our own food!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank GlobeTrotting712066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegroczm, Gerente at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to Allegro Cozumel , our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed.
Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Rafael Peláez
Operation Manager - Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

First things first, this resort is one of the first we visited that is not gated, and what I later noticed it seemed like anyone can get in and out for all they care.
We payed for premium room, so we were sent to check in at premium lounge. There were 2 champagne glasses on
the table, and lady that worked there said “Hello, you can drink this and fill out these papers. Thank you. Which credit card would you like to use today?” There was no
how was your trip, is it your first time here, where are you coming from... Your room will be ready at 3pm. We went to have lunch, came back 3 minutes before 3pm, but you
will not get room here second before 3pm. We went to the room, and I’ll just say I can only imagine how does the regular non-premium room look like.
About the food...
Let me start of by saying I’m not a picky eater, nor do I care about food when vacationing, but this place seriously needs to work on this issue! There was always long lines to get the table at the one and only place- the buffet. It was same food over and over, everything was cold, and nothing tasted good. My boys would eat burgers every day 5 times a day if I would let them, but after they had one that was it. They barely ate anything. The place was filthy. Even the restaurants were no better.
So out of 7 nights we ended up paying about $30 to go downtown and eat like people.
Pools were nice, beach in Cozumel is obviously beautiful.
Highlight of or weeklong stay here was entertainment team! Ceasar, Victor and others worked hard all day every day to make everyone have a great time! Our boys ages 9 and 11 had so much fun thanks to them!
We visit Mexico once or twice every year, and for the first time service was not good, because there was not enough staff, I’m guessing.
My husband and I are coming from developed country as well, so we definitely understand how hard these people work, but at the end of the day we also worked hard and payed a lot of money to come here, have a memorable vacation, and be treated with dignity.
This is the place that we will never come back again.
And the place that made us want to go back to other Caribbean countries instead of Mexico.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Nigoladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegroczm, Gerente at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Nigoladj,
Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at Allegro Cozumel fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough, the team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.
We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.
Kind regards,
Rafael Peláez
Operation Manager - Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The security saw it in the camera but no one can do anything about it !! Activities was good , Beach is amazing with a lot of fishes Food not great!! Service is good !! Room need more work we had Leazeards in our rooms!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank FellowTraveler601883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegroczm, Gerente at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at Allegro Cozumel.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel on this occasion and for the courtesy of your time, even though we understand that this was not the best fit for your travel party, therefore we strongly encourage you for a future occasion to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to give you all the relevant information to make sure that you book the Allegro Cozumel hotel can make all your holiday wishes come true.
Warm regards,
Rafael Peláez
Operation Manager - Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Checking into this place was horrible. We got there a little before check in and front desk told us we had to wait until 3 to check in. So I asked if we can get something to eat but they told us we should wait in lobby because we will be getting our room in a few minutes. A few minutes turned into about an hour 30 min-2 hours. Don’t really remember. After waiting so long I thought the room would be ready. But nope I was wrong. As soon as we got into the room one part of the floor was so dirty I felt like I was stepping in dirt. Not only that but there wasn’t even any toilet paper in the bathroom. On top of all that, we had to ask the front desk another 3 4 times to get the toilet paper. So we basically waited another 5 hours after check in to get toilet paper. And the night manager made me feel like I was complaining too much or something. We didn’t have any toilet paper to use the bathroom and had to wait 5 hours to get it. Seems like the maids just do your bed and leave. They did not clean our floors before we checked into our room. The food was not that great either. The only good part was a roasted pig they had that they cut in front of you. Everything else was either mediocre or bad. We ended up eating out our last night there because we wanted good food. There’s no night life except a bar only weekends. And the pool closes at like 8 or 9. And all the clubs, shops, restaurants are about a 20-30 min cab drive away. The beach and sand was nice and the drinks were good too. And the staff were all friendly. Just the front desk was horrible; friendly but slow and don’t really help much. If you’re standing there waiting for them, even if they aren’t doing anything they make you wait to talk to them. We couldn’t get the day manger to tell him about toilet paper. I would only recommend this place to people with children if I were to recommend it to someone. Or if you’re looking for a cheap place to stay in Cozumel with a nice beach and don’t care about staying in your hotel room from 9pm til the morning. Only reason I’m giving it 2 stars is for the beach/pool, drinks and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank GrandTour725669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegroczm, Gerente at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving th respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns.
We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Allegro we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.
Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.
Warm regards,
Rafael Peláez
Operation Manager - Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Family friendly, great staff, beautiful beach and the list just goes on and on!! There was so much to do during our stay that we just cant wait to return and pickup where we left off. We love Cozumel very much and Allegro is our second home.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank JoeGuillen370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allegroczm, Guest Relations Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear JoeGullen370
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations and Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
Jorge Rueda
Guest Experience Manager
Allegro Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews